We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, themed hotel offers great value in service and comfort.”
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #86 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We found the staff helpful and friendly. The rooms topped what we expected based on what we paid. The theme makes this a fun hotel, and the location makes it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill_the_TAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at this Hotel in mid-July. We hadn't checked this site before going but wish we had. Like many others who have written reviews, we also had a bad time with the front desk. True it was just one person but she's there alot and can make things very uncomfortable. We complained to the manager and he tried to fix things up, but the bad taste never left us and we can't imagine why a service establishment would put up with persons who do nothing but generate complaints. We did get several reservation suggestions for each of our nights. Only one was really worth it, La Mamera (spelling?) over by St. Croce, but the rest were just to restaurants overwhelmed with fellow tourists resulting in many ersatz Italian dishes. The hotel location as noted is pretty good but watch out for the directions they give you on how to get there. They are wrong when it comes to the turn at the San Niccolo Bridge..

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TMD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSLAVIA16, Direttore at Hotel Monna Lisa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2010

We deeply apologize for the inconvenience you had with the front desk clerk and the feeling of uncomfortable stay that never left you. The person you mention in your review is no more working with us, her job was just a temporary employ to substitute part of our reception staff on vacation during summer. We are very sorry for your bad experience and it is true when you say that she was only able to generate complaints. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again at the Monna Lisa in order to have the opportunity to provide you our best service and care as we are used to do with our valued guests since long time (same family owning and managing the hotel since 1956!). Please accept our apologize. Concerning directions to get to the hotel by car, we wish to point out that from our official web site it is possible to download the city map with the right driving instructions to safely arrive to our back entrance. Another solution is to phone us and we will be very pleased to assist our guests over the phone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I have to admit, the decor and furnishings of Hotel Monna Lisa were wonderful, but the shine soon wore thin when dealing with such unfriendly staff. I have done a lot of travelling and hotel Monna Lisa is one of few places where I felt uncomfortable approaching the reception desk or asking a (female) staff member for help.

Note to the money conscious traveller: internet access at the hotel is an exorbitant 10 euro per hour. Also, we hadn’t touched the mini-bar but were charged for consuming something from it. We asked what it the item was but she could not tell us, instead she sighed loudly and looked at us as if we had stolen the painting of the Mona Lisa ourselves! I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosanne_618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The hotel was stunning, just amazing. However, some of the female staff were either rude or unhelpful, or both. We had previously spent a week in Rome & it was all anybody could wish for. We then went onto Venice where both the hotel & staff were most pleasant. A smile rather than a sigh or grunt, & a helpful attitude would have made this a truly great place to stay. Unfortunately, aesthetics alone are not enough. I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank fethard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

A unique hotel that will give guests more than just a room to stay in. How many other hotels have you stayed at have kept up a history that dates back to the 15th century? The main floor has several open rooms that are filled with old pieces, statues, sculptures and paintings that are wonderful to browse (its like a museum experience). Read the hotel brochure for their history. There is also has a room with artists' variations of the famous Mona Lisa painting which are quite funny.

Our room was in the building on the other side of the gardens so I suppose we were on the modern side but it was still charming. The bathroom, small but new, had lovely guest toiletries (body wash, shampoo that were in bigger sizes that most hotels give you). The breakfast was quite plentiful and it was lovely to sit in the garden terrace in the morning.

We found the staff quite helpful in giving directions and booking our tours and museum reservations. I found throughout Italy most hotel desk staff to be very professional, so perhaps that's why they seem a little stiff to deal with. The location is close to the Duomo and so walking about was quite easy. The rate we paid here was almost the lowest of all the hotels we stayed at in Italy which were 3 stars, so the Hotel Monna Lisa was a very enjoyable stay for a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edmontonian2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

What a delight! Wonderful rooms, breakfast, garden. I HIGHLY recommend this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyinweighting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The Monna Lisa is definitely in a great location - close to the various museums, restaurants, etc., and is a very authentic hotel - we had two rooms and one of them had a completely ridiculous bathtub which a shower head that came to your waist. You couldn't detach it so the only way to take a shower was to stand on your knees - unfortunately the five of us wound up not using that and sharing the shower in the other room. There was also no shower curtain around the tub ?? Not sure if that shower was meant for really small people, but definitely made it a bit difficult. We didn't even bother to mention it to the staff because we found out pretty quick upon arrival that unlike the other hotels that we'd stayed at in Sorrento, Rome and Venice, the front staff were VERY unfriendly. I can't stress this enough. Every single day of our 4 night stay - it was almost uncomfortable walking in and out because unlike the other hotels, were the front desk staff would happily greet us, these people would just stare at you - strange. Maybe they were all having a bad week. Breakfast was okay. Not a bad place to stay, but don't expect a lot.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shell27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Firenze Suite
Firenze Suite
#57 of 410 in Florence
307 reviews
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#82 of 410 in Florence
1,874 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#58 of 410 in Florence
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#60 of 410 in Florence
2,389 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#174 of 410 in Florence
471 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#139 of 410 in Florence
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#64 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £77 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing