We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio
Ranked #269 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Hotel was a major disappointment on our recent trip to Italy and Florence in particular. We were with a tour group and they chose the place. The hotel is a Best Western in every sense that connotes. Everything was average at best. Rooms were small but adequate. Bathrooms and showers were very tight and cramped - be sure to ask for a room with a tub/shower. A room with a view might be nice too but we did not have one. The hotel is located in the suburbs of Florence and travel to and from it denies one the opportunity to see that much more of the City (and there is a lot to see and enjoy in Florence). The hot and cold water issues mentioned by some continued to plague us as well. The buffet breakfast was mediocre-poor and was supervised by people who would have made wonderful fascist party members. The concept of a buffet is that it is open and you chose from amongst the offerings.
Here, inadequate seating was assigned to groups and heaven help you if you should seek out or attempt to sit at a seat elsewhere other than what you were assigned to. And the food was only so-so. Greatest virtue of the place was the thin walls and the entertainment that provided listening to your neighbors. The place does have some virtues - but we were unable to find them. Its location is by far the biggest negative aspect of the place and for a place like Florence that is a very significant factor - so much so that even our tour group compensated us for choosing this place. Stay closer to the City center and enjoy everything that Florence has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OMNISCIENT_ONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Gabriele D, Direttore at Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Sir
thanks for the contribution expressed about our hotel: every judgment is for us a starting point to improve.
We are pleased you noticed that our hotel respects the Best Western ‘ standard: as you maybe know, this chain requires a high quality level.
We remain surprised by the comments on our buffet breakfast: lately, in fact, we receive only good reviews for variety, service and quality.
When there is a group for breakfast, we usually reserve a part of the breakfast room to give the group the possibility to seat and to have breakfast all together at same time and to give a better service: you in fact, as group, have a tight -scheduled timetable to respect for visiting the city and we do our best to give you this possibility. If the staff seemed very busy, please apologize: we will have to improve more.
Regarding our location, we try to be clear and precise on our web page, even providing longitude and latitude: I think the agency gave you all the information about the location of the hotel and that you, having chosen it, already was aware of the fact that we are located at 3kms from Piazza Duomo and not in the historical center.
With our best regards
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel stood out cost wise as we searched what were otherwise very expensive hotels in Florence and although it was quite a way from the historical centre, the excellent buses served it very well. The hotel is an old convent and still has an historic feel, although does not feel dated. The rooms were large, simply furnished yet equipped well enough with comfortable beds, LCD tv and hair dryers. Breakfast was very good quality, usual Italian offerings with a Tuscan twist, all fresh and very nice. Evening meals though are not, we struggled one night as we spent too long in Florence and were too tired to get dressed for dinner, so ate pizza from the restaurant which was just rubbish, straight out of a packet and I think even the waiter was embarrassed to serve it up. Advise you not to eat here. Swimming pool was quite good, although the grounds could do with a little attention. Now to location. All things equal, the is far cheaper than anything else we saw in Florence, so would definitely attract me back, but there was not a lot of restaurant choice around, particularly Sunday night, so you may be better eating in Florence itself. Buses are great. Number 10 from Piazza San Marco's goes right past about every 15 minutes and number 17 from the Santa Novella station dropped off about 100 yards away. Tickets available from the hotel or shops with signs for 1e20. Would recommend if you are looking for blue for money and are happy moving around a bit to get it...

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank gino71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Hotel nice and affordable in expensive Florence, located in a residential area 20 minutes from Florence centre. Our room was large and had a balcony.room 317,The outside table could have benefited from a parasol as the sun hit the balcony hard. Air conditioning was brilliant effective and very quiet. This was necessary in August. Mini bar in room was good but room should have had glasses not flimsy plastic cups in a 4 star hotel. Staff were helpful and breakfast was very good. The hotel needs to cater for people eating at night. The menu was limited and more suitable for a snack. They need to address this particularly in August. Most restaurants in the area closed for a summer break.The hotel caters for coach parties but this didn't affect us as they seem to have a good system to minimize noise and the effect on other guests.The pool was shut for 3 days for maintenance while we were there and did look poorly maintained when we arrived with cloudy water, When it reopened it looked a different pool.Staff could give the pool area a bit of TLC the grass is dead or dry if you are going to have a pool then it needs maintaining. The pool was great to have in August. Near the hotel was the bus into Florence a public swimming pool and sports centre. A large Lidl supermarket was 10 minutes down the road there were also a few local shops and a pharmacy.If you use buses you can purchase tickets from reception.There is also a computer for use in a side room off reception.The hotel was very clean.

Room Tip: balcony room 317
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank welshgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Recommended hotel: Nice hotel, kind staff, comfortable, quiet, not far away from the centre (20 min of bus), with a refreshing swimming pool, available car park places, and with a great (varied) breakfast



  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Chantal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Be sure to stay here if possible.
What a pleasant surprise for our 2nd stay in Italy! This hotel is in a quant neighborhood and maybe a little hard to find; use your GPS, but it is worth it! Room are large as is the bath, the shower is a little small but roomy enough to get the job done. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. We awoke to the crowing of a rooster and sing of birds -, fantastic.
We ventured out for dinner taking the advice of our bartender and directions of desk staff. Good recommendation, we had a lovely meal. Prices were reasonable and constant, unlike POPPI.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dahary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Nice hotel as we were on a coach the location was fine although a bit far out if you were independent ,they did a very nice welcome for our Titan tour,only had breakfast and that was fine with a fair choice on the table. The dining area was small but pleasant ,only the chairs at the tables which were iron with curly tops,which you either caught your clothes on or your arm not so good when carrying your breakfast but only a minor point,bedroom was fine clean,staff friendly .Must say I did feel the entrance to the hotel was not very good for the coach taking skill to enter and exit.the garden and pool area were in need of TLC,but to be fair I think they were redoing some bits,really would not have wanted to use the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mavis32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

In a quiet residential area couple of miles out from central florence.
Comfortable modern rooms, lovely location, excellent reception, superb breakfast and bar service. very friendly, many thanks. Hope to be returning with a group soon.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jethro672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Italiana Hotels Florence
#173 of 411 in Florence
1,111 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#193 of 411 in Florence
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nilhotel
#194 of 411 in Florence
669 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#261 of 411 in Florence
738 reviews
Together Florence Inn
#293 of 411 in Florence
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio

Address: Via Gabriele d'Annunzio 141A/B, 50135, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £56 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio Hotel is a prestigious hotel in Florence placed in a suggestive natural setting only a few minutes away from the historical center of Florence in Tuscany. An ideal location for a peaceful stay but yet not far from the most famous Florence monuments. Car Parking on payment; outdoor Swimming Pool and Wi Fi Connection free of charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Best Western Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing