We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
Ranked #71 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2008

We found this hotel online and it looked ok and seemed quite central. When we got there it surpassed our expectations. The hotel is really central near the main train station and is within easy walking distance of all the attractions in the centre of Florence. Our room was quiet with a view over the central courtyard. The breakfast provided was good and all the staff we very friendly and really helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back myself.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ianjm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2008

The location of this hotel was perfect. Very close to everything you would want to see. You can walk everywhere.
We had the family (quad) room that sleeps 4 people. It was awesome! The bathroom was huge, it was 2 stories with a double on the bottom and two twins on the loft.
It had a lovely balcony facing the courtyard with the breakfast room down below.
The breakfast was good.
The only problem we had was navagating the one way streets to get there and we asked the staff for ice to chill our wine and they did not want to give us much at all. We felt weird having to keep asking for more and the man at the desk told us no. But we asked the maid and she gladly gave it to us.
Overall a really good deal for what you pay for. I would definitely go again.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank adamsfam18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

The Hotel Alba is a fantastic hotel that exceeded our expectations! Very close to the train station and within walking distance of all major sights, the hotel was a great find. We were most impressed with our large room that included an upstairs loft and outside patio. The spa bathroom was extremely well-appointed with features that offered a nice respite after a long day of sightseeing. The free internet access and the hardy breakfast were an added bonus to our already enjoyable stay. Additionally, the staff were so courteous and accommodating, even assisting with museum reservations prior to our arrival. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend the Hotel Alba to my friends.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank sadie226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

i came to alba hotel epecting it to be a queit and clean place but my apartment was a tip so I asked to be changed to anoither apartment but it was a tip too so i had no other choice but to stay there, I really do not no how they got 3 stars, I didnt get a good sleep for the whole weeki was staying. every night was the same loud music and people shouting untill 1 in the morning. And to top things off on my third night at the apartment i came in and there was about a 1000 ants on the floor and the hotel staff just told me to deal with it myself. I would never recomend this hotel to anyone unless i hated them

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank johnnyy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

The Hotel Alba is small, but charming in a convenience part of town. The rooms were clean, but sparse and the breakfast was certainly passable. What made this hotel special was the service. The front desk staff recommended the best restaurants, the set us up on a great Tuscany day trip that was much more unique and affordable than the usual tourist trips and most impressively they even found me a dentist. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone visiting Florence, especially for the first time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank juliep999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

2 couples sharing great rooms bath room with large spa.close to everything dont judge a book by its cover great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sjw225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

The hotel has a great location near the railway station. There are also quite a few places to eat nearby and everywhere is within easy walking distance. It is full of character and beautifully and tastefully decorated. The breakfast room atrium and the glass lift add style and it was pleasant to sit in the open parts of the corridors listening to the swifts. The room, although overlooking the street, was not at all noisy. The bathroom, though small, was spotless (as was everywhere else) and the towels were to die for - so thick and luxurious. The buffet breakfast was substantial and good - although I did not like the coffee much. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. All in all, we were very glad that we chose the Alba.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,286 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#72 of 411 in Florence
1,699 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#60 of 411 in Florence
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 411 in Florence
1,070 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#117 of 411 in Florence
1,626 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#64 of 411 in Florence
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Address: Via della Scala 22/38r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £64 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing