We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Goldoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Goldoni
Ranked #221 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here in early October. As we usually risk booking our own very modest accommodation ourselves we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The location was superb and the room was more than adequate for our needs. We loved the quirkiness of the entrance way and the character filled rickety lift from a bygone era. Our room seemed to have the only french doors and terrace in the hotel - room #27. Yes the TV was small and too low but we weren't there for that and the air conditioner didn't work on our second night which we didn't mention so don't know how the staff would have reacted. Otherwise all staff who we encountered were pleasant to deal with. We had one really wet day and decided to back to the hotel where we sat in the dining room and spent a very pleasant couple of hours. Our travelling companions, who were staying in another, more expensive hotel, had less comfort than us

Room Tip: Room 27 has a small terrace and looks out over a private garden. It is spacious and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    141
    75
    26
    43
See reviews for
90
140
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here in early September. Do not stay in room 41. Air conditioning was not working properly and the bathroom had a horrible smell. We were moved to another room after 2 days and it was much nicer and had no problems with the a.c . The woman who worked there was very pleasant but Simone was quite nasty. The hotel is in a great location close to the train and all attractions. I would never rate this a 3 star hotel basically it would rank a low 2 stars mostly because of the poor public relation skills of some of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dpen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

A very old hotel, room is spacious but amenities are meager, the tv is so tiny I probably need a binoculars to watch a program! One of the nights we even had no hot water, when it came, after about 2hrs waiting, the color was rusty brown color! The management blames it to the city government who had shut off the water supply during the day for servicing. Even after the water power returned, we had to let it ran for another hour to flush out the rusty water before we get clear water to bath and brush teeth! Overall Florence is a beautiful city and it makes up for staying in such a poor hotel. No wifi in room, only available at the reception area, very inconvenient!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank aliceq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I was in Europe twice in the last few months staying at 8 different hotels.This one had the worst for friendliness of the staff. I stayed there for 3 days and only once didI see anyone on the staff in the lobby or dining room smile. The cleaning staff was very friendly. The owner seemed to be glaring everytime I saw him. It made for a very unpleasant stay. It also had the worst breakfast out of the 8 hotels I stayed at. It wasn't a bad breakfast but the selections were limited and they wouldn't fill things back up after they consumed. If you didn't get there early, there was no yogurt and the cereal was only crumbs. The room was pleasant and the hotel had a nice location but I would never stay there again or advise any one else to either. I'm pretty easily satisfied so I am suprised as to the good reviews on this site. For this reason they get a one. There are plenty of other hotels that I am sure will appreciate your business.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

A nice hotel, reasonable price, great location rooms were clean except for mildew in the bathroom and around the window in the room. The staff could have been friendlier. Sometimes its the small things that need to be worked on such as smiles, adequate items left unfilled on the breakfast table, no coffee cups or juice glasses, or room cleaned before 3:00 pm, and a sign for the hotel cause it took a while to find the plaque on a wall to find the hotel door. Otherwise a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We last stayed at the Hotel Goldoni in the early 90's on our first visit to Florence and found it to be a nice hotel in a good location, within walking distance of all the attractions of Florence. Although 20 years have passed the hotel has not changed at all. It still looks exactly the same and still offers good value, comfortable rooms with comfortable beds and the price includes a continental breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful and made the stay enjoyable. There is free wifi available, which is good but it is only available in the breakfast room. The lift is charming but from a previous time, as it has two sets of doors that have to be closed manually before it will work and guests often forget to close them when they exit, which prevents the lift from working. This can cause problems for older people or those who are unable to use the stairs.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Goldoni Hotel warmly hosted me for my 7 days stay in Florence.
Is a great hotel with good character: nice paintings, solid wood furniture and the lift offered a very nice atmosphere of Italy of the past times, In addition friendly members of staff and hospitality made my stay pleasant ant and worthly. I am happily recommend it to all tourists.
Thank you very much for your great services!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#119 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
#160 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#242 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#153 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#147 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#192 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldoni

Property: Hotel Goldoni
Address: Via Borgognissanti 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldoni 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Goldoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing