We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast, good location”
Review of Hotel Bodoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bodoni
Ranked #164 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Our family stayed in a Quadruple Room (2 double beds) on the 1st floor for 3 nights at Hotel Bodoni. It was very good for value, especially since it includes an excellent breakfast (more on this below).

Reception is on the 4th floor and so is the restaurant (which has indoor and outdoor/terrace seating and only opens for breakfast between 7:30am and 10am). All floors are served by a small lift (4-6 passengers). It's in a more 'residential' part of Florence so less tourists not to mention the benefit of quietness, and there's a Conad chain supermarket on the left side of the hotel across the road. It's a 15-20 minute leisurely walk (past Duomo - which is a 5-7 minute walk away) to Florence Santa Maria Novella Station with shade along the way - it's ok to do with luggage if you have a map (we never had to use the C2 bus or taxi).

The breakfast here is certainly the highlight of this hotel. Real fresh orange juice every day made using an automated orange squeezer machine (so you need about 2-3 oranges to fill one glass and Sandro - the kind old man who seems to head the restaurant, constantly brings new oranges), plenty of yoghurt (strawberry, blueberry, mixed berries, original, malt, coffee flavoured), 2 types of ham, salami, cheese, 3 kinds of cereal, boiled eggs, breads, croissants, Twinnings tea, milk and a choice of different types of coffee or hot chocolate (Fabio, another staff member, asks for your preference when you sit down). It's a breakfast buffet, so based on the outside prices (a shocking 3 euros for a cup of freshly squeezed orange juice in nearby restaurants), the room rate is well worth it. Sandro is very customer-oriented, literally running to open the door for you if you go to the terrace and always smiling. He welcomed us, especially the children, every morning with a "Buon giorno" and spoke to us with a few words in Italian lightheartedly (although he knows English).

My only comment about the rooms is that they're a little spartan. But for a 2-star property, you can't really expect much. The toilet in our room faintly reeked of sewage every time we entered the room but we got used to the smell after a few minutes or so in the room. There is a portable air-conditioner (albeit an old one) with different modes. Our room wasn't very noisy as others have said, but this might have been because our room faced a small street (not the main street in front) with a second window facing the rooftop of another building.

Room Tip: Get a room without windows facing the main street in the front of the hotel. Windows facing the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetravellinghker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear guest,
thanks for your review. We are unhappy for bad smell in your room, our staff is always ready to give you a solution.

I hope see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed in Bodoni for 3 nights. If u let aside the decoration of the room (which is nothing special) and the fact that the bathroom has a shower but no bathtub or something similar but just a drain on the floor for the water to go down, the hotel is great. Excellent spot, central and close to everything.Really good hotel stuff,kind,helpful and polite...we loved everyone!The breakfast was the best!The room had all necessary-fridge,hairdryer,tv,aircondition(although it was noisy and did not work properly,at least in our room) and we had clean towels everyday.If we ever visit Florence again we will try to stay in Bodoni!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninetta_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear guest,
thanks we are happy to know that you could come back to us. We wait you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Bodoni offers basic rooms with private bathroom (wet room) very close to the centre of Florence and only a 15 minute walk from the train station. During our time in Florence it was exceptionally hot and a portable air conditioner was in the room, this was quite loud to have on at night, but it was either noise or heat - ear plugs helped. There is a good breakfast and a nice terrace to have it on. Overall this is a good budget hotel with an excellent location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theflyingbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,

we wait you in autumn too. Try in our web site to get a new promotion.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Hotel Bodoni was an interesting hotel that was on the fourth floor! The bonus was the value of a modest, clean & comfortable hotel with a great breakfast bar and rooftop view across Florence. The shower was very small but the welcoming and efficient staff were super. We also had a balcony off our room which was great too and faced onto the street. The room was very quiet and there were great restaurants and tourist attractions within walking distance. Value for money it is definately worth a visit.

Room Tip: We liked the balcony and worthwhile requesting at time of booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I will read to the staff your review. It will be very happy to have this consideration.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Great location, lovely big clean airy rooms, friendly staff and plentiful breakfast. Fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front we had a balcony with views of the duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireSueLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I remember you. Thanks so much for your review.

We hope that a new autumn promotion take you to us.

We wait you and breakfast too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The rooms were comfortable, lots of space and very clean. Very centrally located our children had a lovely balcony with a view of the Duomo. Perfectly placed for sightseeing, siesta then out for evening meal and an explore. The breakfast was plentiful lots of choice and the staff friendly and helpful. Very enjoyable stay thanks.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are sunnier with better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireSueB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I remember you. Thanks so much for your review.

We hope that a new autumn promotion take you to us.

We wait you and breakfast too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Clean, comfortable, quiet, lovely lovely lovely view out the window (ask for a room with nice view when booking) most importantly, excellent service! The reception even helped us get our money back when the machine in a nearby laundromat ate it, that was gold!

Great location too, we walked from the train station to the hotel and walked to all the sights from the hotel during our stay.

We were lucky to be here on June 24th when Florence celebrates their Saint Patron, watched fireworks from our hotel room :)

Really good breakfast compared to some of the other hotels we stayed in in Europe, freshly squeezed orange juice in the morning and having your breakfast on the terrace, how good is that?! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Free0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guest,

thanks so much for your review.

We will wait you for an other cflorentian city break.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#137 of 410 in Florence
666 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#166 of 410 in Florence
489 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#96 of 410 in Florence
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#171 of 410 in Florence
496 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#158 of 410 in Florence
313 reviews
Ungherese
#210 of 410 in Florence
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bodoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodoni

Address: Via Dei Martiri del Popolo 27, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £48 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bodoni 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the center of the town, near the main shopping center, the Duomo and the church of S.Croce, the Hotel Bodoni is the ideal place for a quiet and comfortable stay. You will appreciate the comfortable lounges and open terraces, where you can relax after walking around the places of historical interest. We offer you an atmosphere where restfulness prevails.All rooms have modern furniture, shower/WC and air conditioning.Our terms are most reasonable and we are here to do our best to make your stay in Florence a happy onePossibility of Garage nearby. We will make you feel welcome at the Hotel Bodoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bodoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing