We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but very unfriendly staff!”
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #87 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Tucker, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel but very unfriendly staff!”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I agree with several of the other reviews about the Monna Lisa. The rooms are nice, the breakfast was good (not the best we had), the location was great for us, but the staff was unpleasant and acted put upon when asked a question. I would not want to stay here again for that reason. The price for internet excessive!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crewsin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    384
    113
    52
    42
See reviews for
235
531
68
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Istayed here in august 2010, great location. The advice on their site to take a taxi from the train station was very important. The place is like a museum with rooms of wonderful art and a pretty garden, wonderful breakfast and atmosphere, very convenient, make sure to see the synagogue and market which are fairly close by. This hotel is a treasure/

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This charming little hotel, with a courtyard garden, in the centre of Florence, is a treasure to discover. Off a little narrow street you will step into your very own museum: from the fabulous fresco ceiling at the foyer to the quaint sitting rooms dotted everywhere - go up the main stairway too.
Our rooms faced the gardens, as requested. We awoke to birdsong after a quiet night - absolutely no traffic noise on any of our five nights.
We found the staff friendly and helpful (except one already mentioned). They booked an open toped bus tour - get off at Michelangelo Park for lunch with a view; a tour of Siena and San Gimignano - well worth a full day and an opera in Teatro Auditorium Al Duoma - amateurish. We had prebooked on line to see the Accademia and fabulour Uffizi Galleries.
Nearby restaurants are La Giostra on same street as hotel (need to reserve) and the new bright Gastrone (5 mins away).
Monna Lisa is in a brilliant location within walking distance of most of the attractions. If you prefer modern and minimalist then this old world charm hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We found the staff helpful and friendly. The rooms topped what we expected based on what we paid. The theme makes this a fun hotel, and the location makes it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_the_TAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at this Hotel in mid-July. We hadn't checked this site before going but wish we had. Like many others who have written reviews, we also had a bad time with the front desk. True it was just one person but she's there alot and can make things very uncomfortable. We complained to the manager and he tried to fix things up, but the bad taste never left us and we can't imagine why a service establishment would put up with persons who do nothing but generate complaints. We did get several reservation suggestions for each of our nights. Only one was really worth it, La Mamera (spelling?) over by St. Croce, but the rest were just to restaurants overwhelmed with fellow tourists resulting in many ersatz Italian dishes. The hotel location as noted is pretty good but watch out for the directions they give you on how to get there. They are wrong when it comes to the turn at the San Niccolo Bridge..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSLAVIA16, Direttore at Hotel Monna Lisa, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
We deeply apologize for the inconvenience you had with the front desk clerk and the feeling of uncomfortable stay that never left you. The person you mention in your review is no more working with us, her job was just a temporary employ to substitute part of our reception staff on vacation during summer. We are very sorry for your bad experience and it is true when you say that she was only able to generate complaints. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again at the Monna Lisa in order to have the opportunity to provide you our best service and care as we are used to do with our valued guests since long time (same family owning and managing the hotel since 1956!). Please accept our apologize. Concerning directions to get to the hotel by car, we wish to point out that from our official web site it is possible to download the city map with the right driving instructions to safely arrive to our back entrance. Another solution is to phone us and we will be very pleased to assist our guests over the phone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I have to admit, the decor and furnishings of Hotel Monna Lisa were wonderful, but the shine soon wore thin when dealing with such unfriendly staff. I have done a lot of travelling and hotel Monna Lisa is one of few places where I felt uncomfortable approaching the reception desk or asking a (female) staff member for help.

Note to the money conscious traveller: internet access at the hotel is an exorbitant 10 euro per hour. Also, we hadn’t touched the mini-bar but were charged for consuming something from it. We asked what it the item was but she could not tell us, instead she sighed loudly and looked at us as if we had stolen the painting of the Mona Lisa ourselves! I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosanne_618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The hotel was stunning, just amazing. However, some of the female staff were either rude or unhelpful, or both. We had previously spent a week in Rome & it was all anybody could wish for. We then went onto Venice where both the hotel & staff were most pleasant. A smile rather than a sigh or grunt, & a helpful attitude would have made this a truly great place to stay. Unfortunately, aesthetics alone are not enough. I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank fethard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Firenze Suite
Firenze Suite
#81 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#69 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#175 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#116 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#71 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Property: Hotel Monna Lisa
Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#63 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing