We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Great Location”
Review of Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City
Ranked #60 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here in December 2012. We found the location excellent - easy walk to train station and all the major sites of Florence. Staff were helpful, breakfast very good - would recommend this hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimgar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

This hotel was lovely, we stayed 4nights and really enjoyed our stay. We arrived by train from Venice and it was an easy walk to the hotel. The hotel is in a great location , restaurants, markets and the Duomo nearby . Our room was at the back of the hotel and facing a small courtyard which was a lovely outlook. The staff were exceptional , the breakfast buffet superb.
Would really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This is a very lovely hotel in a very good location. It is a few minutes walk from the train station. If you are taking the train to or from Florence. It is very convenient. Also, if you are booking a tour outside of Florence, it is where the group meets. Everything is within walking distance including the Duomo, shops and restaurants.
Our hotel room was very nice and clean. It was not very roomy but it was adequate. The hotel staff were all very nice. The hotel is right on a busy street but we never had any problem with noise. We slept so good during our entire stay here. The bed is very comfortable. Its just weird that each time you leave, you have to give your room key back and ask for it again each time you come back. The only problem we had is when we started smelling cigarette smoke in the hallway and it was coming in to our room. It's a non-smoking hotel but it seemed like the people next door were smoking in their room. We complained at the front desk but the woman was very hesitant to check on the people next door. We didn't hear back from them about it.
Regarding their breakfast buffet, it was exceptional. The food was delicous with many variety and it was well supplied. The service was excellent. I would stay at this hotel again when I return to Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToniLuvsScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in Nov. 2012, based on Trip Advisor reviews and overall I was really happy with the hotel. As others have said, it's very close to the train station and the Duomo, which is just amazing. Breakfast was very good-lots of choices-and the hotel was spotless. Had a few minor complaints: we were there on a Sat. night and there was lots of noise coming up from the street until 1:00 AM. We had also called the desk for an extra pillow (twice) but it never appeared, although we did get one by asking directly the next day. The people manning the desk was very nice and helpful, suggesting places we could visit when we only had a few hours to spare.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is a gem and the staff was wonderful! Very helpful and friendly with our toddler. The room was spacious and clean - very simple. The bathroom was newly renovated and the breakfast was superb! But the best about this hotel was its location - 5 min walk from the train station (central station) and walking distance to all the attractions, touristic points, etc. You can't drive there though, but the hotel offers (paid) parking (reserved) at the train station, which we used for our rental.

The only thing is that the hotel does not offer free bed, pack n play for babies and toddlers and having our toddler sleep somewhere else than our bed would have been great!

We asked for a room facing the courtyard - no noise whatsoever, but someone did complain about us! We closed our window and it was fine, but yeah - no open windows or maybe someone will complain.

Room Tip: rooms facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JR345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This is a great hotel with a high standard of decor and cleanliness. Great breakfast, staff very friendly and helpful - except, as we visited in November we are a little disappointed that heating is only provided in the morning. Resting in the room prior to going out for dinner, we found the room chilly and the staff's only response was that heating is only provided in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthou1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed here for only 2 nights in September and I wish we could have stayed longer. It as an excellent Hotel. The location was the best! We walked with two big suitcases from the Station and found it easily! The room was very good and the shower was the best we had experienced in Italy! Wi-fi in all the rooms which was fantastic. The breakfast was another story.....so much food and we did eat a lot, had to skip lunches and survived on breakfast and dinner. It was also a fantastic location and within walking distance of most tourist sites in Florence. We would love to re-visit Florence and could stay easily for a week at the City Hotel! The front Office staff were also very helpful and eager to assist us with directions.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and faced the street. No noise so it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandypink1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#68 of 410 in Florence
569 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#58 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#50 of 410 in Florence
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#82 of 410 in Florence
1,201 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#72 of 410 in Florence
1,041 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Address: Via Sant'Antonino 18 | San Lorenzo District, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £76 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing