We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cellai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cellai
Ranked #82 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Lovely boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is lovely and the staff were very helpful. The rooms are small but clean and accommodating. Parking was easy and efficient. We especially enjoyed the various sitting rooms throughout the hotel and the seating on the roof. There was, unfortunately, a strange odor on the 4th floor during our stay which is the only reason I did not give a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank picus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    241
    83
    43
    13
See reviews for
153
382
34
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

A really charming Florentine hotel with lots of character! My husband and I stayed here for 3 very enjoyable nights and were completely enamoured with the beauty of Florence. The Cellai is a little walk up the Via Nationale from the main attractions ,but after you get your bearings its very manageable, and you pass the amazing market in route! The decor everywhere in the Cellai is so well preserved, our room was so pretty with all its Tuscan antiques, you entered into a sitting room with a sofa, writing desk and book case, off this was the bathroom with its many,many mirrors!! The bed was very comfortable and fitted with lovely fresh linen! We enjoyed a buffet breakfast each morning, which was quite a feast, in the really quirky breakfast room where we were met by some most helpful staff members willing to help with any request or make you a cappuchino!!! Would recommended Hotel Cellai!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodnwine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This character hotel stays true to its heritage in its decor. The layout can be a bit confusing to begin with but once you find your room, it's fine. We were lucky enough to have a large room. They offer their guests complimentary afternoon tea and coffee with servings of panatone. There are plenty of quiet places to sit within the lobby area to enjoy afternoon tea and the wifi. Wifi is hotel wide although we were unable to get it in our room. The beds were very comfortable. We had a problem with our hot water but they were quick to fix it. Breakfast was decent - scrambled eggs, fruits, toast, bacon, yoghurt. Short walk of about 10-15 mins into town.
The 2 negatives that I am going to note is that I found the reception staff to be too serious and not welcoming. They never seemed to smile or greet you as you came through the front entrance. It really does make a difference having welcoming staff that greet you and genuinely care for the guest. The second was the noise coming from the street. Our room faced the street and we could hear every person, bus, truck, car, motorbike and scooter that went past. It is a busy street and being a light sleeper, I found it annoying being woken up very early by the constant traffic.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie_Ashlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very clean and charming boutique hotel , friendly staff in a great central location and very well maintained. We never took taxi or buses. Only 5 min walk from central train station. Nice breakfast with great coffee and cappuccino. Our room was very nice, clean and with very good air conditioning. Florence was quite hot but we felt very comfortable in our room. People are very nice and helped us planning our visits.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafał M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

As part of a tour group we spent two nights at this wonderfully preserved building. The hotel is well location with a short walk most of the major sites of Florence and many great restaurants.
Its Florentine heritage is proudly displayed though out the building and the welcome attitude of staff and management made our stay just that much better. Each day is started with a breakfast with enough choices to satisfy the fussiest eater.
We would have loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel had wonderful details from the well appointed room, to the roof top garden with daybeds and pergola. Beautiful view of the Florence skyline, and the Duomo. Sunday brunch, included with the room was very good. The location of the hotel was a perfect walk to all the major sites. Also great restaurants are close by.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This year was our 3rd return to the Cellai. It is beginning to seem like our home in Florence. Each year we see improvements, but what remains consistent is the outstanding service. I choose this hotel because it is in walking distance to all the important monuments of Florence, but far enough away from the crunch of the crowds in the central part of the city. Be sure to take time to relax on the roof garden; these gardens offer a tranquil retreat to read or just nap as you recover from sightseeing. The hotel is spotless and maintained that way by an efficient staff. This hotel is a sure thing and the posted photos are accurate representations of the property

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Italophile173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#67 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Albani Firenze
Hotel Albani Firenze
#90 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cellai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cellai

Property: Hotel Cellai
Address: Via Ventisette Aprile N. 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#83 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#101 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cellai 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfortable sitting room with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cellai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cellai Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing