We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but sweet”
Review of Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City
Ranked #56 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short but sweet”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I only stayed here for one night on our European vacation. It was incredibly close to the train station, the Duomo and other great spots. The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The room was very clean and had a old charm feel. I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aschmdt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    187
    24
    2
    3
See reviews for
84
274
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Went to Florence solo in July 2014. This hotel seemed to be a nice place to stay and indeed it was. I should say that everything that I expected and waited for has been delivered or even exceeded.

A lot has been said about the hotel's location - counting out that the street is a narrow and busy, I must say that the location alone is really an asset. See for yourself: you have 5-10 minutes from the train/bus station (i.e., transfer to airport) and then you have 5-10 minutes to Il Duomo and all other landmarks are easily accessed from this cathedral.

I should probably say more about two important features which usually raise many questions: the bathing room outside your living room and safety deposit.

Bathing room which is outside your living room is suited only for you - you can even close it with the key and no one can enter there. So no, it's not a common bathing room for various guests. It is also very neat and tidy, so I can assure that that's definitely isn't a problem if you happen to choose that kind of rooms. And it's rather big, there's literally as much space as in the living room.

Safety deposit can be used only by you - it's opened with two keys, one of which is master key for all safety boxes and the second is the single one which you can have with you all the time. It's not possible to open the box without two keys at a time, so you can be sure that all your posessions are really safe.

Speaking of the downsides, I can probably mention the rather slow lift but I don't think that it's really fatal. Especially if you consider all of the positive aspects of this hotel.

Speaking about the staff - I must note that they have been very polite and nice all the way.

Anyway, I can recommend this hotel to anyone going to Florence and looking for a nice, safe and friendly place to make a base in the city. Definitely will go here if I return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay_Petrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very good location, foot-distance from all attractions. Near train station (walking distance). Near the central market. Very good staff. Very nice and clean rooms. Good breakfast. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed with two friends at Hotel City end of June this year and we were all absolutely delighted with this hotel.

The staff is lovely and welcoming, the room was spacious enough for three people (highly unusual with an extra bed) and everything, including the bathroom, was immaculately clean.

Breakfast is more than adequate and despite coming down quite late every morning we were in no way rushed.

I would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay there again when I return to Florence.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pottinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in June 2014. Parking was very convenient, indoors at the nearby Central Station, with easy access to get out of the city. The lobby is simple, but the rooms are very good. Quiet, good beds, sufficient space, modern bathroom (with stand-up shower and complete toiletries). We had a problem one night with the AC, and called the lobby who fixed it at once. Breakfast consisted of cold cuts, but was high quality and sufficient. The central market and the main cathedral are just a 5 minutes walk away. We loved the hotel and will return. Highly recommended/

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndoTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very close to train station and very nice room. Good breakfast and wifi. Florence was such a small city that, although restaurants and attractions were not right outside, walking was no problem. Had a list of TV channels in English which was nice for relaxing just before bed. Would stay there again and recommended it to parents when they asked, my favorite hotel on a six hotel Europe trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I've been in this hotel many times and always was satisfied. I used to fee like to stay at home. Service offered at any time was efficient and rooms are clean and comfortable. From the hotel you can go in a short time walking to visit many important monuments and art exhibitions. You can also easily take buses and trains to visit other cities and places in Tuscany. .

Room Tip: It's a nice small hotel near the S.M.N. railway station which offers a comfortable but familiar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gicut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
794 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#58 of 412 in Florence
1,232 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#66 of 412 in Florence
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,718 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 412 in Florence
1,029 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Property: Hotel City
Address: Via Sant'Antonino 18 | San Lorenzo District, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing