We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed :(” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Ranked #235 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dissapointed :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I dont usually write bad reviews but i am sad to say, this was not a good place for us....The room was nice and clean but located next to a private Villa/home that had teenagers who were up late drinking and loud
We had purchased the Dinner and were VERY disapointed in the food. It was served down in the basement and was not very nice. we were by ourselves so it felt weird. The "waiter" was very nice and turned out to be our Bartender later that nite and served us in the morning. The food was terrible, overcooked and cold. We were not given a chance to bring it to any ones attention as the "chef" was gone already. When we mentioned it the next day to the front desk, they gace us the run-around blah, blah, blah...
Breakfast was the standard muffins and cereal...
I would not stay here again or reccomend this place, i am pretty easy going but this was not as advertised or very user-friendly.

Room Tip: as far as i could tell, there wasnt a good room that was better then any other, our room was nice ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sddelichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Madame,
At first thank you for having dedicated some of your precious time to us.

We are very sorry for the noisy occurred during your stay, the private Villa near us had a birthday party, once a year, and they stop at midnight.
About the food in the restaurant, we are usually very appreciated for it, I'm sorry you didn't like it, if the kitchen was still open the Chef Mario would have the possibility to change you the course or prepare something else. When you mentioned it at the moment of the check out the reception was not able to let you don't pay at that moment.

We are happy you tell us that you appreciated the cleanliness and the room.

We hope to have you again as our most welcome guest
Best Regards
Antonio Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    224
    104
    44
    17
See reviews for
87
337
19
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is the perfect place if you want a quiet street away from the busy streets of Florence but close enough so you can be in the centre of Florence within 15 minutes. The rooms are clean and very well presented and air con is available to keep cool in the summer. The hotel is laid out in a traditional style and it is a place I would definitely come back to again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hotel Carlotta was a great stay for us, nice and spacious room, IT HAS PARKING (that was a deal breaker for us), great breakfast buffet, located in a beautiful residential area ( a little farther from the central touristic area), great and helpful staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We choose Villa Carlotta because of its quiet residential location away from the noise of the city. It is very close to a stop on a major bus line so transportation in and out of the center city was fairly simple. It is also within a 25-minute walk of Ponte Vechhio. Our room was spacious with nice amenities and was very quiet at night. Not fancy and some of the spaces throughout the hotel could stand updating, but overall nice, clean and comfortable. A real plus for a rainy evening was the hotel's small restaurant which served us an excellent meal. Staff members were all helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was the best we encountered during our 2-week trip through Italy and France. We would stay at Villa Carlotta again -- a good value for the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors on front of the hotel have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed for two nights here and had a great stay. I personally really liked the style and charm of the hotel. Our room was adorable. The bathroom is very nice and looks newly renovated. It rained a whole day while we were here, so it was perfect for us to stay at the hotel indoors and not feel trapped. They had a bar/lounge area and restaurant downstairs, which we found very convenience and made of good use. I would recommend staying here and hope to come here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jester19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have just returned home from a week at the Villa Carlotta Hotel and thought it was a perfectly charming hotel, in a beautiful residential area at the back of the stunning Boboli Gardens. The reception staff were very helpful on our first day, when we couldn't plug medical equipment next to the bed (due to location of plug sockets) and they found us an extension lead. Thank you!!

The bed was very comfortable, linen and pillows spotless; the towels lovely and fluffy and not those silly-sizes either :) The shower was very powerful, TV worked absolutely fine and there was also a choice of DVDs if you wished to watch those.

The continental breakfast offered a good range of products and was plentiful (except for the scrambled egg and sausages! we only ever got to see these when the delightful Stefano was on breakfast duty: he was a very lovely man and so helpful and friendly, thinking nothing of whipping up a few scrambled eggs to keep the after-9am breakfast crowd happy).

We had good wifi connection and also had access to books in the lovely lounge area; large umbrellas were available for when the famed Tuscan rains hit Florence for a few days.

All in all, this is a really charming hotel to stay in if you don't mind being a little bit out of the city centre: there's buses down the hill to Palazzo Pitti and beyond, but is quite a walk to get a bus back up the slight hill to Porta Romana. We would very much recommend people to stay here if they are happy to be approx. 15 mins walk out of the city centre.

I've rated this hotel as a 3 PURELY because some of the rooms need updating; we stayed in a room located to the back of the hotel, beyond the small car-park and although the wood flooring was gorgeous, the walls were in dire need of a lick of paint : on our first day we were unable to close the muslin curtains as there was only one curtain, however this was rectified within a couple of days of our stay (without any comment from us) and a new phone installed, as the original one in the room looked like a 1980's model. We were next to the linen and cleaning cupboard and was disturbed on the first night by sounds of a washing machine on late at night but we did get used to it! The bathroom could do with a substantial upgrade - the hairdryer was very tatty and in dire shape, the shower-tap kept falling off and we found long dark hairs on the bathroom wall on our first night: but all in all, a great place to stay!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Callie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for 2 nights. It is a 5 minute walk to the best food in Florence, All'antico Ristoro di Cambini and 10-15 minute walk to the main square. They have: free WiFi, free breakfast, bar, restaurant, dvds to check out, bicycles to check out and friendly and helpful staff. The room was awesome, the nicest we stayed in our entire 2 week euro trip. Huge bed, clean everything, wood floors, and of course a fridge and flat screen tv.

We will definitely be staying at the Villa Carlotta when we revisit Florence. Thank you Antonio for the memorable stay!

Ps, they have parking as well which is great if you travel by car.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ocean_Palms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#187 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Classic Hotel
#226 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#202 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Palace Hotel
#160 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Hotel Della Robbia
#204 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#253 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Property: Villa Carlotta Hotel
Address: Via Michele di Lando 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing