We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay at the hotel cellai !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cellai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cellai
Ranked #81 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved our stay at the hotel cellai !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel Cellai is in great location, you can walk from the train station to the hotel. We were able to walk to museums. They are a short walk away. The rooms aren't large but are comfortable. Art is everywhere, in the hotel. The reception area was often crowded with people on group tours and the people on the desk were often flustered. We had a great experience .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5kim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    241
    83
    43
    13
See reviews for
153
382
34
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has lots of potential, but we found it extremely outdated and lack of maintenance. The rooms are small, the bathrooms uncomfortable and unattractive, and the ac doesn't work properly. It really needs a renovation.
On the positive side, they offer a pretty complete complementary breakfast, the staff is very helpful, you can find little lounges throughout the hotel with very nice books which adds character to the hotel, and it is located in a very easy to access location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Havanaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueHotel_Cellai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cellai, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Sirs,

thank you for the time you dedicated to your revue.

We are very sorry that you did not get totally in tune with the special florentine charming mood of Cellai Hotel. The furnitures you felt that should be updated are high value unique antiques and so is for the precious prints, paintings and silvers that are generousely displayed in all bedrooms and allover our House. Artworks are dated 1500,1600,1700,1800.

Contemporary art and Italian vintage design decoration are mixed with these precious traces of the past and can be purchased by hotel guests.

Thank you for apreciating our rich candlelight buffet breakfast and the kindess of all of us.

The love and the passion we put in our work is very high and your words are the best thank we could receive. I also hope you enjoyed our art library, our roof garden, and all the sitting and drawing rooms of Cellai Boutique Hotel.

We look forward seeing you at Cellai Hotel again :) !

Maria Cristina Bianchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solvang, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed three nights at Hotel Cellai. It was a lovely little boutique hotel. There were some downsides, but they weren't really that significant measured against the hotel's charm, location, quiet and FABULOUS breakfast. The room was quite small, but clean and nicely decorated in European style. We had been forewarned that beds in Italian hotels, particularly the smaller ones, are not the same as in the US. Specifically, many offer only one queen or two twins. We opted for two twins to provide each of us enough space to sleep. We were quite comfortable. Although the room overlooked the street, we did not hear a sound all night and slept well. There is only an armoire for storage of belongings, so the key is don't bring too much, or don't unpack everything. We were intrigued to find out the hotel was once a convent. There are multiple levels, little seating areas and alcoves scattered throughout, and a cozy rooftop garden patio from where one may take in the view of the Florentine skyline. The hotel decor is eclectic, but very tasteful, with touches of whimsy. Interesting art is on display, and the library is both fun and welcoming, with books, comfortable seating and an honor bar with beverages and snacks. I loved exploring the entire place. We were within walking distance to most of the sites and there are many restaurants to choose from. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. I sleep with extra pillows for my back, and my request for extra pillows was quickly accommodated. We liked this hotel very much and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Just know ahead of time the room will be small. But, this is not unusual in European hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked this hotel via a tour company and could not have been happier. Upon arriving by bus from our "home base" near Tarvarnelle in Val de Pesa, we had an easy walk to the hotel. The maps we had did not give very good walking directions but it was not a major inconvenience. First of all, this hotel is just North and a little West of "everything you want to see in Florence". Secondly, when we checked in, it was obvious this was a real "find". A true boutique hotel: small, attentive staff with some working English, well appointed and decorated, frescoes on the walls, everything we hoped to find.
The rooms were beautifully appointed but not large and the bathroom had all the amenities you need, as we would only be in the room to sleep.
Bonuses: this hotel has an "Honor Bar" set up in the late afternoon plus a Tea Service in an adjacent room. While the day we chose to take advantage of this they were running a little late, it was a pleasure to see the set up for one to enjoy.
Breakfast was absolutely awesome! A buffet format with so many choices, including some meat offerings. Though the dining area was crowded, this did not diminish the enjoyment.
One last "hurrah" for this hotel was the advice for meals. We were curious where to go to enjoy the crown jewel of Florence cuisine: Bisteca alla Fiorentina! They suggested "Caffagio" which was very close to the hotel. Upons arrival, which was right at their dinner opening time (we had trouble eating as late as the Italians do), we discovered that this was a family operation and the college age son, who waited on us, spoke very good English...score! Indeed, the 2 1/2 lb monster T-bone we had for the four of us was, perhaps, one of the best pieces of beef I have every had. This is a huge statement for someone from the Midwest USA. It was prepared medium rare and cut away from the bone so that it could be sliced to share. The Pomme Frites were done to perfection...the house wine...delicious! A fine ending to our last night in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Like other reviewers have stated, the rooms are not huge but most hotel rooms in Europe aren't. Additionally, the shower was almost too small to fit in and the bathroom and air conditioner were undersized.

On the other hand, the location is terrific and the staff was very helpful. The complimentary breakfast is very good as well. Being able to walk to all the old parts of Florence without being in the middle of the chaos is a very nice perk.

We stayed there twice over a two week period just ended. I'm not sure how the price compares to other hotels in the immediate area, but you could certainly do worse. If you are looking for a premium location along the lines of a St. Regis or Four Seasons, this is not the place. But if you want a serviceable hotel with other good things going for it, this place may be the right choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guynashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

While not overly luxurious, the Hotel Cellai is a good hotel for many reasons. Located a bit away from the touristy areas, it’s a quick walk to the major Florence sights. The rooms are well appointed, and the breakfast buffet was rather large. Rooms are quiet and comfortable.

The front desk staff was extremely helpful and offered up some great restaurant suggestions which weren’t the standard tourist trap fare. Make sure you check out the wonderful city view from the roof of the hotel.

I would stay here again and also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristiMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel was convenient to everything and lobby was pretty but the room 131 was an afterthought at the end of the hall. 4 ft wide- once you open the door there was two single beds diagonal from each other with very high dirty upholstered head/foot boards. Dark thick carpeting on the floor- not a fan of that..The bathroom was clean and the bed itself was comfortable. The daily breakfast was very good. The croissants were tasty -

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milopuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueHotel_Cellai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cellai, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

the room you booked was described to you in terms of size and layout at the moment of the reservation. We offered you 3 solutions with 3 different sizes and prices. The room you chose was the less expensive and the smallest one. We only got two rooms of this size in the entire Hotel for guests willing to enjoy the special atmosphere of our House at a low rate.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the style of our hotel, the kindness of the staff and the quality of our rich buffet breakfast.

We really hope to have you at Cellai Hotel again.

Maria Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#65 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#66 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#88 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cellai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cellai

Property: Hotel Cellai
Address: Via Ventisette Aprile N. 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Florence
#48 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#83 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#101 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cellai 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfortable sitting room with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Cellai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cellai Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing