We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magic hotel in a magic city”
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #84 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A magic hotel in a magic city”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Visiting Florence for 3 nights from Florence and booked the HotelMonna Lisa over the Internet. When we arrived and saw how beautiful it is we were glad we booked - it is a magic hotel
From the outside looks are deceiving until you step through the doors into this wonderful hotel. The staff are wonderful and helpful and so nice. Our room is massive with a double king bed and a big separate booth room along with a separate entry foyer. The hidden garden is so vey nice and such a break from normal hotels. It is also very well located near everything important inFlorence.
Should have booked in for a week - will do next time.
In summary very much more than we expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Searene10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    389
    114
    52
    42
See reviews for
244
545
70
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

From the antiques & artwork to the charming & gracious reception staff, we had no disappointments. Location is great & within walking distance of the main cultural attractions. Several very fine restaurants within a couple of blocks, the Cantina just a block down on the same street was wonderful. We really enjoyed the nice breakfast & drinks in the garden after a day of sightseeing. Loved the bartender & his friendly jokes! We stayed in 4 star hotels in 4 cities & the Monna Lisa was by far our favorite! The lobby entrance is a wow and the satirical depictions of Mona Lisa were very amusing. Our room was very comfortable with nice linens, bathroom & a small balcony overlooking the garden. Felt like we were living in a villa in the middle of Florence. No complaints at all except that we had to leave!

Room Tip: The garden view was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kytraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurentides, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I generally do no look forward to staying away from home, but staying at Monnalisa felt like the exception. When you enter from one of the charming little streets of Florence you feel like going to a private palace. The vibe is one of a real Italian patrician residence. Staff is in line with the quality you would expect in such a classy location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincenzo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for a vacation holiday. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. Tucked away in one of the main streets in the heart of Florence. You feel like you are in a Tuscan Villa walking distance from all the main attractions. Duomo was a 3 block walk. The staff was extremely friendly and gave us a free upgrade without asking for one. Buffet breakfast was included in our stay. Great price, great location. Check out Giostra Restaurant which is just down the street for an AMAZING meal.

Room Tip: Request one of the balcony rooms with a view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A secret refuge in the heart of Florence this hotel is charming with some quaint attractions and very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Two Trattorias close by the hotel served fantastic local cuisine, together with a superb restaurant located in the same street as the hotel.
A great place to stay to explore this fascinating city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel looked so lovely on the website and it was just as beautiful as it seemed. The staff was excellent. Breakfast was great and we had drinks most evenings before dinner on the outside patio, waited a charming and smusing bartender. All the major attractions were well within walking distance and the front desks was very helpful with reservations for the museums or dinner. We would highly recommend this hotel and I sure hope to go back some day.

Room Tip: We opted for the superior room with a balcony and were glad we did. It was nice to sit out after com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel with three friends on a girls weekend. The hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff were friendly, rooms were clean, showers hot and powerful, breakfast more then adequate and the position was perfect for us. A five minute walk to the Duomo and Florence at our feet. We walked from the station with our suitcases, very easy to find, Florence is so small everywhere is close by. My new favourite place. You will love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#53 of 412 in Florence
2,211 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
795 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#119 of 412 in Florence
935 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 412 in Florence
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Property: Hotel Monna Lisa
Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#64 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing