We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Journey to Florence”
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
Ranked #81 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The Room was very nice and comfortable. The washroom was cleaned very well every day and generally was without fault. The Hotel is very centrally located near (luggage dragging distance) the tarin station and easy walikng distance to all important museums,churches and shopping. The locale is very quiet and peaceful during the day and night.
Staff was very helpful and polite. The breakfast staff even indulged our late arrival for breakfast which was very kind.
All in all we would recommend this Hotel to anyone, as we enjoyed our stay on our 25th wedding celebration.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are just fine as far as we could tell. We didn't sleep elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you! We look forward to welcome you once again to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Alba Palace in early September 2011, and had a most enjoyable stay. We wanted a hotel close to the station and picked this hotel on the strength of TA reviews and availability. It is certainly an easy walk to SMN station, but the key attraction is the wonderful sense of quiet and space, and the ambience created from the conversion of three or so adjacent buildings into a modern and well-equipped hotel. Staff were universally helpful, and offered excellent restaurant recommendations.The room, although not large, was modern, spotless, air conditioned and well equipped. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Madmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you and ..... hopefully .. see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The room was very nice and comfortable, and was cleaned thoroughly every day. The breakfast was good but could have used some more fruit. The staff were indifferent, except for the man in the evenings who was lovely. Hotel very close to the train station, which was convenient, and within walking distance to everything. Would consider a different hotel next time as we didn't feel very safe walking in this area at night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank australia2italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank You! We hope to have you back as our welcome guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at Hotel Alba Palace. We caught a taxi from the train station but its actually no more than 5 mins walk to the hotel. I had mentioned we were on a trip for my daughters 18th and they had a bottle of wine on ice and chocolates waiting for us in the room which was very thoughtful. We booked the accommodation through booking.com and it was lovely that the hotel actually sent me a personal email when we made this booking to say they were looking forward to our stay. We had a room with a queen bed and a single bed. Room was clean and brightly decorated and bathroom was clean and adequate. There was a wardrobe and a safety deposit box. The location of the hotel is great - easy walk to everywhere. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good - mainly a choice of cereals and breaks and cold meat and cheese. We were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabbo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you a lot of comment.! We expect you back at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The people at the front desk were first rate; the breakfast is excellent (try the yogurt) and the location is ideal for anyone using a train or bus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gil014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank You!! We always try to make your stay as pleasant as possible for our customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We spent 5 nights in the Alba Palace. The room was very clean, although a little crowded. It had a great location - only about 2 blocks from the train station and within walking distance of most of the major sites. The hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful. The free breakfast was standard fare for a European hotel that caters to Americans. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhxteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you! We look forward to welcome you once again to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This hotel is a 5 minute walk from the train station and right in the heart of Florence.We had a room on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel and had no problem with noise. The room was spotless and cleaned thoroughly daily. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, cereals, fruit, bread and rolls, cold meats, cheeses, and best of all, pastries! The waitress running the dining room had to work hard clearing tables as well as topping up the food plates. She did this with a smile on her face and nothing was too much trouble for her. We arrived late in the evening but the receptionist was waiting for us and we were checked in very quickly and in no time walking down the road looking for our evening meal! There is a good pizza restaurant 100 metres along the road. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlesue23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your contribution! Thanks for your appreciative words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#60 of 410 in Florence
506 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#71 of 410 in Florence
1,040 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#84 of 410 in Florence
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#73 of 410 in Florence
1,653 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#94 of 410 in Florence
863 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#61 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Address: Via della Scala 22/38r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
#71 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £72 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing