We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #84 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
columbanus
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely hotel, great location”
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I spent two very nice nights at the Monna Lisa. It's in a beautiful central location on a quiet street and with an interior garden. Room and breakfast were very good.

The staff were helpful if not exactly friendly but this seemed to be the case in all our hotels on our trip to Italy. Is this usual as Italians are by and large extremely friendly?

Anyway, I would definitely recommend the Monna Lisa.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank columbanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    389
    114
    52
    42
See reviews for
244
545
70
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2010

My wife and I were making our second honeymoon stop in Florence, coming from Venice. We were probably a little bias on our first impressions of the Hotel Monna Lisa since we just left the plush confines of AD Place in Venice where they were all over us with their service. Both, the rooms and service were very modest compared to what we left in Venice so with that said, those first impressions were a little unfair. The hotel grew on us quickly. We were befriended by Loretta at the front desk and she was great with her food/travel recommendations. The location was absolutely amazing. You could truly walk almost anywhere in Florence from this spot and once your worn out simply call the front and a taxi will await you within 5 minutes. We ordered several cappuccinos during our stay and they were all amazing. The rooms had character, but were quite dated. The room had a nice sized tub and a few english channels on the tube, which was nice. The courtyard in attached to the property was real pretty. The bummer here was that you had to pay for internet access. Overall, great deal for the money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Monna Lisa. We were in Venice just before & although we were very pleased with our hotel & room etc there, when we walked into the Monna Lisa it really had the 'Wow' factor. We had a Superior Twin room, which was really quite large & beautifully decorated to a high standard. We also had a jacuzzi bath, which was very welcome after a day of walking & sightseeing. The only setback was that our room was extremely warm & apparently there is no air conditioning in the hotel. The reception were very helpful & provided us with a fan & turned the heating off in our room. The weather was actually a bit changeable outside & we had to put our clothes on just before leaving the room. Our room wasn't part of the main hotel, it was across the garden & in another block. So we assumed not all the rooms were the same, as reception said that other guests had asked for the heating to be put on. Overall we thought that the hotel was gorgeous & we had a fabulous time in Florence. We also saw Jan Leeming at breakfast a couple of times, so we know we were in good company. As for sights, we would highly recommend not only the Cathederal Santa Maria Del Fiore, but if you're fit enough & don't mind heights - walk up the 400 plus steps to get a closer look at the magnificent painted ceiling of the dome, then go right to the top & see the wonderful view over Florence. We also stumbled into the church Annunziata which was absolutely beautiful & worth a look if you've got time to spare.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

I will tell everyone to stay here, totally beutiful and comfortable. And delicious continental breakfast. First of all, we got a pretty good deal on our room. The prices were high when we first looked at it but went down a few weeks later when we actually booked it. We stayed here for four nights of our Italian honeymoon and it was our favorite place. It is in a great location, easy to find from wherever you are in town. We were upgraded to a Superior room overlooking the courtyard upstairs. They had a bottle of champagne chilled for us when we checked in. It was spacious and comfortable with a jacuzzi tub. The shower curtain was permeable so we ended up getting water all over the floor with each shower, but we figured out how to make it not so bad. We had mosquitos come in when our patio doors were open and came home with a few bites, but it seems unavoidable in Florence. It is the price you pay for the BEAUTIFUL gardens. Each day we came back from sightseeing and walking to sit on the patio and enjoy the gardens with a glass of wine or cocktail. The bar opens at 5 but the guy isn't always standing there, you have to ring a button or ask the front desk to get him. Once he is there he is attentive and helpful. And has anyone mentioned that the mini bar is free?! Free bottled waters, soda and beer. My only complaint is that there isn't any real room service (just sandwiches) since they don't have a restaurant and the front desk recommended tours that were horrible and they took a portion of the fee. Stick with trip advisor when deciding on tours.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewlywedTrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed here on our first wedding anniversary, on my first ever trip to Florence on the advice of my wife who had stayed here many years ago.
We plumped for a balcony room over looking the gardens, that had a nice jacuzzi bath, perfect for a romantic break.
The hotel really is a find, everything is so authentice (maybe with the exception of the various adapted Mona Lisa prints around - especially liked the Frank Zappa one! - you have to go to see what I mean.) The courtyard entrance, the thick carpets and heavy drapes, filled with antique furniture and a maze like array of reception rooms and guest rooms all adds to the calm tranquility of the place. I adored the hotel and it brought back wonderful memories for my wife, when she used to live in Florence. The small touches such as various strategically placed umbrelle stands (with umbrellas) around the entry doors to the gardens and various locations leading to the outdoors, ably demonstrate that guests will be looked after. Breakfast was delicious in a beautiful open and airy room looking over the gardens, and staff were very helpful and considerate, we will definately come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethesda, maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Previous reviews tipped us off to this wonderful hotel. It is between the back of the duomo and Sta. Croce. Entering the hotel is overwhelming, when you see the beautiful public rooms, the spectacular, spectacular garden. The breakfast room is beyond gorgeous, and the breakfast itself ain't bad, either. In fact, the breakfast is sensational. Cannot go wrong here. A previous review mentions the mosquitoes. While it was surprising to see one or two, the thingamajig that they give you to plug into a socket does the trick.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Our first trip to Europe, we stayed here for 5 days. It was a wonderful experience!!! If we return, we will stay here again, and again.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#53 of 412 in Florence
2,211 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
795 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#119 of 412 in Florence
935 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 412 in Florence
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Property: Hotel Monna Lisa
Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#64 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing