We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place shame about the staff”
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #89 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place shame about the staff”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at eh Hotel Monna Lisa in Florence for 3 nights recently as part of a 2 week Italian holiday. As far as location; it was good, 10 -15 minutes walk took us to most of the city sights. As far as accommodation, the building is old and quaint, the rooms are quirky and fun, but a bit on the small side. The breakfast was included, continental but very good. The breakfast staff were excellent; pleasant, helpful, smiling faces. The hotel staff, on the down side were poor. Not helpful, not happy to be there and not excited that you were there. Every encounter felt like you were a bother. Every question was answered in the briefest and least helpful way. Maybe it's just the local culture but we were very disappointed and would not recommend this facility.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the rooms on the left hand side of the building looking from the street. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrGandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    385
    114
    52
    42
See reviews for
237
535
68
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our family of four recently spent three nights at the Hotel Monna Lisa. The location is fabulous, a short walk from the major tourist sites, and conveniently located near several great restaurants. The hotel staff spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful with making restaurant reservations, etc. The continental buffet breakfast offered an extensive variety of foods including bread, cheese, eggs, meats, cereal, yogurt, fruit and pastries so there was something for everyone. My only compliant was the lack of free Wi-Fi access in the rooms. They do offer free Wi-Fi in the common areas, but we found the setup to be inconvenient and the service spotty. However, I'd still recommend this hotel as the pros outweigh the cons.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kharrell545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Our agent booked this hotel for us after showing us photos months ago. When I just looked at the site again, I can't believe it's the same place. Lovely staff, nice location, interesting common areas, 500 years old but I'm pretty sure we got the chambermaids room. Disappointed since we spent a lot of money to stay here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Skielyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recently spent six days at the Monna Lisa Hotel; it was absolutely wonderful! The staff is excellent, especially Regina at the front desk and Vincenzo the hotel's barman. It is clean, quiet, elegant and the morning breakfasts are fabulous. I am planning to return to Florence in the future and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Pros:
- One of the most stunning palaces to become a hotel. Frescos, great artwork, beautiful garden and full of character.
- Bathroom amenities include shampoo, soap, shower gel, hairdryer, tissues (also in useful little travel packs) and earbuds.
- Fast same-day laundry/dry cleaning service (shirts €5, underwear/socks €1.50).
- Great location. All the main sites are generally within 10mins walk.
- Nice buffet breakfast in beautiful dining room (continental only, no hot foods).

Cons:
- No in-room internet (even though it's advertised).
- Mosquito problem. Woke up with new bites every day. They could easily install fly screens in the windows.
- No power points in the bathroom.
- You are made to leave your key at reception every time you leave the hotel. Staff enter your room even with the ‘do not disturb’ sign on the door and there is no in-room safe.
- Had no hot water in shower for two days.

Room Tip: Some rooms are only accessible with two flights of stairs and others have their doors literally in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 52_hotels_in_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

this small hotel is almost family run in style.The palazzo where the hoyel is located is well preserved and rooms are in the old palazzo or in 2 newer buildings in the garden (very pleasant and full of flowers),The rooms are definetly large for Florence standards and very clean .Furniture is traditional Italian well cared for. Staff is very helpful and the atmosphere at the hotel is true Italian..as true as your imagination can dream of. You feel like you are in the set of "Roman holidays"..but if course you are in Florence. Breakfast is good and common areas are exqusitely decorated .The garden is a beauty!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odyssey_MILANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A large bed, but no information in room. Generally clean and well kept, very close to Duomo (about 2 minute walk). Breakfast very plentiful and service was good most mornings. We stayed because we got a deal, wouldn't have wanted to pay full price!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbs_wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 422 in Florence
1,493 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#56 of 422 in Florence
2,105 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#119 of 422 in Florence
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#98 of 422 in Florence
705 reviews
Duomo
Firenze Suite
Firenze Suite
#79 of 422 in Florence
277 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#64 of 422 in Florence
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Property: Hotel Monna Lisa
Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#64 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing