We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Very nice hotel ,perfect location and friendly staff””
Review of Hotel Cellai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cellai
Ranked #82 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
““Very nice hotel ,perfect location and friendly staff””
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed at Hotel Cellai with my girlfriend for 3 nights last February. Our room was really nice and well decorated as was the whole hotel. Only 10 minutes walk from Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi Museum. 5 minutes walk from the Duomo and only 2 minutes walk from the Central Train Station. Their impeccable staff will make your stay comfortable and special. Breakfast were delicious.
I really enjoyed our staying at Hotel Cellai and I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Florence for business or traveling as a couple.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo_R_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    252
    88
    44
    13
See reviews for
164
397
38
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This lovely old hotel is a short walk from everything. If you want a big fancy new hotel, this is not it! We had a beautiful room with a velvet sofa and chair, nice bathroom and huge closet. The breakfast is delicious with homemade cakes, croissants, etc. and they have tea available in the afternoons. There are several charming rooms on the first floor for sitting, reading or having a drink and the staff were very accomodating.You feel as if you stepped into a someone's gracious home. If you like old world charm, then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Try room 401. In Italy generally any room at the back of a hotel will be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
230 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Have just returned from a 3 day stay at this 4 star boutique hotel, now I'm not quite sure how this hotel got a 4 star rating or whether boutique means arty but below par.
There were 7 in our party and my wife and I were allocated room 129 which on 1st impression is a charming room with a 4 poster bed and a view over the main street outside. Now note I say 1st impression the room has very little storage the bed obscures the TV (although yes I did not go to Florence to watch TV) The chair in the room has a lovely boutique style chair cover which is filthy along with the boutique selection of drinks in the mini bar the one can of beer looked as if it had been pushed into a muddy bit of dirt. The bathroom is tiny and I mean tiny the shower was half the size of a small telephone booth with a shower which gently trickles the water on you in a boutique style. and keeping with that style has none of those nasty soap dishes or anywhere to store your shampoo at standing height.The room has no door spyhole and you can hear everything going on in corridor and there are no slow closers on them so the door invariably slams.
Now the honesty bar I have read how other guests find this charming and that's their opinion with which I have no quarrel. However, if you like warm beer ,warm white &, sparkling wine, soda or mixers chilled or watered down spirits then you will enjoy it (nothing refrigerated or on ice). A better way would be to have a fridge or utilise an area behind reception so you can order and room charge your drinks from there. Please not a Gin & Tonic is 12 euros and a warm beer is 4 euros.
The hotel has a charming roof terrace which on the 1st night was dark we asked the Japanese receptionist if the lights could be put on and she said she would get the porter to do it, which didn't happen, so after I had slid in the mud from the plant pots we asked on the 2nd night and again sat in darkness, albeit with lovely views. On the 3rd night we discovered the roof terrace full of other guests and it was lit, as it should be and was even better.
The breakfast bar I will leave you to form your own opinions of, the food was nice when kept stocked, and each morning you get to play bumper cars with the other guests.
The location of the Hotel Cellai is perfect there is a charming indoor market nearby 5 mins away and a tip here is don't settle on the traders on the periphery of the market as they charge more, go inside and try the other stalls who are much cheaper. The other main parts such as the Duomo and Pointe Vecchio are within an easy walk. If you want to pay 99c for your beer and soda then go right out of the hotel go 1st left and after about a 5 to 10 minute walk there is a 99c store on the right. If you go a bit further on until you get to McDonalds and the train station then you will find the City Tour open top bus tour (opposite McDonalds to the south)
The only reason this hotel has not got a worse score is because of the Scottish Lady on reception who is very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sjc462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a two day stay at this lovely hotel in the wonderfully city of Florence.
As other reviews advise this hotel is 10 minutes from everything.
The hotel is smart, clean and very politely staffed.
Breakfast was delicious too.
A great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedJez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We enjoyed our weekend stay at this Hotel. It's about a 10 minute walk from the station and then you can walk to the Duomo in about 10 minutes. We saw all of the sights of Florence on foot, as it is quite a compact city. We had a standard room on an upper floor facing the road. The double glazing meant there was no noise in the room. The bathroom was a bit small, but to be fair it does say this on the web site and it was perfectly OK. Breakfast was fine, the staff friendly. Overall good value and well located and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian-SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I've spent a couple of days in this wonderful boutique hotel. Everything was perfect. The hotel has a very cozy atmosphere and I had the feeling to be at home even though I actually wasn't... The staff was nice, polite and very helpful. The breakfast was full of mouthwatering things like cakes, croissants and so on it was really great! The bedroom was cozy, clean and like the whole hotel it was really well decorated.
Hoping to come back soon I highly recommend this hote!!!

Room Tip: Very quite, clean and well decorated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from everything, central train station, market, Duomo, etc...
The hotel itself is exactly what you would expect from a boutique hotel, cute, small and well maintained.
The rooftop patio was a bonus for us after a long day walking and biking around it was nice to relax with a cold drink and read in the quiet of Florence!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcstaticTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#94 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cellai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cellai

Property: Hotel Cellai
Address: Via Ventisette Aprile N. 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#83 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#101 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cellai 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfortable sitting room with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cellai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cellai Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing