We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #87 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at this Hotel for eights nights and every day was enjoyable, the Staff were attentive and nothing was too much bother, the Barman was one the great characters that also made our stay so great. The rooms though on the small size, were adequate and very clean. Nothing but good things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSLAVIA16, Direttore at Hotel Monna Lisa, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for publishing your positive review!

We appreciate your kind comments, and are delighted to read that you have only good thoughts about us.

We hope to welcome you back soon and until then, we send you our best regards from Florence. 

Hotel Monna Lisa****

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    387
    114
    52
    42
See reviews for
241
538
69
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The staff were extremely helpful and booked some tours for us during our stay, our room was gorgeous and very clean. Breakfast was very poor . There is no wifi in the hotel and in the rooms. It is 15€ for 24 hour wifi in bedrooms. The bar was non existent . It's almost a very good hotel

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katchfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSLAVIA16, Direttore at Hotel Monna Lisa, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Google Translation
Cher client merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire

Bons clients comme vous sont toujours les bienvenus

A bientôt

Cordialement,

Hotel Monna Lisa****

Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was full of character and quirkiness - lots of interesting artefacts. The garden was lovely, we were able to sit outside for drinks & snacks. The barman was fantastic, couldn't do enough for you and had a great sense of humour. Bedroom was very comfortable, if a little dark and the bathroom could do with updating.

Very convenient location, 5-10 minutes walk from the main sites. Breakfast was good. Would highly recommend if you like something a little different.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSLAVIA16, Direttore at Hotel Monna Lisa, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
''Grazie'' for the wonderful words you spent about the Monna Lisa Hotel and, me and all the Staff and especially the Barman have a wider smile now!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Florence.

With my best regards,

Hotel Monna Lisa****

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay in Florence at this hotel with my mum and would really recommend it. The staff are charming and helpful, the room comfortable and the small bar inviting and friendly. The hotel is perfectly positioned about a 5 minute walk from the Duomo and with good restaurants a short walk away - I particularly recommend La Giostra for a special treat. A converted convent with a pretty courtyard, the Monna Lisa is not the place to stay if you want über modern, glitzy decor but what you do get is a real experience of Florence with friendly staff and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahFlo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

In this hotel I liked very much the common areas (very warm and elegants) the room (even if in the first one I had heater was not working) and the general atmosphere. About the staff professional people but for my idea of accomodation, too much "cold". The breakfast is in a great location, not too many things to eat but pastries are really delicious. But what I will never forget about this hotel is the barman in charge also for room service : positive, smiling and proactive person that after an hard day of work can let you smiling with his professional and warm way to propose what to drink and what to eat.

Room Tip: wifi is free in all common areas and to be paid in other rooms. In room 27 you get free wifi in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresabattista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Off the busy street but convenient for walking to restaurants, transportation and sites.
Room was up to date even though you are staying in an old palace. Comfortable setting and very helpful staff. Really felt like I experienced Florence in a way that I would not have if I had stayed in a larger "Americanized" hotel. Lovely place, Good breakfast and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmart14016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great hotel set in a quiet but perfect location to explore Florence. We found all the staff very welcoming and friendly. We noticed the mosquito sign but never had a problem with any of these - perhaps it's worse in the summer. Great breakfast, beautiful clean decor and fun staff, especially the bar man. Could have done with a bath to soak in after lots of walking but a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cap52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#55 of 411 in Florence
2,156 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#122 of 411 in Florence
923 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 411 in Florence
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#68 of 411 in Florence
1,602 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Property: Hotel Monna Lisa
Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#64 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing