We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Classic Hotel(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Cora(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Annalena(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Florent(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
194
244
126
49
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
244
126
49
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboboli gardensminute walkporta romanaponte vecchiopitti palacedvd playerthe main hotelfirst morningtea and coffeetriple roomour night staycomfortable roompastriesby footsmall hotelnice breakfasttrain station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the residential part of Florence and is in a quiet and peaceful location. The hotel is accessible via taxi which ranged between €10-20 Euro depending on the time of day. There are also bus services or a 20minute walk which is a great way to take in the outskirts of Florence. the rooms were clean and serviced daily. The breakfast also offered a great variety of pastries, bread and hot food. The staff were very helpful and responded to email queries prior to our arrival promptly. I would recommend to those wanting to unwind after a busy day exploring Florence.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is basic at best, the rooms are dated and tired in need of a good lick of paint. The breakfast room and the rest of the hotel are the same. It is like time has stood still but not in a good way. Breakfast was poor for continental, no fresh coffee in Italy.....filter coffee on a hot plate, the pas try's are not fresh daily. The staff are friendly and helpful although that is the only positive thing to say about the hotel. I have stayed in better B&B's with no stars. Definitely not a 4 star hotel. Do yourself a favour book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlasgowSimonglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for having dedicated your time to write us a review;
I think everybody can love or not a place and the style of an old Italian Villa, it's depend from the person, We are happy you like our Staff ,but there are some not correct things in yor comment;
About the breakfast : In the buffet there is the American Long coffe (as you said), but , like all the guest do, you can also ask to the waiter for Espresso, Cappuccino, Hot Tea or Hot Chocolate without any problem.
About The pastry, they are fresh and prepared everynight before the brekfast;

Best Regards
Antonio Venturini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had a most relaxing over-night stay. It's in a beautifully treed area just outside the Roman Arches, and you can walk down to Ponte di Vecchio very easily, past the gardens. The room facilities, breakfast etc is what you'd expect, and they have a pool although I didn't have time to use it. I'd definitely look to stay again if I'm in Firenze.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank marionmac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We used this hotel as a base for sightseeing in Florence. As far as location is concerned, the hotel is a good 25 minutes walk from the main attractions. It is on the south side of the river and most of the main attractions are on the north side. Nevertheless, this is reflected in the price and there is a frequent bus service into the town from the big stone gate just up the road. (The bus is very cheap and straight forward.) There are restaurants 15 minutes away. it was generally clean and the room was pleasant with a good bathroom, though it overlooked a hedge beyond which was the car park. Breakfast was better than average with lots of excellent coffee, cereal, a selection of fruit, cake, croissants, ham, cheese, bread for toasting etc. The bread rolls were something of a challenge, however and were on the wrong side of chewy. There was plenty of other food to choose from, so this was not an issue. We stayed half board. There was a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 sweets. The chef was very obliging and seemed very happy to adapt his menu to our liking. After the first couple of nights, he consulted us on what the next day's menu should be and was very keen to please. The food was good and his pasta dishes were excellent. The sweet menu was a little disappointing, and the options were very similar. (Crème caramel style) Wine is about £18 a bottle upwards.There is a pool which would have provided some relaxation if the weather had been better when we visited. Reception staff were helpful and pre-booked the Uffizi for us, thus avoiding the two hour queue. (Just ask them to reserve tickets for you at least the day before you plan to visit the gallery.) It costs about 4 Euro extra but you go straight in. There wasn't much information provided by the hotel. We were not offered a map or any basic info. on the sights or any tips for getting around so have an up to date guide book. If I went to Florence, I would stay here again. I wish it had been more central, but if it had been, I probably would not have been able to afford it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I don't stay in upscale hotels very much (this is rated a 4-star hotel), On a trip to Italy, my wife and I stayed at this hotel based on what was available. On the plus side, it is close to the Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens, which are worth seeing. It is a bit far to walk (we arrived by train and taxi) into the center of the city each day and back. Our room was just off the reception area. It was suitable but nothing special. The breakfast was not very good and certainly subpar compared to other hotels (including a wonderful 1-star hotel, Hotel Vecchio Asilo in the San Gimignano area) in Venice and Assisi. Some of the staff were not very helpful. Although there is a pool, it was dirty and looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks. Overall, a very so-so experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews