We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, fine location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Berchielli
Ranked #48 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good hotel, fine location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Spent 3 nights in this hotel. Had a room with a view of the Arno River. Room was large, with 2 sets of windows. Just a 5 minute walk to the Uffizi Gallery. The decor in the hotel is nice, but a bit stuffy. The bathrooms have been renovated with lovely Italian tile. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is quite extensive, and good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
River view rooms are deluxe category and are very spacious. It is nice to know that you liked the art deco style of the hotel although finding it a bit heavy. Bathrooms have all been recently renovated with Italian style tiles made specifically for our hotel. Staff will certainly appreciate your comment.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    474
    58
    16
    11
See reviews for
289
776
68
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just returned from a 13 day stay at the Berchielli, we had a very spacious room overlooking the Arno on the second floor. We found all the staff friendly and helpful and our room spotless, breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The hotel is walking distance to most places with good restaurants close by, we would definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have a room overlooking the Arno on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CountYorga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review.
Such a long stay really allows to get a complete impression of our hotel and your words “wonderful experience” are very much appreciated and encourage all of us to keep offering the best possible service. Cleanliness is continuously monitored by our housekeeper and we realise by reading so many positive reviews that her job as well as the one of our maids is good.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Hotel Berchielli is a four star hotel located on the Arno River in Florence and only a three minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi Gallery. Another five minutes and you are at the main square in Florence, the Piazza della Signoria, which was the seat of Medici power for decades, with its tower, loggia and sculptures, the Neptune fountain and outdoor cafes. Only about a 15 minute walk to the Duomo and bapistry or to the Piti Palace and Boboli Gardens. Our deluxe river view room was very comfortable and clean with a beautifully tiled bathroom. The hotel staff was very hospitable and spoke english. The breakfast buffet was fabulous with a wide selection of continental, Italian and international cuisine. The Hotel also provides private transfer service from the main Italian airports and the railway station. You couldn't find a better location to begin exploring one of the most fascinating cities in Italy...and don't miss Michaelangelo's David at the Accademia Museum.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review.
Your detailed narration of our area could not describe better how centrally located we are and how close to all main attractions. We are pleased that you liked the style of our new bathrooms and the comfort of your room. Many comments keep describing our staff as hospitable and professional and this can only make us all very happy. Thank also for placing Florence among the most fascinating cities of our Country.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I requested a room changed the minute we walked into Room 507. Room 507 is kinda like a townhouse. Its bedroom is on the second floor. Room was changed without hesitation and heard no negative comments from the gentleman who assisted us.

The hotel's location could not be better. It is right by the Arno River and a stone's throw from the Ponte Vecchio Bridge. One can walk from the hotel to the Plaza Republic easily or to more or less anywhere. The bathroom in Room 607 is impressive! Great tiles color combo! The only hotel we stayed at in Italy during our 2-week vacation that has a bath tub! It's a charming hotel to come back to at the end of a long day sightseeing.

Let me digress for a second: Across from the hotel, I saw a lady tripped and fall flat on her face. As I moved closer to her, I felt that she needed immediate medical attention. I approached the same gentleman from the Front Desk who assisted us earlier, and he came out running from the hotel to help her. Hope the lady was ok.

Hotel Berchielli has an accommodating staff and serves excellent breakfast. NO complaints from me. Would stay at this hotel again and again whenever we revisit. Love Florence! Love Berchielli!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guests,
room 507 is a nice and romantinc room that has some steps to reach the upper floor. Due to its peculiar style someone really likes it while someone else prefers rooms with no steps.
The front office staff is trained to please all clients according to the availability of the day and we are pleased to learn that also in your case they did a good job.
All our bathrooms have been recently renewed with high quality tiles designed especially for our hotel and it is nice to know that you liked it.
Although our staff has been trained for first aid assistance to our clients when we run out of the hotel and saw the lady bleeding it was more than natural to immediatly help her. We made her sit on one of our armchairs and brought her ice to put on the forehead while disinfecting the wound on the nouse. She did not want us to call medical assistance and after 30 minutes she went to the nearby pharmacy. She was fine.
We really look forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west hills calif
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We thought about staying at another hotel on our second trip to Florence but decided to stay
here again and was not disappointed. The location is excellent and a river view room
makes it better.
The breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guets,
thank you for choosing our hotel for the second time.
Repeat clients have high expectations and tend to compare the last experience with previous ones. We are really pleased that the good impression you received on your first visit has been confirmed now. We look forward to your 3rd, 4th, 5th, etc visit. Although we have a software that helps us to keep trace of our repeat clients we take the chance to suggest to send us an email mentioning your last visit as in general we try to assign the same room.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The location is great, really in the heart of Florence. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were quiet, comfortable, and clean. The breakfast was quite extensive with more than enough quality choices for everyone to fill up on for a long day of touring - and the staff was downright eager to please the person with celiac disease in our party who needs gluten-free food. The layout of the hotel is a bit quirky (it is probably and old palazzo), but that is really part of the charm of the place.

Room Tip: Rooms 104 & 105 have balconies overlooking the Arno river and the Ponte Vecchio, I don't thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guests,
we are so happy that you fully enjoyed your stay with us.
The location keeps being mentioned as unbeatable as you can easily reach every important place of interest simply walking. Our full buffet breakfast offers a wide variety of high quality products and on request, we also offer a good selection of food for celiac clients. You are right, the hotel was built in actually not only 1 old palazzo (15th century) but joining 3 together, and this is what makes it peculiar and gives it a particular charm.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked this Florence visit via BA holidays and chose the Hotel Berchielli as it seemed to be close to all the places of interest. We were not disappointed. Although the BA deal was a standard room the Hotel gave us a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the river with fantastic views of the Ponte Vecchio. The room was a good size with a large bed and plenty of storage space. It was very warm during our stay but the air conditioning was efficient enough to keep us comfortable at night and was not noisy. Being close to the river mosquitoes are prevalent therefore I recommend keeping the window shut at night. There is a busy road outside the hotel but this did not impact on us especially with the window shut and is nothing to get concerned about, in fact it adds to the experience. We had a B and B arrangement and found the breakfast to be ample for our needs. Some hot food is available I.e. Scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages but I imagine you could have eggs done differently if you ask. My only criticism is that the hot food was only warm bordering on cold at times. Plenty of cold options and cereals are available. Staff are friendly and helpful and special mention must go to the reception staff who are some of the most helpful people I have encountered at hotels, a big thank you to them for helping with transport timetables, taxis, phone calls to check arrangements and advice on travel all of which are essential in a strange city. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel their prices are very reasonable considering the location and the views. An hotel on the opposite bank charges up to £2000 per night for some of their rooms according to their web site. We will certainly use this hotel again when visiting Florence.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel direct to discuss rooms as a room overlooking the river is desire able. I imagine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Idontusuallycomplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for your long review.
We are happy that your experience with us was thoroughly enjoyable. As mentioned in previous replies we are able to upgrade only occasionally as river view rooms are deluxe category and more and more clients specifically book these kind of rooms paying the correspondent higher rate. Your suggestion about keeping the window closed during the night is precious as this will keep room quiet, cool and will also avoid the occasional problem of mosquitos. It is a relief to read that the staff has been friendly and helpful as usual.
We have tried during the years to keep a correct balance price/quality and if you are lucky enough to get an upgrade, when booking situation occasionally allows, this of course makes it very convenient.
Hoping to welcome you soon.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Uffizi
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#44 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Property: Hotel Berchielli
Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing