We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Cellai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Cellai
Ranked #85 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely character hotel, ideally located within a short walking distance to all the main attractions and only 10 minutes walk to the train station. Reception staff were very welcoming and were happy to book restaurants and sight seeing trips for us. Nice hotel gift bottle of bubbly on arrival to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.

Room was very nice although we did have a problem with the air conditioning whilst there which didn't help us to sleep. As a result,the hotel have refunded us one nights stay without us prompting.

Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    256
    90
    46
    14
See reviews for
168
402
40
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We enjoyed this nice place full of character and we were enchanted by its special decoration and its cozy style. Very well located in the heart of the city. Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are newly restyled with a nice mix of heritage and contemporary taste. We fell in love for the flowered roof patio with classic music. Excellent breakfast with nice service and great cappuccino. We enjoyed our stay very much !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Cellai is truely something special - especially because of the excellent staff (not everyone speaks fluently english though). Although everybody has been very amicable, we have to stress the service of Shona, who has made our stay an unforgettable experience in Florence. Shona, thank you again for your help and support!
We got an free upgrade which was very helpful because the bathrooms in the standard rooms are VERY tiny.
The hotel's decoration is an experience of itself. Decorated with love for details and delicious taste, every guest feels like traveling in the past without missing the comfort of today.
Last but not least, the location is brilliant to get along in the city.
We will most certainly come back if we visit Florence again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schiffahrtskapitaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is my 4th trip to Florence in the past 6 months and I finally decided to spend a few minutes to deservedly tribute Hotel Cellai which has hosted me so amiably all along.

The hotel is a little jewel right in the heart of the city, a few hundreds yard from the Duomo and right around the corner from some very Florentine roads and alleys.

The rooms (I tried 4 so far) are clean, warm and welcoming with a touch of distinctiveness that makes each one of them unique and special.

Breakfast is outstanding and very rich with an amazing range of choices to satisfy any appetite and taste.

The service is impeccable and every single person in the staff is as friendly and as helpful as you can get.

Although I travel to Florence for work and stay at Hotel Cellai within a professional mindset, this place has a homey feeling to it that I have hardly experienced anywhere else.

Thank you for your fantastic hospitality and hope to be there again soon in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csassetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

this is what you call a great hotel in Florence!
Went there with my teen cousins and everyone loved it, especially the breakfast and staff!!
The air conditioning was broken when we were there but the staff was so accomodating that offered us to swap to an upgrade suite with working air conditioning but they had it fixed soon anyways!
Location is ok too, perfect for both relax and shopping!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akirarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Good location, elegant decoration. We felt like being in our Florentine home.

Shona at the front desk was very helpful with information, museums and restaurants reservations. Good breakfast is served in an elegant verandah.

We loved this place so much for his decoration and for the many details that made our stay in Florence very special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Earlier this year we made another visit to Italy and one of our stops was Florence. We had stayed at the Cellai a few years ago and again chose it as our hotel. The Cellai is a quaint boutique hotel. The historic building and architecture is typical of this Renaissance city. The staff was just as welcoming as before and always ready with new suggestions. The location is amazing as we were able to walk to and from every corner of the city. The amenities may not be the same as those one finds in chain hotels, but if you are looking for location, charm and staff who greet you by name, the Cellai is my recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_BossArlingtonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#47 of 422 in Florence
1,118 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#56 of 422 in Florence
2,100 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 422 in Florence
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#65 of 422 in Florence
1,601 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#81 of 422 in Florence
823 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#94 of 422 in Florence
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cellai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cellai

Property: Hotel Cellai
Address: Via Ventisette Aprile N. 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Florence
#51 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#83 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#101 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cellai 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfortable sitting room with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cellai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cellai Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing