We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel, great location close to everything ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Berchielli
Ranked #48 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Pisa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, great location close to everything ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this lovely hotel. The rooms are tasteful and spacious with very comfy beds. It is within walking distance of all attractions, restaurants and bars. Helpful staff are happy to make great recommendations for restaurants etc.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraAndDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for posting your review.
A 4 nights stay allows to get a comprehensive image of all services therefore your review, being a 5 dots, encourage us to keep on this line. All beds have been replaced not long ago and rooms are generally very spacious. We are pleased that our staff was helpful as usual.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    473
    58
    16
    11
See reviews for
288
775
68
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Having walked from the station in the rain we got the best welcome from the reception staff and although they said our rooms weren't ready (which was understandable as we were early), they would store our bags. However no sooner had they taken our bags than they found our rooms to be ready so we were into our rooms early. The hospitality was wonderful and everyone was very helpful. The location is perfect, right by the river, easy walk to everything even the station. The best part of all - the breakfast. The staff were welcoming, there was so much to choose from and it was all GREAT, something for everyone, it really was delicious! Comfortable accommodation with everything you need ... a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: we had two rooms and they were amazing - both slightly different but both amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2jm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for the wonderful review.
We are indeed very pleased that our staff was helpful and offered you a warm welcome.
Check in is from 2 pm but often clients arrive earlier and our aim is to possibly accommodate them as soon as possible. This implies having to continuously rearrange booking in order to match the rooms with each clients need. The main train station is only half a mile away easy to reach walking. It is nice to read that you found our buffet breakfast to be “..GREAT and delicious”.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbanna, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with great European charm. Our room was beautiful with two bathrooms. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff at the hotel goes above and beyond. Everything you would want to see and do is within easy walking distance.

Please note though, if you have a car, very difficult to get to. Our GPS kept wanting us to go down one way streets the wrong way. I was told by a tour guide that I was chatting with, that the city changes the directions every now and then. Contact the hotel to find the best way to approach the hotel.

After that bit of frustration, everything was absolutely wonderful!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for your comment.
We are glad you had a very nice stay with us. You room was a very spacious junior suite with 2 bathrooms. It is nice to read that our staff was not only friendly and professional but also went “..above and beyond”. As mentioned in the past our location is strategic to visit all main attractions. We take the chance to suggest all future clients arriving by car to download the driving directions from our official site as the GPS may occasionally cause confusion.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is very reasonably priced and right on the Arno river in the center of everything. It's walking distance (10-15 mins) to everything you want to do in Florence. They gave us phenomenal restaurant recommendations and also upgraded us to a 2 floor suite room which had an amazing balcony overlooking the courtyard. The breakfast was great and huge - includes eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, pastries, etc. which was very nice and more American than I was expecting. Our room had 2 full bathrooms which was great, an enormous king bed and two mini fridges. I don't think the arno view is needed as we loved our balcony to drink wine in the evenings. Wifi worked great and the hotel was very charming with its older Italian decor. Not a flashy hotel but clean and tasteful.

Room Tip: Thought the two floor suite was great as a free upgrade, but would not pay double for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nchristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for posting your comment.
We are pleased that you had the chance to be upgraded to one of our duplex suite being very rarely available as many repeat guests are used to get them. Our front desk staff, depending on the client’s request, can recommend many good restaurants nearby; clients feed back allow us to make sure we keep proposing good quality ones. Our breakfast, served from 7 to 11 am, offers: Fruit salad, prunes, corn flakes, rice krispies, muesli, all bran, 3 different types of baked croissant, 3 different types of bread rolls, duchesse, flat bread, packed rye bread, brown bread, wholemeal bread, zwieback, 10 different types of yoghurt, 6 different types of jam , honey . 3 differet types of cheeses, ham, salami, sausages, bacon, wustel, scrambled eggs, butter, and fresh fruit in season. Orange juice, pinapple juice, grapefruit juice, tomato juice and all hot drinks (coffee, tea, etc .) Pancakes with maple syrup.
Arno view rooms are certainly nice but your comment helps us to again mention the particular charm of all our rooms.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This location and view was terrific. Our room overlooked the Arno River and the Ponte Vecchio. The room was clean, and large enough. Great location for walking on both sides of the river, and easy access to all the sights. The hotel easily accommodated my need to print out a document from my office. The staff was nice and helpful.
I'd say the only draw back was that the breakfast wasn't as good as I hoped. Next time we're in Florence, I imagine that we'll be back.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable and nearly all services were of a good standard.
Our breakfast is in general described as very good but we realize that there is always something that can be improved.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed at Hotel Berchielli on a business trip for a week. The location is great, and the hotel is very clean and comfortable. There were a few Mosquitos in my room when I got there, but I think the window must have been left open. The room was large, overlooking the Arno, the bed was very comfortable as well. The room was very quiet. The bathroom was good-sized, with the only complaints being the shower and hair dryer. The shower was hand-held, which I don't mind, but would slide down the pole it was attached to, so I couldn't take a shower standing up. No big deal, just FYI. The hair dryer was old school - a big box on the wall with a vacuum cleaner-like nozzle, that got so hot, I had to turn it off so I didn't burn my hand. Those are my only 2 complaints. Oh, and the wifi in my room was pretty bad, but if I walked to the hallway, it was better.

They also have a great buffet breakfast. The bar downstairs is kind of make-shift, but it served it's purpose after a long day.

I'd stay here again. Very comfortable..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your review.
We are pleased that despite some little issues your stay with us was enjoyable.
The hand held shower is not supposed to act as you described it, as it should not slide down the pole, therefore we will have our maintenance to check them all. Hotel hair dryers in Italy have to be firm on the wall to avoid the possibility of falling into the water therefore the selection is unfortunately not enormous. We offer free Wi-Fi all over the hotel. We are in process of improving the strength of the signal as we realised that sometimes hundreds of devices are connected.

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Loved this hotel and the location was perfect for walking to all the sites and shopping. The breakfast was very good with lots of variety and great service. The rooms we had were quite large, even by American standards. Our first room had a balcony and great view of the river.

Room Tip: Stayed in 2 different rooms at beginning and end of trip. Both were very large and gorgeous with ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbie2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that both rooms you were accommodated in can be defined “quite large, even by American standard” as, most of our rooms are really very comfortable. Our breakfast keeps being mentioned as very good as well as the waiter service and this is important. We realize that you, like most guests, took advantage of our location to maximize the time of your holiday while enjoying visiting museums, shops, restaurants, ice cream parlors, etc. instead of loosing time with taxis or buses.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
Uffizi
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#44 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Property: Hotel Berchielli
Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing