We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel in a beautiful, old building” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #81 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in a beautiful, old building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

This was my fourth stay at the Monna Lisa and enjoyed it every bit as much as the previous three.

As other reviewers have stated, the hotel is accommodated in a building which dates back centuries, the public rooms are furnished beautifully and in keeping with such an old building. Guest rooms vary greatly in size, the room I stayed in this time, which overlooked the tiny internal courtyard, was quite small and tired but more than adequate and I know that there are much larger rooms available.

I have stayed in both the old and the newer building and prefer the character of the old, although I can understand how some people might prefer the new - I just love the atmosphere of the old building with its antiques and paintings. There are various seating areas in which to relax and the garden is a tranquil oasis in a busy though incredibly beautiful city.

Breakfast is the typical continental buffet with plenty of choice. I have always found the staff to be kind and helpful - special thanks to Loretta on reception and Maria in the breakfast room and bar.

If you need modern interiors with lots of chrome and glitz, then maybe this hotel is not for you - I would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys staying in an old building oozing with atmosphere,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    371
    107
    51
    41
See reviews for
228
512
67
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

A big hotel that feels intimate. It's in a very old and charming building, but has all the modern amenities. We loved the garden where you can relax in the evening or have breakfast in the morning. Lots of tables, chairs benches-very nice. The breakfast room opens up to it. There are lounges with comfy chairs scattered around the hotel too.
We reserved a classic double but upgraded to a deluxe (next step up) and that worked out better-better A/C, more room. We asked for the upgrade upon seeing our room (too small for us) and were told we should ask next morning, but when the manager came in, I asked him and he moved us right away. We did not have the best luck with the restaurants they recommended, however. Try La Giostra (we found it ourselves) down the street on Borga Pinta.
The staff ranged from really nice and helpful to kind of slightly grumpy ( just one person), but overall really pleasant and helpful.
If you stay at this hotel, I think you'll love it. We'd go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 510bunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

We should have taken the Hotel's (website) advise to take a Taxi, but we walked from the train station with luggage which was a little tough but once we reached inside the Hotel and saw the room we were quite surprised! The Hotel staff was very helpful and for the first and only time in Italy ( we stayed in Rome, Sorrento and Venice also) - cheerful to help us out! Christina at the front dest deserves a special compliment!
The Restaurant "Cantina Della Giostra" rated as the best place to eat in Italy was steps away on the same road as the Hotel - we had a great meal there!
The location was great - just a stone's throw from the Duomo and Ufuzzi galery. The Accedemia was also very close by. The pictures of Mona Lisa in the Hotel living room were funny esp the one "Mona Lisa before and after her visit to USA"
Roomes were very quite, spacious and had an old charm to them
Breakfast was decent. Overall a Very Good place to stay and good value for money

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deepakmalik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

You feel more like you are in a B&B. Our room was right off the lobby (no hallway) with double doors, one an ancient-looking heavy wooden door. Rooms are pretty much all over the hotel, as you travel from one public space to another. Beautiful garden, plentiful breakfast (included), helpful folks at the front desk, small, comfy bar.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katesjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We spent four nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. It was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. Would be happy to stay there again.
Linda & Phillip,
Dallas, Texas

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmg09013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbanus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

I spent two very nice nights at the Monna Lisa. It's in a beautiful central location on a quiet street and with an interior garden. Room and breakfast were very good.

The staff were helpful if not exactly friendly but this seemed to be the case in all our hotels on our trip to Italy. Is this usual as Italians are by and large extremely friendly?

Anyway, I would definitely recommend the Monna Lisa.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank columbanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

My wife and I were making our second honeymoon stop in Florence, coming from Venice. We were probably a little bias on our first impressions of the Hotel Monna Lisa since we just left the plush confines of AD Place in Venice where they were all over us with their service. Both, the rooms and service were very modest compared to what we left in Venice so with that said, those first impressions were a little unfair. The hotel grew on us quickly. We were befriended by Loretta at the front desk and she was great with her food/travel recommendations. The location was absolutely amazing. You could truly walk almost anywhere in Florence from this spot and once your worn out simply call the front and a taxi will await you within 5 minutes. We ordered several cappuccinos during our stay and they were all amazing. The rooms had character, but were quite dated. The room had a nice sized tub and a few english channels on the tube, which was nice. The courtyard in attached to the property was real pretty. The bummer here was that you had to pay for internet access. Overall, great deal for the money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Firenze Suite
Firenze Suite
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#159 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#117 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#66 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Property: Hotel Monna Lisa
Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#63 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing