We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable staying in this fantastic place.”
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #87 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
La Manga del Mar Menor, Spain
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unforgettable staying in this fantastic place.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The room on the 1st floor was big and very comfortable. Service is good. There are many ancient things in the garden and lobby. The garden is big and green with olive tree. One step to city center. Unforgettable staying in this fantastic place.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and all of them are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Анна В
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    384
    113
    52
    42
See reviews for
235
531
68
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here 11 years ago and it was awesome so I booked a 3 night stay for my wife and I as we celebrated our retirements with a multiple city tour of Italy. When we checked in, the first thing we noticed was a large note on the desk discussing the infestation of mosquitoes and we were advised to plug in this repellant into the electric outlet. We did this. When we came back to the room for the night, these mosquitoes were all on the ceiling which we then proceeded to eliminate by swatting them with towels. Unfortunately, we did not get them all and I was bitten that night. We complained at the front desk each morning regarding these pests and nothing could be done, so they said. My wife suggested burning citronella torches in the garden to help but they just looked at her with a puzzled expression. For three days we suffered, complained and eliminated more mosquitoes, suffered more bites and even managed to catch one in the act of biting me and smacked it, took a photo and showed it to the front desk upon checkout and asked for some type of compensation for our very bad experience but to no avail, the manager was not available after a long conversation in Italian over the phone between the manager and the desk clerk. I guess they did not realize that I could understand Italian! Basically,, they planned to stall me because they knew my cab to the train station was on it's way. So, will I ever go back or recommend this hotel? You figure it out! Thanks for reading this.

Room Tip: None unless you like mosquitoes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Returning after a 12 year break we found the Monna Lisa as lovely as we remembered it. Right in the centre of Florence a mere 2 minute stroll form the Duomo it is a charming and quirky hotel. Arriving at the imposing huge carved wooden doors just off a narrow cobbled street you'd be forgiven for thinking it didn't look much! However the doors open onto a cool tiled hall and then into the reception. The main part of the hotel is very old and full of character but we stayed in one of the annexes across the courtyard. The courtyard is beautiful and you can eat breakfast here or just sit in the sun in the gardens. Our room was clean and comfy, air conditioned and had everything we needed - apart from tea and coffee which isn't available for health and safety reasons?! There is even an old Vespa scooter in the entrance! Breakfast is fine - not much choice but the basics are there. We will be back - again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v0dkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our family stayed at Hotel Monna Lisa for 4 nights in January. We were impressed with the old historical residence itself and all it's artwork - the paintings, the furnishings and the statues were beautiful, as was the dining area leading out into the garden. Our room was large with a double-height ceiling and fireplace plus two french doors leading out onto a balcony overlooking the garden and the terracota roofs with their smoke stacks. Lovely vista, even in winter-time! The children's triple room was huge with a high ceiling and a jetted tub. Comfortable beds with high-quality linen in both the bedrooms. Good selection of bathroom goodies, and a comfortable amount of space, except in our bathroom which was absolutely tiny like an airline toilet...well almost.
The hotel's location on Borgo Pinti in the heart of Florence was absolutely perfect, just a short walk to the inspirational Piazza Duomo, the Bell Tower and the gates of Paradise in one direction, and the Palazzo Vecchio, Piazza della Signoria and the Uffizi gallery in another. Even in the cold wintry weather we were able to use the hotel as our starting point each morning to walk Florence flat and return each evening to find a 'tripadvisor' recommended Italian restaurant nearby for dinner. Also some lovely gellato shops in the vicinity, plus an Irish pub just around the corner.
The only real negatives to the Hotel Monna Lisa were:
- it's lack of warmth or hospitality from most of the staff (there was the odd exception). When you've travelled half-way around the world to an unfamiliar city, a bit of warmth and a smile goes a long way.
- monotonous breakfasts. Good capucinnos, however the baked goods were only average, with a very limited selection and no variety. It was exactly the same breakfast 4 days in a row. Really disappointing and boring. This did not inspire us with enough confidence to ever eat lunch or dinner in the hotel.
- lack of free WIFI in the rooms (you had to sit in a common area to use the WIFI, which is not always convenient in the evenings or early mornings when you're researching places to visit)
These aspects were disappointing, and a real missed opportunity for the hotel to round off the Florence hotel experience. It's not enough to have a great location and a historic building, a hotel really needs to value it's guests as well, and we definitely got the feeling that they didn't.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadAboutSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had another lovely stay at the Monna Lisa in Florence. The staff at the desk could not have been more congenial and helpful. We have been staying at this hotel since 1984 and would not stay anywhere else in Florence. Our room was spotless, extremely comfortable and quiet. It faced the garden which gave us a beautiful view. For those who are thinking about staying there, it is within walking distance of everything there is to do in Florence. It's truly a perfect hotel! When we arrived, a bottle of prosecco was iced down in our room. Thank you to the staff of the Monna Lisa for another great stay. We've already make our reservations for next year in February.

Room Tip: A room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewOrleansFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Monna Lisa while we were in Florence on our honeymoon. The property is quite lovely. There are several buildings that are interconnected with a common courtyard, all of which are accessible by all of the guests. Our room was very comfortable, large enough for 2 people, including the bathroom. The bed wasn't as comfortable as our bed at home, but overall, it was fine. The air conditioning was very powerful, which was helpful for how warm it was. The one complaint was that the shower curtain area was very narrow and, as a result, clung to me while I showered. The wi-fi is a bit complicated, and slow in some areas, but is free in the common areas. As long as you're not trying to Skype to everyone back home, you should be fine.

Our favorite aspect was the hotel bar, which resembled an Old West brothel saloon, but in a good way. The bartender, Vincenze, seemed vaguely Russian, but was a native Italian, apparently. He was quite the cut up, entertaining all of the guests in English, pretending to charge drinks to each other's rooms etc. He was also a wonderful resource for nearby restaurants and attractions. We went back after dinner one night just to see what other crazy things he was up for telling us. Very fun!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Good location however was not advise about the mosquito problem until we got to the room.
Room 15 bad odor and a good experience. Value for money was okay however the hotel was close to tourist areas and was very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DM272014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Firenze Suite
Firenze Suite
#81 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#69 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#175 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#116 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#71 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Property: Hotel Monna Lisa
Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#63 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing