We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close as you'll get to 5* service from a 3* hotel!”
Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berchielli
Ranked #47 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“As close as you'll get to 5* service from a 3* hotel!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here during a short break to Florence and if we ever to return to Florence I would not stay anywhere else. From the moment we arrived all of the staff did their best to ensure our stay was a great one. A lovely breakfast room and rooftop terrace enhanced our stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDave1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Mr. BigDave1958,
we are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
I will extend your compliments to all our staff.
The rooftop terrace can really offer a nice rest while having a drink or sunbathing.
We look forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager

PS: our hotel is 4*.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    496
    62
    16
    12
See reviews for
313
823
73
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have just stayed at the Berchielli for a week and it certainly lived up to its reputation. The staff were always polite and helpful. On leaving we ordered a taxi to take us to the station. In a matter of a few minutes the taxi was there and our cases already loaded by the porter - very efficient. Location couldn't be better - Ponte Vecchio 2 mins away, most other important locations no more than 10 mins. Because the hotel is on the banks of the Arno there is restricted traffic access along the front so there is no traffic noise. The lack of a restaurant isn't a problem, there are dozens of good places to eat with 5 mins of the hotel's front door. Do get a Firenze card if you are staying more than 3 days, it's definitely worth the 50 euros. Unless you want swimming pools or spas, choosing a 5-star hotel instead of the Berchielli would be a waste of money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtinneny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed for 7 nights at the wonderful Hotel Berchielli. The location is perfect for exploring the city on foot and the breakfast buffet is superb with something for everybody.

We were 3 friends travelling together and our room was extremely spacious with 2 levels and 2 bathrooms – great.

We rented a car for 3 days to do day trips and it was really difficult to get information from the staff at the reception about parking and the fine system for driving in the city. Finally when we talked to the 3rd guy we got proper information. There were always 3-4 people at the reception but it seemed that only 1 could answer questions or take care of things the rest could take/hand out room keys.
Anyway the hotel offers valet parking at a nearby garage for 27 euros per day and you only have to wait about 15 minutes from ordering your car until it arrives. A very convenient (but expensive) service.

Besides the issue with the car, we loved staying at the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MN0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear MN0975,
it was such a pleasure to read your nice comment on TripAdvisor, thank you very much!
You are giving us the chance to explain what can appear to be a strange behaviour of some of the reception staff.
Florence schools, mainly language and tourist schools, have to send their students every year for a stage. Our hotel has a very high reputation and we are happy to contribute to forming the future generation by hosting some of them for a stage.
The students have a badge mentioning the word “stage” in order to try and avoid misunderstandings with clients as, although we aim to teach them as much as possible, cannot involve them too much as they are not speaking languages good enought and besides they have no experience.
I apologise if we have been unable to make clear that theese persons are students.
We are pleased to learn that besides the car issue, you fully enjoyed yor stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you again.
Accept our best regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks in Italy and loved this hotel. Our room had a beautiful view of the Arno river and was perfect for our 5 day stay. The room was spacious with a wonderful bathroom that seemed newly remodeled. The location made getting to everything very easy and definitely within walking distance from the major sites. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was wonderful with a great selection. We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Arno River is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcjcough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

this hotel is a gem . We were updgraded to a junior suite with a patio (very large patio) and 2 levels in the room! it was gorgeous. The bathrooms are prestine and the staff is knowledgable and friendly. The best thing about this hotel and all its charm is location location location. You can walk everywhere in seconds and its perfectly situated between the arno ricver ( right off the ponte vecchio) and a the best sandwhich/ wine bar in florence MANGIAFOCO. Be sure to go there or you are missing out! Francheso and his wife give everything the personal touch. We even shipped a case of wine home from them. The flat breads are awesome. Berchielle was a ssweet lil hotel very clean and also helpful when arranging for tours and sightseeing. Close to train station and steps from the Duomo etc. Stay here! loved it !

ps the only issue was mosquitos in the room since we had a beautiful terrace due tot he upgrade and we kept going in and out.. take some spray .

Room Tip: chose the junior sweet the arno river view is nice but a bit noisier as its on a main route to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fukuoka, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel was wonderful. The manager is an amazing person and the staff is superb. The manager really helped us during our vacation and we will always remember the trip for the kindness and generosity we received at this hotel. Highly highly recommended.

Nick and Yukiko

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickSaito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Really nice hotel! Perfect position for seeing the city. Immaculately clean, pleasant staff and good breakfast. Delightful stay in a great city. Try toto restaurant in side street behind hotel. Great atmosphere. Taxi 25euros from airport well worth speedy arrival.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweenyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 412 in Florence
1,508 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,498 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#60 of 412 in Florence
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,774 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#39 of 412 in Florence
890 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Property: Hotel Berchielli
Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#34 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing