We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but a bit far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Ranked #235 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A nice hotel, good breakfast, and friendly staff.
Although a walking distance from main squares, it gets a bit tiring to come back after a long and busy day. Taking a taxi will cost you around 10 euros; you can also take a bus (11, 36, 37 to Porta Romana) for 1.20 euro. The bus tickets are sold at the hotel - you can't buy them on the bus.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank FernandaMatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

After coming from a lovely hotel in Pisa we arrived at our hotel. If you are looking for somewhere close to the town do not choose Villa Carlotta. This is at least a 25 minute walk and it was not helped by the directions from a blunt receptionist who gave us a map which the hotel was not even on! We ate one night at the hotel and the food tasted like it was out a packet. For breakfast there is very little choice and ended up going out for breakfast instead. Water from shower and taps came out brown with black dirt in it and where told to just let it run for it to go clear. Room was very clean but overall a very disappointing experience. However absolutely loved Florence! Definitely a place to visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazing-annaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for what is happened but was not up to us. We explained this thing to all the guests and everybody understood , we are sorry there was a misunderstanding with you.

3 Days ago The city of Florence had to close the water in all our street for some works;

The Hotel was without water for one hour and from the moment that it come again, like in every building, the water came out not clear for a minute because the pipes on the street remain without water inside , and it happens at start just one time.

We told all the guests and we were sorry for the inconvenience.

The Cleanliness of the rooms is the first important thing and as you says:
" Room was very clean but overall a very disappointing experience"

About the distance :

We are 1000 Mt from Palazzo Pitti and 1200 mt from Ponte Vecchio, and yes it takes 20 minute walking to arrive on Ponte Vecchio; There is also the possibility to pass by the wonderful Boboli Garden, The royal garden of the Pitti Palace to arrive in the center. We don't understand why this is a problem, everyone just seeing a map can see where we are;

We are sorry these little inconveniences gave you a bad idea of the Villa Carlotta Hotel.

Best regards
Antonio Venturini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel creates a romantic atmosphere in small datails of it's interior design. In the bathroom is always present a scent of perfume. Breakfast is very good. I consider a four star hotel. The palace is very quiet

Room Tip: Any room is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LageLuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I dont usually write bad reviews but i am sad to say, this was not a good place for us....The room was nice and clean but located next to a private Villa/home that had teenagers who were up late drinking and loud
We had purchased the Dinner and were VERY disapointed in the food. It was served down in the basement and was not very nice. we were by ourselves so it felt weird. The "waiter" was very nice and turned out to be our Bartender later that nite and served us in the morning. The food was terrible, overcooked and cold. We were not given a chance to bring it to any ones attention as the "chef" was gone already. When we mentioned it the next day to the front desk, they gace us the run-around blah, blah, blah...
Breakfast was the standard muffins and cereal...
I would not stay here again or reccomend this place, i am pretty easy going but this was not as advertised or very user-friendly.

Room Tip: as far as i could tell, there wasnt a good room that was better then any other, our room was nice ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sddelichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Madame,
At first thank you for having dedicated some of your precious time to us.

We are very sorry for the noisy occurred during your stay, the private Villa near us had a birthday party, once a year, and they stop at midnight.
About the food in the restaurant, we are usually very appreciated for it, I'm sorry you didn't like it, if the kitchen was still open the Chef Mario would have the possibility to change you the course or prepare something else. When you mentioned it at the moment of the check out the reception was not able to let you don't pay at that moment.

We are happy you tell us that you appreciated the cleanliness and the room.

We hope to have you again as our most welcome guest
Best Regards
Antonio Venturini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is the perfect place if you want a quiet street away from the busy streets of Florence but close enough so you can be in the centre of Florence within 15 minutes. The rooms are clean and very well presented and air con is available to keep cool in the summer. The hotel is laid out in a traditional style and it is a place I would definitely come back to again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hotel Carlotta was a great stay for us, nice and spacious room, IT HAS PARKING (that was a deal breaker for us), great breakfast buffet, located in a beautiful residential area ( a little farther from the central touristic area), great and helpful staff!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We choose Villa Carlotta because of its quiet residential location away from the noise of the city. It is very close to a stop on a major bus line so transportation in and out of the center city was fairly simple. It is also within a 25-minute walk of Ponte Vechhio. Our room was spacious with nice amenities and was very quiet at night. Not fancy and some of the spaces throughout the hotel could stand updating, but overall nice, clean and comfortable. A real plus for a rainy evening was the hotel's small restaurant which served us an excellent meal. Staff members were all helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was the best we encountered during our 2-week trip through Italy and France. We would stay at Villa Carlotta again -- a good value for the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors on front of the hotel have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.1 mi away
Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel
#222 of 410 in Florence
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#193 of 410 in Florence
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#123 of 410 in Florence
588 reviews
2.6 mi away
Starhotels Tuscany
Starhotels Tuscany
#104 of 410 in Florence
780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Palace Hotel
Park Palace Hotel
#153 of 410 in Florence
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Address: Via Michele di Lando 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £65 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing