We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, shame about the showers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio
Ranked #248 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, shame about the showers”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This hotel is situated in a residential location with garden and trees to the front and a swimming pool to the side. Unfortunately the pool was still under its winter wraps when we stayed for 3 hot days in May. Breakfasts were good, if busy at times. The rooms were cheaply furnished - and looked it and the shower cubicle so small that any movement turned your hot shower into a cold one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    249
    130
    48
    28
See reviews for
119
238
20
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I loved this hotel but there were two negative points 1) Breakfast could be chaotic in busy periods and the hotel was quite popular with tour groups so in the morning I had to go and notify the staff I wanted beverages as they were so busy that they did not pay attention to the people that were entering the breakfast area. 2) The pool was not monitored by any member of staff which I found slightly concerning as I would have thought they should have a duty to do this.

Putting these two things to one side the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful when they were not stressed and the hotel is lovely with good connections to Florence city centre , The staff were willing to offer advice and good bus connections . There were two bus services one finished at 10.00 and if you missed that from florence there was another option than went practically the same route back dropped you off another street away so no big deal if you buy a map so you understand where you are. The hotel facilities were excellent and I would love to stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HelenJ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weatherford, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Not close to historical attractions but very close to Nelson Mandela Arena, which is what we needed. Extra person charge (there were 3 in our party) seemed punitive but the room was spacious and well-appointed. Beds were hard but this seems to be the norm in Europe? We had to ask for extra blankets. The "coffee maker" was actually just hot water and instant coffee & was not replenished during our stay. Breakfast included eggs, meat & cheee which was nice, and gluten-free items were a plus. However, the atmosphere in the dining room was very unfriendly and unwelcoming. The staff seemed confused and ill-informed about our breakfast charges. Both the staff and the other guests seemed to think that a 23 & a 27 year-old needed to be accompanied by an "adult", and that street-clothes were not suitable for a buffet. Please be aware that this hotel seems to be frequented by older relatives of local residents and not by tourists. We saw no children at all during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rusty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed about four nights here. It's about three blocks off the bus route, not too far from the Main Train Station. Take 17A and get off at Duces (if my memory serves me). There are great shops and tratorrias around the corners off the beaten path. It was quiet and peaceful there. They staff was SUPER helpful in guiding us around. The morning breakfast was typical of a European breakfast (breads, fruit, juice, coffee, meats and cheeses). Free WiFi always rocks. It was a bit chilly in the winter, so ask for a blanket. Good size bathroom, but again, small shower, as typical Europe. The beds were SUPER hard, but I've found that typical all around Italy it seems. I would ABSOLUTELY stay here again. Grazie mile to those there!!!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room facing the front of the hotel. It's a beautiful view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShinyStout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This hotel may need some new matresses and the walls seemed pretty thin, but the hotel included breakfast was good and the location great for a value hotel. There is not much for tourists around the hotel, but it is only 8-10 Euros in a cab to the heart of Florence.
Free wi-fi in the room which is awesome! Staff were friendly too. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller32canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Hotel is good, staff is very friendly and location is not bad so you have easy access to downtown.
I am certain that this is not a 4 star hotel. Breakfast is very good, it is a buffet and very well presented.
For some reason although they have a good parking space, there is an extra charge for parking (around 15 euro/day). Internet is free and good speed.
Size of the rooms a very decent, clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We chose this hotel because we fell in love with the location: really nice old fashioned villa and warm welcoming at the reception. But when you are in your room take into account that you can hear all the noises of the other rooms and people in the corridor. You won't be able to sleep any longer after 5.30 am. Not recommend at all, despite the quite good level of service. We will never come back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Italiana Hotels Florence
#160 of 422 in Florence
974 reviews
Park Palace Hotel
#168 of 422 in Florence
318 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#238 of 422 in Florence
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#184 of 422 in Florence
194 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#235 of 422 in Florence
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio

Property: Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio
Address: Via Gabriele d'Annunzio 141A/B, 50135, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio Hotel is a prestigious hotel in Florence placed in a suggestive natural setting only a few minutes away from the historical center of Florence in Tuscany. An ideal location for a peaceful stay but yet not far from the most famous Florence monuments. Car Parking on payment; outdoor Swimming Pool and Wi Fi Connection free of charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Best Western Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing