We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel option on the Arno”
Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Berchielli
Ranked #48 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel option on the Arno”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

There are hundreds of hotel options in Florence and it took me sometime to find a hotel that would suit my needs. I was initially looking at hotels near the train station and then settled on something more reasonably priced near the water.

This hotel was well reviewed and had a special price for a single, which was perfect.
The room was of modest size with a bed that was a little bigger than a twin. There was no "view" but the room was clean, had a small bathroom in the room with an armoire and mini-fridge.
The room was at the top of a staircase off the 5th floor. The least appreciable point of the room was the bathroom, which had a defined space for a shower but not enclosure or shower curtain, which made for a lot of water splashed everywhere.

The staff was very helpful and accommodating on all shifts and the breakfast buffet was plentiful, with many options of fruit, cereal, baked goods and eggs.

The best part of the hotel was the location. One of the lobby's exits is through a bar which has a walkway leading the Arno, turn left and walk down half a block and you are at Ponte Vecchio. A bit further was the entry way to the Uffizi Museum. The furthest walk was about 15-20 minutes to reach Dell'Accademia.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a comfortable option for a stay in Florence. I had a single but the hotel has six floors and several rooms that face the Arno.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandora_is_Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you found a special offer that was perfect for you. Your room on the 5th floor, although with no special view, is 16,05 sqm. and extremely comfortable and quiet. Although our interior designer suggested not to install a shower curtain in your bathroom as it might make it look smaller, we will definitely need to consider finding alternative solution.
Our continuous training to the staff seems to be fruitful and this encourages all of us. Our buffet breakfast keeps being highly appreciated.
Highly recommending our hotel makes us all very proud of our job.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    496
    62
    16
    12
See reviews for
313
823
73
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

From the minute we arrived until the we left, the staff was super attentive and made us feel extremely welcomed. We stayed here while on our honeymoon and got a free room upgrade! The room was large, very comfortable and we had an amazing view! The location of the hotel is amazing as well! The breakfast was excellent and had a wide variety to choose from. I absolutely would recommend this hotel for anyone coming to Florence!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bl4832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review.
We are all extremely pleased that our staff has been so welcoming and has taken care of you during the whole stay. All journeys are important but honeymoon ones are very special therefore, when possible, we try to upgrade. River view rooms are deluxe category and are very requested therefore we have to first make sure they are assigned to all clients that specifically booked them. Our location is near Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi Gallery, Pitti Palace, and in general to all major attractions of Florence. Our breakfast keeps being very appreciated.
Nothing can make us more happy than a client that feels like wishing to recommend us to anyone.

Thank you again.

Kind regards.

Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a fantastic hotel to stay in when exploring Florence. It overlooks the river and is a minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio and is close to all the main sights. The staff were very helpful, our room was large and the bathroom well equipped. The breakfast was lovely with a large choice of hot or cold foods. Would definitely stay again when visiting Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiroru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your review.
We are sincerely pleased that every aspect of our hotel met your expectations.
The location is ideal to visit both sides of the city, the historical center and “Oltrarno”. Guests comments are also precious to monitor the staff behavior and knowing that they have been “very helpful” encourage us. Feedback on our buffet breakfast keep being very positive therefore our attention to remain up to the actual standard will be high.

We wait for your next visit.
Kind regards.

Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, CT
Level 6 Contributor
797 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel is right off the Pont Vecchio by the Arno river. It has terrific access to all of the sights in Florence, any sort of restaurant you might want, gelato places and shopping! The people at the desk were very friendly and answered questions, recommended places to eat, made reservations and went out of their way when someone left their phone in the room after we left, to get it to the airport before the flight! The hotel is old but well maintained. Bathrooms have been recently renovated. Their is a lovely rooftop garden with tables where we enjoyed some wine and snacks prior to dinner. Each afternoon the hotel offered a special that included a few pastries and either cappuccino, coffee, tea or hot chocolate...very tasty! Breakfast was excellent with a lot of selections for everyone's taste....eggs, bacon, sausage, pastries, toasts, yogurt, fruit and coffee, tea or cappuccino. The hotel had a small bar near the lobby and plenty of places to sit in the area. One day when I had an upset stomach, the bar tender came down special to get me a ginger ale! The desk was always staffed by at least 2 people so there was rarely a back up. The only issue we encountered was the heat in the rooms!! The nights were cool but the days were warm and while we turned our thermostat off, the room was heated from a master thermostat. The windows opened but mosquitos were an issue as was street noise....these were minor issues for us since all other aspects of the hotel were great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to write your review.
The location helps to take advantage of all the main sights and, as you mention, also of restaurants, shopping etc. We are pleased to learn that our front desk staff keeps being professional and friendly. The rooftop garden on the 4th floor, where we serve drinks and snacks from our bar, is a delightful place to have a rest while enjoying the fresh air and the sunshine. The breakfast offers indeed a wide selection of high quality products. The American bar on the ground floor is cosy but does not lack of sitting spaces. Our barman will entertain you while serving any drink you might like. We decided to always keep on duty plenty staff to be able to offer a high standard of service. The room temperature can be individually self adjusted with a thermostat.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Spent 4 nights in Hotel Berchielli this April. We had a superior room overlooking the river, the room was large with plenty of room and a big bathroom. Situated in the perfect position to explore all the sights of Florence. Overall this hotel is of the highest standard, the staff are polite, very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is plentiful and varied. There is nothing I would change to make this hotel any better. Simply amazing.

Room Tip: Get a river view, although there is a busy street between the hotel and the river, it soon quiets do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foreignclimbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for the time taken to post your review.

Although all of our rooms are very comfortable, deluxe river view ones are very spacious and offer wide bathrooms.
The hotel location is indeed ideal for visiting Florence. We all put a lot of effort in trying to offer the highest possible service and your feedback encourage us to keep on this path.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

What a perfect place to. Stay when exploring Florence. Located on the River Arno just west of the Ponte Vecchio it is within easy walking distance of all the must sees. The room was clean and comfortable though the bathroom was a bit cramped. The only problem we had was regulating the heat but we solved it by opening the window when it got a little stuffy. The breakfast buffet included eggs cooked to your taste and included a large assortment of breakfast favorites. The staff couldn't have been nicer and one night when I didn't feel like going out I enjoyed a very good risotto in the bar. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by street noise, request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onthegogirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your appreciated review.
Location is certainly very convenient to visit all major attractions of Florence. All our bathrooms have been recently renewed and vary in size depending on the shape of the room. Room temperature can be controlled individually as air conditioning has been turned on weeks ago. As temperatures still range from 8/12 to 18-22 the A/C has been set to a medium power. Although we have no restaurant, our snack bar can serve a tasty menu; we are pleased that you enjoyed our “risotto”.

Our rooms are double glazed but your suggestion can be precious for all guests!

Hope to welcome you again soon, meanwhile accept our kind regards.

Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had an extremely bad experience with renting an apartment in Florence. So bad that the first night out of a 5 night stay, we decided it was unbearable and we had to leave. We had to scramble to find a new place to stay. We did some quick research on TripAdvisor and Kayak and after verifying the rate, chose this hotel. We were very glad we did. Everything was great about this place. The location was close to the river and in perhaps the nicest part of Florence, with top notch shops and restaurants nearby. The hotel, while older, is very well kept up. The rooms were a decent size and the bathrooms were nice. I appreciated that you could open up the window for ventilation and they brought me a fan, as well (no AC allowed at this time of the year). The staff was friendly, professional and very helpful. We had a late meal by the minuscule bar and while the chicken was past its prime, the salad was very good and the pasta with porcini mushrooms was surprisingly good. The TV even had some news shows in English (CNN,BBC) and one or two others. This kept my 90 year old mother sated. The breakfast was very good. Quality was high and there was a good variety to choose from. They had wait people who were very attentive to bring coffee, hot chocolate, juice, etc. And it was a pleasant little dining room. On the whole, one of the most satisfying experiences I have ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJJC_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guests,
we are sorry to learn that your first night in Florence was unpleasant but are of course very happy to know that we contributed to “save” your holiday. Our location is very convenient as we are near to all major attractions and close to the famous Via Tornabuoni where many of the famous designers show their creations in their boutiques.
Our hotel is in effect located in an historical building that keeps being continuously updated in order to offer our guests comfort, quality and safety.
Our rooms are in general very spacious and bathrooms have all being renewed in the last years with stylish tiles and high quality accessories. Our staff seems to keep receiving good marks and we can only be proud of this.
Being included in the hotels that have been most satisfying for you is thrilling.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 412 in Florence
1,508 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,497 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 412 in Florence
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,773 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#40 of 412 in Florence
887 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Property: Hotel Berchielli
Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#34 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing