We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel in Florence”
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #85 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel in Florence”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and each year we can not wait to return. The location is perfect and within walking distance to many wonderful places to see and eat. There are many lovely rooms in both the old sections and new. Both areas are charming in their own ways. The rooms facing the gardens are the quietest. Some rooms in the new section are not quiet due to thin walls. The staff is very helpful, especially Gabriel, who has done some special favors for us. This 14th century palace is worth a stay for anyone who loves Florence.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewOrleansFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    388
    114
    52
    42
See reviews for
244
542
70
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A five night stay at a central city location that fully lived up to expectations.
We arrived close to midnight, following an enjoyable flight with BA and a coach transfer from Pisa with Terravision. Both of which I would recommend.
The night clerk dealt with the formalities, showing us to our rooms very soon after arriving.
Rooms were an adequate size for two people let alone two single travellers, which was our case.
Breakfast, which was inclusive, offered a good selection of cold meats, cereals, etc.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, with any questions always responded to with a smile. Particular mention to the bartender with whom we had a good rapport.
The central location made it easy to walk to all of the attractions, even those across the river. Although the Monna Lisa does not have a restaurant open in the evening. This was not a problem due to the excellent selection available in the near vicinity.
Finally, I would have no hesitation in recommending this clean and friendly hotel to others. We would return there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfingbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Any positive reviews of this hotel are obviously written by people who have not stayed in quality hotels. Our negative experience started as we were dropped off in front of the hotel by the taxi. It is located on an extremely narrow claustrophobic street that looked more like an alley in the ghetto. Nothing around that resembled a nice restaurant or store. As we hesitantly entered into to the reception area we were abruptly and rudely greeted by two, very odd looking characters who were quite upset to see there were indeed two of us. Apparently, although I had booked and paid for a double room, I forgot to check that there were two people, so they had stuck me in a tiny single room with barely enough space for one person to move around. As we are a female couple, the man was quite up in arms that I had erroneously completed the form and that now two woman would be staying in a double bed. I assured him that would be fine and we were abruptly whisked away by a man carrying our luggage. It was almost comical as he appeared to be almost running thru the maize of this hotel and we were barely able to keep up with him. As he ran past the breakfast area he mumbled something about this being the restaurant but we couldn't even really hear him. He was clearly running because he didn't want us to notice the cheap and tacky 80s floral furniture and old, dusty pink silk flowers we had to pass to get to our chamber, I mean room. It was very creepy and reminded me of quasi motto running away from his taunters. After following him thru a ridiculous maze of ugly rooms, he dropped us off at our room and took off as fast as he could with zero introduction to the features of our room. He didn't bother to explain about the bug bomb located in the room....hmmm...I wonder why. It explained it was for mosquitos but were pretty sure it doubled for cock roaches as well. The only item in this hideously decorated room was the dirty bed, which had a bed spread that appeared to be from the 1960s as well as sheets full of holes. All I can say is it was disgusting. In the photos online it appears you will look out onto a lovely courtyard...as we cautiously pulled back our green curtains, there was no lovely courtyard. Our view was what looked like tenement housing, laundry hanging on the lines and an old man in a wife beater tshirt on his balcony, about 10 feet away from us. Not the scene of Florence we had envisioned. As we sat there staring at each other in disbelief we considered asking for another room, but by the looks of what we had seen in the hotel, a larger room would only mean more badness. We quickly made the decision this place was not worthy of ending our gorgeous 2 week Tuscan vacation in, found another hotel online and ran out of there as fast as we could. We had to pay for one night stay but it was well worth just paying it and chalking it up to a bad decision. Bottom line is....this is NOT a 4 star hotel its a 2 at best. Not sure who they've paid off to get that 4 stars but don't be fooled. We changed to the 4 star Lungarno hotel, on the river with a gorgeous view. Although it cost us a lot more it was way worth it and we were never so happy to see a nice hotel. The Mona Lisa is dirty and ugly and the service is horrible. Reminded us of a flop house. Don't be fooled by the pictures on line....their photographer should receive an award for making this run down flop house appear as a charming Italian villa. Trust us on this...if you appreciate nice things, keep moving on and don't ever stay here. It was the creepiest place we have ever almost slept in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bette64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSLAVIA16, Direttore at Hotel Monna Lisa, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to learn about your full displeasure about the Monna Lisa. The reception Manager and the receptionist who checked you in were just surprised to see two people because your reservation was for one person only. They just tried to explain you that there was a mistake into your room reservation because for one person only, they are not used to be rude. Being the bed a queen size, there was no way to make the room as a twin bedded one. By the way you have been informed that for the first night, being the hotel sold out, there was no chance to assign you a different room to be better accommodate but on the day after another room could be come available for you and your friend. This proposal have not met with your kind approval. Your comments, made after just a quick look at our property, are heavily damaging to our image but is nothing compared to the affront suffered by all our guests that, after have stayed with us and touched with their hands our service, staff and so on, have been so nice as to leaving a review on Tripadvisor. I feel I have to defend all their positive comments about the Monna Lisa. While I understand you don't like our hotel at all and I'm very sorry for this, please refrain from saying that our guests "have not stayed in quality hotels", you cannot know it and this is abusing them very much.
Kind regards.
Agostino Cona - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

From the moment you arrive outside the gothic doors of this wonderful hotel you just know you are going to love it. So consistent with the beautiful architecture of Florence, it just oozes charm. The staff were very friendly, it is very quiet and in a great location. We really loved it and have tried to return numerous time but it is always fully booked... says it all really!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBoy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel and staff was excellent. Our room was nicely decorated and just the right size for two adults. It was a great location as well within walking distance of the sights. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast had a great selection and the dining area was very pleasant as well. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the lobby level just off the sitting room and therefore the wifi worked in our room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our stay at Monna Lisa was incredible. The hotel is located in an old building from the time of the renaissance, and the owners did everything to preserve its authenticity. It truly transports you back in time, which is great in a place such as Florence, filled with old architecture and culture. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff helpful and friendly. The gardens were gorgeous which was wonderful because they were the view from our room and during breakfast - truly a perfect start to any day.
Also, the location is fantastic. On a very quiet street but minutes away from the Dome and every single important attraction in the city.
The only slight disappointment we had was the breakfast. It was delicious, and the staff wonderful (serving us fresh coffee as soon as we got there every time), however it was the same every day. When you stay in a hotel for 9 days, you start craving a little bit of diversity.
All in all a wonderful experience that we heartily recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBWocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Mona Lisa Hotel was a disappointment. It was a bit out dated. I did not care for my room. The décor and bathroom were outdated. The headboard was worn above the pillows. The hotel recommends bug bombing your room if you plan on leaving the window open at night. I don’t care for such chemicals and the room had a distinct odor.

The hotel has a beautiful garden with bartender. Many of the guests sit in the garden during the day and evening. If you stay at the hotel I would recommend a balcony.

The hotel is in walking distance to the center of Florence. The streets were narrow for people, cars, and bikes which I did not mind. However, we needed to be careful where we were walking due to dog feces and trash.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#53 of 412 in Florence
2,205 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
794 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#125 of 412 in Florence
933 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#84 of 412 in Florence
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Property: Hotel Monna Lisa
Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#64 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing