We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Italian Villa, great value and friendly & informative staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Ranked #235 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classic Italian Villa, great value and friendly & informative staff”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A classic Italian villa hotel about a 20 minute walk from the centre in a very attractive leafy suburb, adjacent to the Pitti Palace gardens, which are well worth a visit for the views over Florence. Very good breakfast, excellent service from all the staff, including a very informative overview of the local sites and attractions when we first arrived (from Antonia in reception). The hotel also has bikes which are free to hire (great for getting into the centre and around the sites), free car park and free Wi-Fi with no password required. The hotel is also easy to get to from Pisa as it's on the right side of the city.

We hired 3 rooms for 3 nights until 13/08/13, all rooms were fine and we recommend this hotel.

Tip: If you want some really good Italian ice cream, avoid the city centre and go to the ice cream/cake shop on the round-about just down from the hotel (on the walk into Florence centre) - the ice cream is better and about a 1/3 of the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 861cliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    228
    113
    45
    18
See reviews for
92
344
20
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is actually good. Great value, free parking, free internet, free decent breakfast. It is 20 mins walk to pontevecchio. The AC works so so, and internet connection is fine.
ok hotel for easy going people not too picky.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chry11_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The staff were very helpful in every way. We didn't spend too much time there as we wanted to spent all our time in the city! It is a good 15 min walk to the sights of the city but an enjoyable one. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiterock british columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at Villa Carlotta for several days in April. Agree with the comments that the villa is a bit tired; however, the staff were amazing. Antonio at the front desk worked tirelessly to retrieve our luggage that Lufthansa had lost. He was a real gem and, as well, suggested several excellent restaurants. Not certain why the complaints about the breakfast by some reviewers. It was more than adequate.
All in all, a great setting and a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main villa. Didn't visit the Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fastasflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

4*? Really?
We feel like we were sold up the river by last minute.com who we booked this through so will be complaining to them.
Negatives:-
- breakfast very basic (I joked to my girlfriend each morning as we arrived for breakfast by saying 'oh what meats have they got on today? Oh it's ham again. It's always ham at this place. You are also given such a small plate for breakfast that eating is very messy with no where to put rubbish etc. that accumulates as you eat things (egg shells, yogurt cup, wrappers). If you drink the orange juice make sure you stir the jug well first.
- Air-con in room doesn't work at all effectively (the communal corridors are much cooler than the rooms!)
- Room smelt of drains when we entered it, but it did clear.
- room very basic with old decor/furniture
- was going to have a beer at the hotel on one evening (about 8.30pm), but after sitting around for 10 mins no staff were around to serve so just gave up and went back to our room.
- some bugs in our room and my girlfriend was bitten so badly during the night even though the windows were all shut and air con on.
- large dead fly on ceiling that looked happier than us throughout our stay.
- there were no do not disturb signs or similar that you usually find in hotels and as a consequence the room staff walked in to our room while we were in bed without knocking with my girlfriend laying naked on the bed (it was so hot due to air-con not working).
- the safe in the wardrobe is small and you have to get the key from reception to use it. A thief could quite literally pick the safe up and walk out with it so not very reassuring to leave your important travel documents etc. in it.
- no iron or ironing board in room.
- the hotel inside and outside just looks so tired and the place is clearly being run on a shoe string budget.

Positives:-
- a large comfortable bed
- the location is nice and quiet

We can see from previous below average reviews on here that the hotel manager seems to give a standard response to poor reviews by saying 'you should have told us and we would have upgraded your room'. We agree with a previous reviewer that you don't want to spend your time raising a list of complaints. There are clearly many aspects to this hotel that require attention and we strongly believe that the hotel management are already aware of the problems and if they are not then they ought to be. They should try staying in the hotel themselves and living a day or a few days as a guest!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Father_Ted1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at Villa Carlotta for two nights for our first visit to Florence. The hotel is situated in a leafy suburb within a healthy walking distance to central Florence or 12euro by taxi to the Duomo square. The building is a classic Italian villa which could be very grand and luxurious, however sadly it is exhausted and uncared for, clearly just cash flow for the owners - so very very sad. We stayed at a room at the back of the main building (302) it smelt damp and musty when we arrived but it did slightly improve once we opened the doors onto the balcony for a few hours. Room size was ok, but decor just very tired. The staff were very helpful at reception, and breakfast although very basic was perfectly adequate. It would take just a little effort to make this a truly special place, wash the curtains in the breakfast room, dust the pictures, a lick of paint and fix the fountain, plant up the pots with geraniums.......2 weeks of TLC and a little cash and it would be transformed.
Please owners love your hotel and it will work much harder for you!

Room Tip: I am sure the rooms in the main hotel would be beautiful, the rooms in the annex at the back have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#184 of 422 in Florence
194 reviews
Classic Hotel
#216 of 422 in Florence
179 reviews
Park Palace Hotel
#168 of 422 in Florence
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#86 of 422 in Florence
425 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#212 of 422 in Florence
311 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#171 of 422 in Florence
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Property: Villa Carlotta Hotel
Address: Via Michele di Lando 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing