We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lacking confort”
Review of Hotel Bodoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bodoni
Ranked #177 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A very well located hotel, about 700m to Il Duomo, in a straight line, with good restaurants, enotecas and ice cream parlours. Farther to the east you have the college area, with also nice restaurants, cheaper, with an yuonger crown roaming around. You walk to every major atraction in Firenze.

The room we had was nice, with a balcony, on the fourth floor. A good place to relax late afternoon, after sightseeing. Not that confortable. Old bed, worn matress. They had a bathroom with a hole in middle of the floor, no bathtub. So, whenever you wnated to take a showr you would get the whole bathroom all wet (everything, even toilet paper). Small sized.

The breakfast was (actually) nice, with eggs, ham, cheese, yogurt and some cakes/croissants. The lousy coffee was complimentary but served warmheartedly, with a smile.

Overall: Good location, not that value for money. Better off if it was cheaper. It was fair that way.

Also: really, but really noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandrogaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location to explore the city and the surroundings offers you a variety of excellent places to eat and drink. The hotel is located on the 4th floor and offers a good breakfast (thumbs up for the freshly squeezed orange juice machine). The staff is very friendly and helpful when needed. Roof has a good view. The room was very small, with a safe, study table, AC, mini TV and minibar, the only downside is the not very comfortable shower location (between the sink and toilet) and weak internet connection. Nevertheless, I can say I was quite satisfied and I think the price of the stay was favourable considering the location. I think I would go there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SP2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I booked this hotel on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and I'm afraid we were very disappointed with the 3 nights spent here. We booked a three person room and my child's bed was very uncomfortable as it was flimsy with poor springs. The strange layout of the hotel, and very slow lift, meant that on arrival we took our luggage to the fourth floor reception to be told that our room was on the first floor. The breakfast room was also on the 4th floor but the food was basic with very little variety of on offer. The room itself had a toilet / shower, but the shower was just attached to the wall with no cubicle, whilst at the same time it was not designed as a wet room. The staff are helpful and welcoming but the main reason for the poor review is the room price charged could not be justified by the quality of the room provided.

Room Tip: Room to the rear of the hotel (Via dell'Uivo) was very noisy will late night revellers as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joey1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpaolo, Proprietario at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Sir,
first of all we would like to thank you about your kind review. We are really sorry about the fact that you are not entirely satisfied about your stay at our hotel but all you needed to do, as far as the problem related to the mattress is concerned, was to inform the concierge about this problem and then we would have proceeded to fix it by replacing your mattress with a better one. As for the breakfast, we are really surprised to acknowledge that you didn't fully appreciate ours which, according to all previous reviews and our own experience, is our top offer and pride. We believe that to provide a wide range of products such as cappuccino, American coffee and espresso, all sorts of tea flavours, fresh croissants and cakes, toasts, eggs, syrup peaches, salami, ham of both kinds, all yoghurt flavours, cereals, corn flakes, chocolate, jam, golden rusks, grain bread, honey and finally fresh pressed orange juice is sufficient for a complete and, I dare say, mouth watering continental breakfast. Therefore, we kindly invite you next time in summer to enjoy our breakfast on our panoramic terrace.
Always welcome, best regards,
Paolo Benedetti
Hotel Bodoni Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Don't be thrown off by the ugly government building next door and the nondescript facade of the Hotel Bodoni. Once you get inside and travel up the elevator to the 4th floor, you will feel as if you are in a cute boutique hotel. The staff is exceptionally warm and friendly. The room is basic and is very small with not much space for suit cases, but it is very clean. There was a slight mildew smell when we came in, but after the windows were opened for a few minutes it dissipated. The location is perfect and there are some great places close by for sandwiches and have dinner (Antica Noe is just one). There is a grocery store right across the street as well. The breakfast was serviceable and fresh. The main reason we give the hotel 5 stars is because of the excellent customer service. We stayed in room 24 which is on the 5th floor. I suggest requesting the 4th or 5th floors (better views and closer to breakfast room).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlacklabMookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Went to Florence for a city break and good price on this hotel compared to others in the same area.

Arrive not knowing anything about the location and first thought of the hotel were very average. The room smelled quite musty and we had twin beds pushed together instead of the double we were expecting. The bathroom was ok as I knew before hand it would just be a wet room and the shower was decent.

I am quite easy going when it comes to city breaks though and this kind of thing to a point does not bother me too much if there are a lot of positives to be had and in this case that was the case.

The staff of the hotel were very friendly, our room was changed every day and the location is superb. Its so close to the all the places you want to go but set back enough not to be too noisy.

The guy on reception recommended a restaurant which was very nice and the staff were attentive at breakfast.

The rooms really are just somewhere to crash. They are basic, they need a good freshen up but they are clean enough. I think the musty smell could be dampness from the bathroom.

For what we paid though I was content enough. Probably would look to stay in a nicer hotel if I went back but on a budget you cannot beat this place for location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This extremely well positioned hotel, offers a budget stay in Florence with walking distance to all main sites. The breakfast was very special with freshly squeezed orange juice and the best coffee experience. Rooms are comfortable and staff are exceptional. Thank you Bodoni!!!! My husband and I just fell in love with Firenze!! Take a walk at sunset to Piazza Michaelangelo and soak up the view - stunning.

Room Tip: Book a room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaMMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel located on the 2 top floors of an apartment building gives you not just an excellent view over Florence, but the balconies are situated towards the Duomo which makes the view downright breathtaking. I stayed there for 5 days with my mother and we were pleasently surprised by the staff's positive attitude and english skills. The hotel was just 5 minutes away from the Duomo and located on a busy street with several groceries, banks and shops. Our room was equipped with a double bed, a tv, air condition, wifi (though the signal was weak at times, the lobby was best suited for browsing) and a small bathroom with a toilet and shower hose (the drain was built in the tile floor). I think the bathroom was the only less comfortable part of the room, though it sufficed. Breakfast was your standard version with baked goods, cereal, a chesse and meat plate from local groces and some veggies and fruit.
It was a very pleasant experienece overall and I'd return anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iva_Zisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#134 of 410 in Florence
671 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#95 of 410 in Florence
775 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#185 of 410 in Florence
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ungherese
#212 of 410 in Florence
268 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#184 of 410 in Florence
320 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#215 of 410 in Florence
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bodoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodoni

Address: Via Dei Martiri del Popolo 27, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £44 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bodoni 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the center of the town, near the main shopping center, the Duomo and the church of S.Croce, the Hotel Bodoni is the ideal place for a quiet and comfortable stay. You will appreciate the comfortable lounges and open terraces, where you can relax after walking around the places of historical interest. We offer you an atmosphere where restfulness prevails.All rooms have modern furniture, shower/WC and air conditioning.Our terms are most reasonable and we are here to do our best to make your stay in Florence a happy onePossibility of Garage nearby. We will make you feel welcome at the Hotel Bodoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bodoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing