We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff are all fabulous, but.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio
Ranked #250 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Staff are all fabulous, but.......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Hotel is well situated for those who prefer to stay away from city noise. Its near two bus routes the 10 and 17. The former route ends at San Marco Sq. which is a 5 minute stroll from Duomo and Florence's attractions are all then reasonably close by. The 17 also stops at the square but then heads on to finish at the railway station. In fact the railway station is only a 5 minute brisk walk from Duomo. For 6 Euro each you can get a bus from the railway station to the airport. WE had cabin sized suitcases so used the 2 buses to return to the airport with ease. A taxi will set you back 35 euros or more.
We visited the hotel in August. It doesn't really want to offer an evening meal unless you are part of the numerous coach tours that used the hotel during our stay, so you have to head out into the residential area that surrounds the hotel. Thing is almost all are shut in August. We were told we had a choice of 2! We frequented I Guigollo about 1 mile away (see separate review) or ate before returning from Florence or day excursion.see Cante de Nell and i Florence, Shushiko Sienna) also see Patisserie Cesar locally
The coach parties can be an issue, we got fed up with them by the end of our stay, as some leave very early in the morning (like 0630) and sadly some cultures just don't seem to include any thought for fellow guests so we were very regularly disturbed by kids screaming and running along hallways and their parents shouting after them at 0600 and 0700. They also tend to swoop on breakfast like locusts, so choice of breakfast can get restricted assuming you can find a table to sit at that has clean cups and cutlery. One also ends up tipping the coffee and milk urns up on their stands to get the last drips of the urn into your cup.
The outdoor pool isn't overly user friendly; people tend to mess around and 'bomb' other occupants, in addition despite the very hot weather it remained absolutely freezing, so we gave up using it.

The rooms are good size and thoroughly cleaned each day which was a major plus for us. As we said the staff were great without exception.

Our final gripe is that the hot water system isn't reliable. Our shower and sink tap ran piping hot then freezing cold regularly and without warning, necessitating when showering to lean in and out of the shower head in an attempt to avoid being scalded or receive a nasty jet of cold water. We reported this twice to hotel staff and promised it would be checked out by maintenance but nothing happened whilst we were there

we'd like to score it higher for the sake of the staff, but the water issue, pool and irritation of coach tours stops us from doing so

Wifi worked ok and is free

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    245
    130
    45
    27
See reviews for
117
236
19
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Pleasantly situated away from the centre of Florence overlooking the city but with easy access by the No 10 bus to the centre (tickets from reception) from just outside the hotel. Good room although a little small with a small bathroom with shower. Pleasant, helpful reception, good buffet breakfasts although crowded at times with groups. Room was on the front overlooking reception and could be noisy in late evening due to groups gathering outside. Dinner here is probably limited but there is a good restaurant (il Piacere) just 5 minutes walk away. Would stay here again when visiting Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for one not above reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tunku41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Arrived at this hotel at 11 pm on the very beginning of August 2013.. with no reservations. Just for a night stay to sleep on a comfy bed, shower in a clean bathroom and eat. There is nothing I can say bad about this hotel! They accommodated us quickly with a room, and because it was next to the kitchen, the rate was discounted. The hotel looks gorgeous from the outside and inside it's just as beautiful and inviting. The room had the view of the courtyard, very large and very clean. Breakfast was amazing!!!! so much fresh food nicely displayed. It was hard to just eat one thing. There is a barrista to make you fresh espresso or cappuccino too. I feel bad, I cannot remember the name of the pizza joint that is open till 1 am and it's only a block away from the hotel. But if you ask the concierge they will let you know! Pizza from there was amazing! I don't understand people that visit towns and eat at the hotels. Breakfast I understand but other lunch/dinner meals you should try going outside of the hotel and walk a block or two. you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: if you like to sleep in, don't get the room next to the kitchen. I was up before the kitchen sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you know your way around Florence, or can get a taxi/public transport then this is a great hotel. It's not too far away from everything.
I stayed here on tour and ended up phoning ahead for an early check in as i was sick and wanted to sleep. They arranged it no worries! Very grateful. The grounds are lush, green and open; all the rooms are decent sized, well heated and modern. Heated towel racks and a well designed bathroom. Possibly the best stay on my tour because of how comfortable the rooms were! I had a room with roof to floor french doors that viewed the main entrance/courtyard. Very quiet even though it had a few buses in it.
I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for Moto GP in Mugello. On the right side if Florence for travel to race. Good sized bedrooms. Very clean. Nice and quiet. Breakfast wasn't amazing. The coffee was poor and tasteless and not really a lot of choice. Would defo stay there again tho

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kay3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We booked for this hotel for 4 nights for our stay in Florence.
We arrived at midnight with our 1 year old son and my parents in law and the minute we entered the lobby the receptionist started emidiately apologizing about having a problem with some rooms due to mantainance .... He didn't even have to complete his sentence in order for me to understand as i have seen a review before about the same issue and unfortunately I decided to ignore it, it seem's to be the hotel policy to overbook and leave midnight guests without a chance even to choose where to stay, they've sent us also to the same hotel in the previous review (Ricasoli hotel apparently form the same group) and with a baby sleeping on my hands after 4 hours drive from the airport we had no choice but to accept!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Arooj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was my third hotel in a week- and the luxury treat before I flew back to the UK. Or so I thought. It's built in the site if a former convent and as I looked down from my window I was convinced I could hear the Eagles Hotel California playing- it has a very California, relaxed mood to it.

The four stars get you a location too far from the centre to walk, but a pool, and a great gelaterie a block away. Staff were nice, especially the lady on the desk who changed my room when I pointed out I was desperate for a room with a bath. (Three days of culture had taken their toll on my poor feet). There wasn't a good restaurant nearby, so I stuffed my face with ice cream to compensate.

Like all Italian hotels, this one had a tiled floor, and I've yet to get used to sleeping under a single sheet. Next time I'm heading for five stars in Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northstar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#220 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Italiana Hotels Florence
#168 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#189 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#175 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#229 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio

Property: Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio
Address: Via Gabriele d'Annunzio 141A/B, 50135, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio Hotel is a prestigious hotel in Florence placed in a suggestive natural setting only a few minutes away from the historical center of Florence in Tuscany. An ideal location for a peaceful stay but yet not far from the most famous Florence monuments. Car Parking on payment; outdoor Swimming Pool and Wi Fi Connection free of charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Gabriele D'Annunzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Best Western Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing