We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little treasure..”
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
Ranked #76 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little treasure..”
Reviewed 1 January 2009

What a wonderful hotel ! So nice and clean. Nothing from the outside but everything inside !
Room are big enough and breakfast was delightful !
Définitively recommanded that hotel !
Close to the train station (one block away) and 5 minutes by feet from all the mains attractions in Firenze. Market, church, palce de la République, Ponte Vecchio..etc.
Worth the price !

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    636
    100
    19
    6
See reviews for
375
595
104
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2008

Fantastic Hotel - Tuscany style motifs with great staff, comfortable rooms, free wireless and a sumptuous breakfast at prices that are hard to beat (around $90 a night for a King non-smoking) - We landed at the hotel quite early in the day on a cold December morning with a baby in tow and stayed 4 nights - the staff welcomed us with a smile and checked us in.. the rooms are spacious, well-lit and very clean; Over our stay, we had to bug the front desk staff a few times daily for hot water (to prepare baby food) which they ALWAYS provided us with a smile! Oddone and Verena @ the front desk are true stars - Oddone in particular is extremely helpful with great recommendations for places to eat and things to see. Breakfast is a nice spread and Guisi (breakfast wait staff) works hard to please...Two things that can improve - the shower stalls within the bathrooms are a tad cramped and wireless is a little slow.

  • Liked — Hotel staff, comfortable rooms, great location, breakfast
  • Disliked — speed of wireless access
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Globecommuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2008

Just checked out of it yesterday. The triple room was as fresh as just refurbished and spotless. Lovely comfortable beds, nice TV set, clean and shiny bathroom. Good continental breakfast with no queues at the breakfast room, free wi fi, smiling receptionist - that was all we needed, so no complaints at all for £78 per night for a triple room with breakfast. Very decent location, in the old town and close to the Santa Maria Novella station. Absolutely recommended by my family.

  • Liked — the room itself
  • Disliked — pretty much nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MandarineBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2008

Booked this hotel after reading other reviews, Cannot fault the hotel at all, good location, nice room, lovely bathroom all very clean and tidy and the breakfast was more than adequate. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Advice to anyone travellling to florence by train you must get you train ticket validated at the yellow ticket machines before getting on the train. Luckily we had read this on the internet but other people even though they had train tickets were fined 20euro each which we thought was terrible and very unfair on tourists who do not know the system

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sparkle67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
487 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2008

This hotel is on a street that is a short walk from the train station. The street is full of cheap looking hotels but, while the Alba doesn't look like much from outside, once you step in, you see that it is very modern and stylish. It is very clean and our room was decent sized. The only potential problem I could see was that the shower stall was on the small side and, although it was not a problem for my wife or myself, I could see a seriously overweight person having difficulty maneuvering inside. My wife and I loved the place and it is a great value. I doubt you can find a nicer hotel in Florence for the price they charge

  • Liked — Location near the train station where there are buses to the airport
  • Disliked — Shower stall size
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

I thought the pictures of Alba looked great, but didn't believe it would be as nice.

We arrived. It was 5 minutes from the station, just like they said. Easy enough to find (across from the Best Western Rivoli). We got buzzed in and shown to our room (#001). My jaw dropped. I couldn't believe it.

Beautiful exposed brick, flat screen TV, big clean bathroom. We walked to the bed and turned around. WHOA. An iron railing led up to the loft of the room. Two extra beds, more exposed brick, another flat screen TV, and high vaulted ceilings. It was beautiful. We wondered what was behind the door there. Of course it was a large, private, open-air terrace. Perfect for star gazing or relaxing with a cigarette.

This hotel was so nice for the price, and with only 3*, we wondered why it was so much nicer than the other 4* hotels on our trip! The rooms were bigger and nicer, it was cleaner, the breakfast was better, than all the other hotels we stayed in in Italy.

I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE. For a romantic trip or just a cheap stay near the train station. You can't beat this value. And people scarcely believe my description until I show them the photos. Truly amazing.

  • Liked — It was more beautiful than any other hotel on the trip, and much cheaper than all of them.
  • Disliked — The hotellier (who welcomed us at night) only spoke Italian and couldn't recommend a nice walk for us because of the language barrier. All daytime staff were fluent in English.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PickySeeksNotPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We stayed here for a night and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a reasonably priced hotel in a good location.

Since we were staying only a night , and travelling by train, we wanted a good basic hotel within easy walking distance of both the station and the "sights" of Florence . The Alba is only 5-10 minutes walk from the railway station, and about the same distance from all the main places we wanted to see on our whistle-stop visit to Florence, so was perfect for us.

When we made the booking (direct through the hotel website) it seemed amazingly cheap (115 euros for 2 of us) given the photos on its site, so we were prepared to find that the reality did not match the photos and descriptions! But no ... it really was as good as the site suggested !

The hotel looks as if it has been recently decorated. Our room was lovely - quite large and with a very good bathroom. The breakfast is in a light -filled, covered central courtyard and was probably the most extensive breakfast of anywhere we stayed.

The front desk staff were extremely helpful and were happy for us to leave our bags before our room was ready on the day we arrived and until we left mid afternoon the next day. The only slightly disconcerting thing was that the place bags are left is in an alcove off the foyer open to anyone - but they were quite safe.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#80 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#77 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#81 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Property: Hotel Alba Palace
Address: Via della Scala 22/38r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
#71 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing