We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bare Bones Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Hotel Firenze City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Hotel Firenze City Center
Ranked #279 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bare Bones Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was the second stay on our honeymoon.
This place is literally barebones.

We booked this place strictly to save funds, as we were only here one night.

The hotel was clean, but that (and the price) was the only plus.
The walls were VERY thin.
We could hear entire conversations happening in the rooms around us.
My husband and I were talking a bit later into the evening (around 11pm), and another guest came to our room and asked us to stop because they could hear us.
We were not being loud, just talking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrenzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    243
    190
    80
    54
See reviews for
88
267
26
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My daughter and i stayed one night in a twin room. Our room had one double and one single. The double bed was huge and very comfortable..(very firm mattress) depends on your preference of course. It was clean with minimal ammenities (ie: no towel racks in bathroom) but functional! And the hairdryer is an REAL hairdryer not one of those toy looking ones you may find in other places! :)
We were in room 313 which overlooked the street...and in the distance a lovely view of the Duomo!
My daughter and i arrived very early so the young lady at reception confirmed our details, then kindly offered to leave our lugguage in storage and return to process our check in at 2.00.
We had no issues in checking in, though this younger staff member was not as welcoming!
The Hotel itself is located on a main road with not much around it. Although it is within walking distance to Piazza Beccaria and Via Gioberti which is lined with Cafes, La Coop supermarket, Restaurants, Fashion stores etc. A lovely, chic area to explore. Crossing over the opposite side of P.zza Beccaria, heading all the way down Borgo la Croce you reach Piazza Duomo (within 15/20mins). But be aware in Italy there is 'City Tax' fee. We paid 6 euro for the both of us, but may differ depending on where you stay. Also Breakfast is an extra cost of 6 euro, but we opted to go try out the local cafes' instead! ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

One night in this place and that was enough!! 20 min wait just to check in, they require pre payment so you can't see the room in advance. Once I got into the room I was in a spoil room with just one bed in the middle and a small table, not even a drawer. Cleaning was not the best, there was just one big towel and another small one with few stains.... I was supposed to sleep in a double single use but after a while I discovered I had a guest...a lizard !!!!that probably got in from the open window.
I tried to call the reception but phone wasn't working, so I went downstairs to talk with the staff. At the counter there was just one woman, the other guy had left, I had to wait another 10 minutes before having the chance to speak with her... And when I finally had the chance to speak I was told by this mean and clearly annoyed woman that there was nobody (NO BO DY Just one person in the whole building!!) in the hotel that could bring new towels nor getting the lizard out of my room... The only offer was, if you want pack your belongings and change the room.. To get what??? Another dirty room ??

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeinre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Basic service in a decent location but nothing fancy. The room is big but lacks ammenities, only one plug for the whole room!!! There were mosquitoes smashed into the wall so you know the cleaning is also basic. And we found a 2 year old Academia ticket ... The bathroom wasn't so clean either, if you check the ventilation system you will panic, health hazard for sure. The staff was a bit rude during the night shift and saturated, long lines in the reception are never a good sign.
In the coffee area (a self coffee machine) they have a microwave oven that after we used got disconnected...
For what they offer they charge too much. Parking is in a private parking and you get a discount but you won't be able to use the discount more than once so they expect you to park and not drive while you stay in Firenze.

Room Tip: If you are coming by train take the 14 next to the station,when you get out from the main door and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noimporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel is a typical nice and clean Low Budget hotel, the location is good, parking is available, the rooms are quite and ok, clean and functional, the staff is helpful, is good for even a longer stay

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

A very budget friendly basic hotel. The room was nothing special and the beds were tiny, there was also one plug and no bedside light. The bathroom was ok. They try to make an attempt at a modern take on decorating but it's very basic. Reasonable walking distance to the city centre but not close. The wifi was very temperamental too and the breakfast was very basic

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helenoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The hotel's location is okay, you can walk to the center of Florence easily.
It is a good hotel if you expect a basic service. They would change our towels every day, but would leave them on the bed instead of putting them in the bathroom.
One day, we finished the toilet paper and they never put the new one on the roll.

The neighborhood was safe. One tip: don't pay extra for the breakfast, it is not worth the money. There is a nice pastry shop next door that is very good. We wished we had not taken the breakfast and eaten there more often.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#200 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Hotel Jane
#194 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#137 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#264 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Firenze City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Firenze City Center

Property: B&B Hotel Firenze City Center
Address: Viale Giovanni Amendola 34, 50127, Florence, Italy (Formerly Viva Hotel Capitol Santa Croce)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hotel Firenze City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your B&B Hotel Firenze City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Hotel Firenze Centro
Best Western Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing