We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and location”
Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Berchielli
Ranked #45 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel Berchielli is a great 4 star hotel with a fantastic location in Florence. We stayed only 2 nights but will come back to this hotel when we return to Florence. As in other reviewers, driving your own car to the hotel can be difficult owing to numerous one-way streets that Google maps can't figure out. But, we needed the car for the rest of the journey and just had it garaged while we were in Florence. Everything in Florence is walkable from the hotel and the Uffizi Gallery is only a few blocks away.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jerman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are very glad that your 2 nights stay with us was sufficient to make you wish to come back.
Aiming to allow traffic to flow smoothly Florence streets have been ruled with many one way signs. We fully understand that this can appear confusing and this is why we suggest to visit our official web site to download the driving instructions or eventually phone us while approaching our area to allow us to guide you “step by step”.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have just left Firenze yesterday having spent 4 nights in this wonderful city, located at the marvellous Hotel Berchielli. The position is delightful - overlooking the river and so convenient for the Centro Strorico. It is so near to the Ponte Vecchio, Piazza della Signorina, the Pitti Palace and above all, the Uffizi. I didn't have a view of the river but that was fine as the room was excellent. Superbly comfortable bed - a double in a single room, which was hugely appreciated - peaceful and quiet, and cleaned to a high standard. This isn't a city where you are going to spend a lot of time in the hotel, but the Berchielli is a hotel where you feel comfy "hanging around" The staff throughout were really helpful and friendly and very willing to offer help. In particular Filippo on reception was kind, witty and informative with his impeccable English. The lovely staff in the breakfast room were equally appreciated. A super buffet breakfast with a vast choice of hot and cold items. Just delicious and of the highest quality. The only slight surprise in a coffee-loving country like Italy, were the pots of what appeared to be instant coffee brought to the table. When I asked, I was told it was "American Coffee" (?) Cafetieres of Lavazza or Illy would definitely take it up that final notch and thus ensure perfection. We British like good coffee as well as good tea. I quickly changed to their excellent tea, so it was not a problem. The Berchielli has a fantastic décor inside, a lovely roof terrace and a great reception area. I am already looking forward to my next visit to both Firenze and the hotel. I cannot envisage wanting to stay anywhere else in the future. A great place which I cannot praise highly enough.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are probably a bit quieter, if at the front, with the noise along the lungano outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bonviveurEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for calling our hotel “marvellous”.
Our rooms, not only deluxe river view, are very comfortable and cleanliness is always on top of our attention. Florence offers so many things to see that time passed in the room is usually short therefore it is nice to find out that “...you feel comfy “hanging around”. Our staff has been receiving , lately, many nice comments and this allows us to believe that the periodical training is a good mean to motivate them all. We will share with Filippo your comment. We are sorry you did not like our “Amerian Coffee”; we actually selected one of the most expensive brands but apparently we can still improve. Of course, a comment like “..their excellent tea..” from a British person has a high value. Our roof terrace can offer nice moments of relax while having a drink, reading a book or chatting with friends. We will be happy to welcome you again soon hoping to match the quality of your first stay.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Berchielli - we travelled here for our honeymoon and were very pleased with our choice. The rooms are well appointed - we were in a standard which was slightly on the small side, but given that we spent relatively little time in the room this was not an issue. The aircon is very efficient which made a huge difference to our comfort, very appreciated after a day out seeing the sights.
The location is excellent with the heart of the city right on the doorstep. It works brilliantly as a base for exploring the city on foot. Also, the breakfasts are astounding. Plentiful, good quality, served with a smile by staff who seem to really care about their customers. Ask for a cappuccino rather than the filter coffee!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nile78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for writing your review.
We are so happy that you fully appreciated your stay with us. Honeymoon journeys are made to be remembered for life therefore our responsibility is enormous. Our standard rooms, although being a little smaller than river view ones, are comfortable. As temperatures in the last years reached occasionally 40 celsius (104 Fahrenheit) we decided to strengthen the aircon system and it proved to be a good choice. During the years we selected high quality breakfast products to suite all tastes and comments seem to be encouraging. It is truly nice to read that our staff “.. seem to really care...”
Please believe that they do love their job. Cappuccinos are made with freshly ground coffee and fresh milk topped with tasty chocolate.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this lovely hotel. The rooms are tasteful and spacious with very comfy beds. It is within walking distance of all attractions, restaurants and bars. Helpful staff are happy to make great recommendations for restaurants etc.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank BarbaraAndDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for posting your review.
A 4 nights stay allows to get a comprehensive image of all services therefore your review, being a 5 dots, encourage us to keep on this line. All beds have been replaced not long ago and rooms are generally very spacious. We are pleased that our staff was helpful as usual.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Having walked from the station in the rain we got the best welcome from the reception staff and although they said our rooms weren't ready (which was understandable as we were early), they would store our bags. However no sooner had they taken our bags than they found our rooms to be ready so we were into our rooms early. The hospitality was wonderful and everyone was very helpful. The location is perfect, right by the river, easy walk to everything even the station. The best part of all - the breakfast. The staff were welcoming, there was so much to choose from and it was all GREAT, something for everyone, it really was delicious! Comfortable accommodation with everything you need ... a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: we had two rooms and they were amazing - both slightly different but both amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2jm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for the wonderful review.
We are indeed very pleased that our staff was helpful and offered you a warm welcome.
Check in is from 2 pm but often clients arrive earlier and our aim is to possibly accommodate them as soon as possible. This implies having to continuously rearrange booking in order to match the rooms with each clients need. The main train station is only half a mile away easy to reach walking. It is nice to read that you found our buffet breakfast to be “..GREAT and delicious”.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Lovely hotel with great European charm. Our room was beautiful with two bathrooms. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff at the hotel goes above and beyond. Everything you would want to see and do is within easy walking distance.

Please note though, if you have a car, very difficult to get to. Our GPS kept wanting us to go down one way streets the wrong way. I was told by a tour guide that I was chatting with, that the city changes the directions every now and then. Contact the hotel to find the best way to approach the hotel.

After that bit of frustration, everything was absolutely wonderful!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for your comment.
We are glad you had a very nice stay with us. You room was a very spacious junior suite with 2 bathrooms. It is nice to read that our staff was not only friendly and professional but also went “..above and beyond”. As mentioned in the past our location is strategic to visit all main attractions. We take the chance to suggest all future clients arriving by car to download the driving directions from our official site as the GPS may occasionally cause confusion.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is very reasonably priced and right on the Arno river in the center of everything. It's walking distance (10-15 mins) to everything you want to do in Florence. They gave us phenomenal restaurant recommendations and also upgraded us to a 2 floor suite room which had an amazing balcony overlooking the courtyard. The breakfast was great and huge - includes eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, pastries, etc. which was very nice and more American than I was expecting. Our room had 2 full bathrooms which was great, an enormous king bed and two mini fridges. I don't think the arno view is needed as we loved our balcony to drink wine in the evenings. Wifi worked great and the hotel was very charming with its older Italian decor. Not a flashy hotel but clean and tasteful.

Room Tip: Thought the two floor suite was great as a free upgrade, but would not pay double for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nchristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for posting your comment.
We are pleased that you had the chance to be upgraded to one of our duplex suite being very rarely available as many repeat guests are used to get them. Our front desk staff, depending on the client’s request, can recommend many good restaurants nearby; clients feed back allow us to make sure we keep proposing good quality ones. Our breakfast, served from 7 to 11 am, offers: Fruit salad, prunes, corn flakes, rice krispies, muesli, all bran, 3 different types of baked croissant, 3 different types of bread rolls, duchesse, flat bread, packed rye bread, brown bread, wholemeal bread, zwieback, 10 different types of yoghurt, 6 different types of jam , honey . 3 differet types of cheeses, ham, salami, sausages, bacon, wustel, scrambled eggs, butter, and fresh fruit in season. Orange juice, pinapple juice, grapefruit juice, tomato juice and all hot drinks (coffee, tea, etc .) Pancakes with maple syrup.
Arno view rooms are certainly nice but your comment helps us to again mention the particular charm of all our rooms.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,538 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,542 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#58 of 410 in Florence
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#33 of 410 in Florence
944 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,829 reviews
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#39 of 410 in Florence
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#33 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#55 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £124 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing