We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Ranked #232 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Nice hotel across the river, it's close to the Boboli park - a nice to walk and relax far away from the tourist part of the Florence city.

This is a 4 star hotel so you need to be aware that here the tourist tax you pay is higher than other places (4 euros per person per day). This was a surprise for me since I stayed in another hotel previously and payed half of that. The breakfast is fancy but the food is terrible, worst juice I've ever tried in my life. Rooms are ok and the bathroom is really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,
The city tax is not different from any other 4 star hotel in Florence.
1 Star -1 Euro
2 Star- 2 Euro
3 Star- 3 Euro
4 Star - 4 Euro
5 Star- 5 Euro
The price is per person per night.
it's a tax that's not depends from us.
I'm Sorry that with this miss understanding you gave us a not very good rate.

About the orange juice , is really the first time we hear this thing; we have the San Pellegrino's Juices, the Best Italian Quality for juice, i'm really sorry you don't like it.

Best Regards
Antonio Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    224
    104
    44
    17
See reviews for
87
337
19
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Davids, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Hotel Carlotta was set in a lovely, leafy neighbourhood in a quiet part of Florence; an easy walk in to Ponte Vecchio and the city. Service and breakfast was good; we did not have the opportunity to eat dinner there. Our room and bathroom was very generously sized and beautifully clean, with a view of the garden and trees. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Oerall this is a great property conveniently located 10-12 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio. Whcile most of the rooms a of standard measurements, there is a room on the first floor whose bathroom is so small hat you can touch all 4 walls just by stretching your arms out. This bathroom is soo poorly designed that you cannot sit properly in the toilet as it is only a few centimeters away from the wall. Aside from he size of the bathroom, the rest of the property is normal in appearance and size. The continental Breakfast has plenty of selections that will ft most travelers' needs. The staff is attentive and will go out of their way to make sure your expectations are met.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessitori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay if it was not quite far from the mean touristic areas.. Situated in a nice residential area, it is quiet but above ask very different from the hotels system.
Or room was big enough to enjoy every inch in it (king size bed, big cupboards, nice bathroom daily cleaned, with a nice view (trees everywhere) and neighbours far enough not to disturb, restaurant inside and in the garden area, people in the reception are very nice and helpful (which seems to be the owners).. Only one incident that i cant neglect, the AC was out of service which is "awful" in summer in Florence (they said they week fix it the day after. a nice Tunisian guy ( seems to be polyvalent there) was nice and could manage a fan but that wad not enough to cool down the room and nothing was done later despite our insistence.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArrowsODYSSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We love to receve reviews for the chance to improve the quality of your stay.
About the air condition, the point is that in thoose days , also if we are in June, the temperate in Florence is very Low and strange for the season: 16°C during the day and 9°C by night and is raining a lot. That's why we didn't turned on the air condition.

Best Regards
Antonio Ventuirini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed for two nights and loved it! The location was perfect, because it's not in the city center, but close enough to walk to it. It's located at a very residencial and fancy neighborhood. The breakfast was great along with the service. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexserrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is a lovely old villa about twenty minutes from Ponte Vecchio near the Boboli Gardens. It is set in a leafy residential part of Florence. The rooms were large enough but there was the continuing smell of sewerage that turned us off. It is a Florence thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bravco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,
we are sorry about the inconenience during your stay, If we knew it we were able to change you the room if case of availabiity; When we realize the problem we solved it the day after.
We hope you will give us the possibility to forgive this very very rare inconvenience during a next stay.
Best Regards

Antonio Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford,Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel is 'nice'.. Nothing horrible but nothing spectacular. I feel quite middle of the road about this hotel. It was functional although a little out of the centre of the main area of Florence city, this may be a bonus as it was very quiet and peaceful at night. Apparently the main area can be very noisy at night. Breakfast was substantial with the usual continental style choice. Service was good with a smile & a bonjourno greeting. Reception was friendly & helpful. Did not try the restaurant but it did not seem to be used by anyone whilst we stayed here. The room was clean & functional. Bathroom was good, Shower brilliant. (room 115) Although the door needs fixing on the bathroom, the wardrobe and the main door into the room. The hotel had a little bit of a tired feeling about it and seemed to need a little bit of sprucing up, especially outside in the garden area and the canopy outside gave the hotel a look of shabbiness. This hotel, in my opinion is not a 4star hotel. It was not an awful place to stay at all,It was OK..I would not discourage anyone to stay here but at the same time i would not recommend, but I would not particularly choose to return. Saying all that, we had a lovely break in Florence. A beautiful city surrounded by beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Customer,
we are sorry you not enjoyed staying at Villa Carlotta, but we are happy you tell us that you appreciated the cleanliness, the friendliness of staff, the room and bathroom.
The hotel is just outside the old town and you can reach it walking through the Boboli Gardens in 15 Minutes.
The terrace is used lot in the evening from our customers for a drink or just for relaxing, but the bad weather of recent weeks (unfortunately has always rained) certainly did not invite to be outdoors, to inform you however, in November we will made works on the terrace of to build a beautiful outdoor pool with many whirlpools to enjoy the sunny days.

Maybe you felt bad because you expected a modern style in the Hotel, We are very appreciated for the quiet of the surrounding area, for free parking, for the cleaning and the service, but mostly because so many people love to stay in a not Standard Hotel.
We hope to have you again as our most welcome guest
Best Regards
Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#192 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Classic Hotel
#226 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#204 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Palace Hotel
#157 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Hotel Della Robbia
#203 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#253 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Property: Villa Carlotta Hotel
Address: Via Michele di Lando 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing