We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the reviewers on Trip Advisor said it all!”
Review of Hotel Bodoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bodoni
Ranked #169 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Ashkelon, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“the reviewers on Trip Advisor said it all!”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We chose this hotel after reading other travellers' reviews here. We knew what to expect and so there were no surprises. Pleasant staff, especially the breakfast room manager a lovely, friendly man with a young helper trying very hard to please. A simple, very basic but perfectly clean room on 1st floor, no Florence view from room (just neighbouring buildings) but quite a view from the lobby and breakfast room on 4th floor. Beds aren't too long so if you're tall, bear it in mind or maybe ask for a room with long beds! Just a 5 to 10 - minute walk from Florence's historical centre. I wanted to grade it "good" but Trip Advisor only gives "average" or "very good" as options.

Room Tip: Maybe you can ask for a room on a high floor - the hotel starts on the 4th floor but most rooms appe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeonieIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Mr.

thank you so much for your review.

Our breakfast wait you

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    299
    125
    32
    22
See reviews for
82
323
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is not a luxury hotel. It does, however, give excellent value for those on a budget. The welcome from the proprietor and his family was warm and helpful, as were all of the staff. The rooms are basic but reasonably comfortable and provide most of the necessary amenities. Worthy of particular mention are the really good breakfasts and the view from the rooftop solarium. From here you can see the Duomo, Santa Croce, the Piazza del Michaelangelo, Fierenze atop the surrounding hills, and the upper end of the Boboli Gardens. Everything of worth in Florence is but a few minutes walk from this excellenty situated pensione (Santa Croce 7 minutes, Duomo 5 minutes, Ponte Vecchio 15 minutes, Uffizi Museum 12 minutes, etc). The one downside was the complete lack of tea or coffee making facilities in the room or elsewhere in the hotel other than at breakfast. That aside, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickparris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

There is no shower separate from the rest of the bathroom. This means you end up soaking all the bathroom, as this is on top of the toilet.
But it is in a very good location, good breakfast and good service!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TezinhaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Warm welcome, delicious rich breakfast, great location considering the offer, walking distance to all landmarks, spacious bath and shower. I wish the bed would be more comfortable.

Room Tip: Dont reserve the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed a week in this little family run hotel and it was such a delightful find, we highly recommend staying here and we will most definately stay here again on our next visit to Florence. The family and staff are very kind and helpful and speak many languages quite fluently. Its location is close to everything Florence has to offer. All of the attractions of Florence are easily accessible on foot and you have a partial view of the Duomo right from your balcony. There is a nice outdoor covered terrace to have your breakfast and a cute little roof top area to sun bath or catch a birds eye view of Florence. There is a grocery store (Billa) directly across the street, a self serve laundromat 1 block away. The rooms are comfortable, clean and have Wifi internet access. They have a great continental breakfast in the mornings. I can't understand how anyone could say a bad thing about this place, you won't find a better value in Florence... if we had one wish it would be for the rooms to have a small fridge that would have allowed us to keep some food/drinks. Thanks Bodoni.... see you again next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thanks so much for your great review.

I'm so happy when I read this words. For me and for all staff are an other motivation to improve our offer.

Best regards

Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Hotel Bodoni is a nice family run hotel 10 mins east from the centre. Its on the top floor, and rooms have a balcony that over looks the Duomo (if you crane your neck a bit!).

Great breakfast spread and friendly staff added to the experience. Comfy, and slightly quirky rooms too. There is a sun terrace on the roof we sun loungers and great views over the whole Florence area.

The only negative I can add is that we had next doors Air Conditioning outlet on our balcony (as they didnt seem to have a balcony, being the last one on the corridor), and we suffered from some vibration from this against our wall during the night.

But otherwise, it comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tungstenthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

First of all: this hotel has the best breakfast I've ever eaten in a hotel in Italy (and I've had a few). The competitions is not superfiece though; you are usually served typical continental breakfast which is a cup of coffee and a cornetto. But not here! This is actually a real buffet. They have bread, including dark bread which I really liked! There are cheese, ham and many different kinds of jam, honey and of course nutella. There are coffee, anyway you like it. Fresh fruit, and the best of all: fresh orange juice! Heavenly good!

The location is great, a ten/fifteen minute walk from central station, five from the cathedral. There is a supermarket just across the street, very handy. It's on the fifth floor, but there is an elevator.

The rooms are quite basic but nice. Quite small and the shower is a bit odd, but that didn't bother me. Clean and everything.

The staff is very friendly and speak English very well. Very service minded.

Don't miss the terrass on the roof! Great view of Florence sky line and sunbeds to use as well. I would definetely come back to this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#91 of 412 in Florence
757 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#142 of 412 in Florence
658 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#170 of 412 in Florence
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#153 of 412 in Florence
477 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#151 of 412 in Florence
307 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#114 of 412 in Florence
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bodoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodoni

Property: Hotel Bodoni
Address: Via Dei Martiri del Popolo 27, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bodoni 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the center of the town, near the main shopping center, the Duomo and the church of S.Croce, the Hotel Bodoni is the ideal place for a quiet and comfortable stay. You will appreciate the comfortable lounges and open terraces, where you can relax after walking around the places of historical interest. We offer you an atmosphere where restfulness prevails.All rooms have modern furniture, shower/WC and air conditioning.Our terms are most reasonable and we are here to do our best to make your stay in Florence a happy onePossibility of Garage nearby. We will make you feel welcome at the Hotel Bodoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bodoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing