We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JOHN04LEEDS
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom

great location - excellent restaurant !

Review of Hotel Arizona
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jul 2017
great central location - once you can find it - large clean bedroom with fresco on the ceiling - although the bathroom was a little on the small side but clean and adequate. Some lovely public rooms. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. But the main attraction is the restaurant opposite - owned by the owners of this hotel and if you are staying at The Arizona they allow 10 per cent discount on meals at the restaurant. Parking is either outside the hotel or in a small garage just close by.
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £157
  • Hotels.com
    £158
  • Priceline
    £158
0.8 miles from Hotel Arizona
Free Wifi
Free parking
Panoramic Terrace
£105
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £96
  • Vio.com
    £71
  • Expedia.com
    £97
0.8 miles from Hotel Arizona
Pool
Restaurant
£171
  • Expedia.com
    £168
  • Skyscanner.com
    £152
  • Hotels.com
    £171
1.0 miles from Hotel Arizona
Free Wifi
Room service
£103
  • Expedia.com
    £102
  • Skyscanner.com
    £100
  • Hotels.com
    £104
0.7 miles from Hotel Arizona
Free Wifi
Hall
£80
  • Priceline
    £66
  • StayForLong
    £65
  • Expedia.com
    £80
3.0 miles from Hotel Arizona
Free Wifi
£101
  • Expedia.com
    £110
  • Lol.travel
    £90
  • Hotels.com
    £110
3.2 miles from Hotel Arizona
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£85
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £108
  • Priceline
    £85
  • Hotels.com
    £95
3.4 miles from Hotel Arizona
Free Wifi
Free parking
£300
  • Expedia.com
    £326
  • Skyscanner.com
    £291
  • Priceline
    £325
0.6 miles from Hotel Arizona
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£297
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £299
  • Expedia.com
    £294
  • Vio.com
    £297
0.5 miles from Hotel Arizona
Free Wifi
Room service
£726
  • Priceline
    £767
  • Skyscanner.com
    £655
  • Expedia.com
    £728
0.8 miles from Hotel Arizona
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Florence
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
251
204
75
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
251
204
75
28
21
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017

The good:
The hotel is in a reasonably good location, ten minutes from the station and all the old centre. It's a quiet neighbourhood until the authorities start power-washing the streets at 6.00am every day. I cannot fault the staff, the help I got was second to none when checking in. A map was provided with the best routes to all the main sights, and every time I returned after a long day walking I was made to feel welcome. Breakfast is your usual continental selection. A tip; avoid the filter coffee as it's like dishwater, order fresh instead.

The bad:
The carpets on the stairs and landings are dirty.
The room, I was in a small single, which was ok except the bathroom was small. I barely had room to turn in the shower, and the tiny sink held a cup full of water. Water pressure was almost non-existent, as was hot water. It rarely got above warm. Worst of all was the carpet in the room, which was filthy. A yellow carpet that could barely be seen for dirty stains. The wallpaper was scuffed and ripped too. Air conditioning is controlled by reception, so I was woken a couple of times as it kicked in, which I wasn't happy about.Others reviews have mentioned the cleanliness in the hotel, so maybe I was unlucky in getting a room that hadn't yet been refurbished.

As the title of the review says, the good (excellent friendly staff, decent breakfast and good location) outweighed the bad (the tiny bathroom and filthy carpet), but I'd think twice about staying here again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelmart54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for a week in occasion of my birthday. Very nice and clean room a bit small but really nice florentine deco.Breakfast every morning is served with alot of variety of food , the staff is fantastic alot of advices for restaurant ,tourist information and museum reservation. Next trip to Florence i will definately go back to arizona.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We stayed at the Hotel Arizona in early July. We absolutely loved the location- about a five minute walk to the center of town! The hotel staff were super friendly and helpful. Our room was small, but very clean and had everything we needed. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the bathroom. It was extremely small- especially the shower. It was hard to get in and out of. If you're even remotely tall, you'll have a hard time fitting in this shower. Everything else was fantastic!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Worst hotel experience ever. We chose this hotel based on its relatively central location and based on the trip advisor ratings of 4/5. This hotel lacks cleanliness and has an infestation of fruit flies in the breakfast area. Rooms smell of mould and the air conditioning unit can only be controlled by the front desk. The straw that broke the camels back for us was when we returned to our room our door was left open by the cleaning staff leaving us vulnerable to theft. Security is obviously not a concern for the hotel. We chose to move to a different hotel for the remainder of our trip to Florence. The front desk was apologetic and offered to credit us the cost of one nights stay but we have yet to see the credit come through. Best to chose another hotel for your stay when visiting Florence.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Comfortsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Coming from Dubai, I have incredibly high standards, and this surpassed each one! Fantastic, personalized, and accommodating service, with such a homey feel and vibe to the hotel. Every morning we were greeted with smiles by Hermal and Elton both, as well as Rafaello and two lovely ladies I'm sorry I didn't catch the name of. They were extremely helpful, kind, and accommodating. Such a wonderful place to stay!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ayesha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews