We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Ranked #231 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with Helpful staff”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

First, we are Americans traveling with two kids, 4 years and 6 months on a road trip through Italy. We found this charming villa for around 165 euros a night. We wanted to not be in the city since parking can be challenging and dad is tired of navigating. It is a perfect location just a short walk to the Firenze Sightseeing bus. You're out of the city but in a quiet neighborhood. Checkin was simple, staff greeted everyone including the kids. We needed a triple room which is harder to find and this was a great option for my son. Some things naturally need to be overlooked since it is an older hotel. Key things to know, beautiful pool, great chef, tasty food at a reasonable price, free parking, elegant bar, comfortable beds, mini bar, wifi, free breakfast. This villa really has most everything you need. Our only issues were mosquitoes which can't be avoided in August and the wifi which seem to go off every night from 1:51am to 7 or 8am. We stayed in the back house and would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MegaJustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    226
    110
    44
    18
See reviews for
89
341
20
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff were helpful and polite, especially the man who supplied us with spray and an anti mosquito plug-in. The hotel is in a quiet area and has parking. The rooms are large and clean and the bed comfortable. Wifi was fast. Breakfast fine. It's about a 20 minute walk into the centre.

Our room was in the annex, not in the main hotel. The room and bathroom were dated and tired. In my opinion this is a 3* hotel not 4. We went to eat in the hotel restaurant, but after seeing the menu changed our minds. Frozen pizza base in Italy didn't really do it for us.

If your looking for a reasonable hotel in a quiet location, this is the hotel for you, but don't come with 4* star expectations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vics1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel has a 4 star rating and previous reviews listed were mostly positive. Based on this we originally booked 3 nights, then decided to add an extra night. The staff were very polite and helpful but other than that the hotel itself is run down. The reception area is shabby and dirty. Our family room was cramped with the tiniest cupboard and bathroom. The breakfast was awful. We booked out the same evening but had to stay over as we were charged for 1 night. This hotel was very disappointing and I am reluctantly giving it a 2 star rating.

Room Tip: When booking a family room insist on getting more details of room size and amenities. Our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 275Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear customer, we are sorry to read this kind of comments, our commitment is maximum and have these reviews only because there were some misunderstandings is not nice.
On our website, also on Trip Advisor (customer photos) and all the online portals you can find photos of Villa Carlotta for both type of accommodation, from the classic rooms to the superior rooms, we are sorry you had expected another kind of structure, perhaps with a style of modern decor. It 'a historic villa and we want to keep the originality of our style. As for the cleaning of common areas we do not understand how you can say that they are dirty, are cleaned 3 times a day.
As for breakfast, we have a great variety of choice of products for which we have often compliments such as scrambled eggs with bacon.

In addition, there are specific rules for cancellation, so it is normal as in any other hotel if you do not cancel in time will be charged one night.
Best Regards
Antonio Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the residential part of Florence and is in a quiet and peaceful location. The hotel is accessible via taxi which ranged between €10-20 Euro depending on the time of day. There are also bus services or a 20minute walk which is a great way to take in the outskirts of Florence. the rooms were clean and serviced daily. The breakfast also offered a great variety of pastries, bread and hot food. The staff were very helpful and responded to email queries prior to our arrival promptly. I would recommend to those wanting to unwind after a busy day exploring Florence.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is basic at best, the rooms are dated and tired in need of a good lick of paint. The breakfast room and the rest of the hotel are the same. It is like time has stood still but not in a good way. Breakfast was poor for continental, no fresh coffee in Italy.....filter coffee on a hot plate, the pas try's are not fresh daily. The staff are friendly and helpful although that is the only positive thing to say about the hotel. I have stayed in better B&B's with no stars. Definitely not a 4 star hotel. Do yourself a favour book somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowSimonglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for having dedicated your time to write us a review;
I think everybody can love or not a place and the style of an old Italian Villa, it's depend from the person, We are happy you like our Staff ,but there are some not correct things in yor comment;
About the breakfast : In the buffet there is the American Long coffe (as you said), but , like all the guest do, you can also ask to the waiter for Espresso, Cappuccino, Hot Tea or Hot Chocolate without any problem.
About The pastry, they are fresh and prepared everynight before the brekfast;

Best Regards
Antonio Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I had a most relaxing over-night stay. It's in a beautifully treed area just outside the Roman Arches, and you can walk down to Ponte di Vecchio very easily, past the gardens. The room facilities, breakfast etc is what you'd expect, and they have a pool although I didn't have time to use it. I'd definitely look to stay again if I'm in Firenze.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank marionmac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We used this hotel as a base for sightseeing in Florence. As far as location is concerned, the hotel is a good 25 minutes walk from the main attractions. It is on the south side of the river and most of the main attractions are on the north side. Nevertheless, this is reflected in the price and there is a frequent bus service into the town from the big stone gate just up the road. (The bus is very cheap and straight forward.) There are restaurants 15 minutes away. it was generally clean and the room was pleasant with a good bathroom, though it overlooked a hedge beyond which was the car park. Breakfast was better than average with lots of excellent coffee, cereal, a selection of fruit, cake, croissants, ham, cheese, bread for toasting etc. The bread rolls were something of a challenge, however and were on the wrong side of chewy. There was plenty of other food to choose from, so this was not an issue. We stayed half board. There was a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 sweets. The chef was very obliging and seemed very happy to adapt his menu to our liking. After the first couple of nights, he consulted us on what the next day's menu should be and was very keen to please. The food was good and his pasta dishes were excellent. The sweet menu was a little disappointing, and the options were very similar. (Crème caramel style) Wine is about £18 a bottle upwards.There is a pool which would have provided some relaxation if the weather had been better when we visited. Reception staff were helpful and pre-booked the Uffizi for us, thus avoiding the two hour queue. (Just ask them to reserve tickets for you at least the day before you plan to visit the gallery.) It costs about 4 Euro extra but you go straight in. There wasn't much information provided by the hotel. We were not offered a map or any basic info. on the sights or any tips for getting around so have an up to date guide book. If I went to Florence, I would stay here again. I wish it had been more central, but if it had been, I probably would not have been able to afford it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#185 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Classic Hotel
#217 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#203 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Palace Hotel
#173 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#245 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#92 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Property: Villa Carlotta Hotel
Address: Via Michele di Lando 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing