We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice people, nice place, nice breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #80 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice people, nice place, nice breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Grrrrrreeeeaaaaaaaaaat!!!!!!!! Try it you will like the place/palace. And come back again and again and again and again and again and then one more time. In the center center. Tripadvisor wants me 2 write at least 200 charcters so i sm writing writing writing

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    371
    107
    51
    41
See reviews for
228
512
67
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at Hotel Monna Lisa for two nights in March. Had a double room with a small bathroom window overlooking the garden courtyard. Room was fairly small, but adequate size for two people. Hotel had running hot water, decent size shower, nice European continental breakfast with friendly staff (especially Priyan the waiter-who was very helpful with our travel questions!) nice bar area, beautiful Italian courtyard with walking path, and quiet! Hotel is clean, has lots of interesting antique furniture and statues to look at, is within easy walking distance to the Duomo and other central sites in Florence. The mattress wasn't as comfortable as I would have liked, but other than that, I liked the hotel and would stay here again, but in a larger suite!
.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view room for quiet, or a large suite for the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the Monna Lisa for a week May 2014.
A bit dated but full of character. The garden was like a little oasis in the middle of Florence and all the staff were friendly and helpful. All of the main attractions were within 15 minutes walk and decent places to eat were even closer. Irish pub serving very good Guiness was five minutes away.
Only reason they did not get a five star rating is that after a week the breakfast was getting monotonous, no variation for the whole week. For a shorter stay however I would recommend the Hotel.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is ideal and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crawford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond hill
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Good value. Poor that wi fi not throughout hotel for guests for free. Rooms a bit dated. Staff friendly. Breakfast ok. If you plan to tour mainly and spend very little time here it's good. A million Mosquitos. Don't leave window open

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gattisdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in early May. The first room they gave us was #28 which was a small room that faced the street. It was so noisy that we didn't get sleep for two nights and that was with earplugs. We finally asked to move rooms (we should have done it after the first night but didn't) and they gave us an upgrade to a newer part of the hotel which was much quieter, room 48. The first room was small which was fine but the door lock was so old it was very difficult to get it to catch and the bathroom taps desperately needed repair. Our new room was bigger and seemed in better repair.

The front desk staff were hit and miss. For what it's worth we checked in at 3 pm and the same front desk clerk was there when we went to bed that night and was still working at 11 the next morning, she confirmed she had been there all night. However, when we checked in, she told us very little about the hotel and failed to mention there was free wi-fi in the common areas. Some other front desk staff were very helpful and we were very appreciative of the new room. I agree with other reviewers that the bartender was great and he also worked many late nights and early mornings.

The location of the hotel is great, very close to the Dumo and most of the attractions. The courtyard in the middle of the hotel is great but I agree it seems silly to not allow you to bring your own drinks into the courtyard when they fail to serve you themselves.

Not sure if we would stay again, if it weren't for the first two horrible nights I might be less critical as our second two nights were much better. The hotel is old and that's part of its charm but I think some of the rooms need updating and they should not be renting out those rooms facing the street without better soundproofing. I don't know how anyone could sleep through that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Large rooms, cozy old style atmosphere and beautiful balconies facing a mediterranean garden...
Breakfast was adequate, staff in dining area could be friendlier. However reception ladies were wonderful and went out of their way to assist.
Point to improve: the carpets in the corridors and rooms are dust catchers, worn n slippery, watched other people stumble and slipped myself on one.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jai8_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

excellent location within walking distance to all main attractions. The room (priority with spa) was beautiful, clean and spacious. The staff were efficiet, eager to help and pleasent. All questions and requests were answered. Lovely breakfast and beautifull settings all around. The garden is stunning, what a pleasure to sit in. excellent return for its price. Highly recomended, Behira Shlomo, Israel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Behira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Firenze Suite
Firenze Suite
#85 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#164 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#117 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#66 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Property: Hotel Monna Lisa
Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#63 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing