We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City
Ranked #56 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on my own for two nights. Location was great, easy walking distance to the train station. Room was comfortable and the bathroom and shower was amazing! The breakfast was adequate. Easy walking distance to the city center. I booked this place because of the reviews and cancelled another hotel I had booked that had not so good reviews, and was significantly higher in price. So this place was a great value! Would definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank EM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    188
    24
    2
    3
See reviews for
85
275
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent location, close to the train station and the central market. Staff was friendly and the room was spacious. Ok, maybe some streetnoise but this is part of the vivid Florence nightlife. Breakfast was Ok but a bit to sweet for me :) Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomV9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Central location. Air conditioning drowned out the noisy street below & smell of constant cigarette smoke from outside. Very close to train station & touristy stuff . High ceilings, clean room, nice big bathroom, comfy bed, good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annlee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Ideal hotel located very close to the train station which was ideal not having to drag bags around the city or hunt for the hotel, and on the doorstep of markets ( end of the street) , dining , sites . Staff were REALLY friendly and helpful. Cute decor , beautifully decorated for a basic hotel. Breakfast was very nice. I would DEFINITELY stay here again. Particularly if solo as it's in a busy safe street and has a very friendly atmosphere in the hotel.

Room Tip: I booked late so my room had an external bathroom - which was HUGE , directly outside my room and ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARYChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I only stayed here for one night on our European vacation. It was incredibly close to the train station, the Duomo and other great spots. The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The room was very clean and had a old charm feel. I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aschmdt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Went to Florence solo in July 2014. This hotel seemed to be a nice place to stay and indeed it was. I should say that everything that I expected and waited for has been delivered or even exceeded.

A lot has been said about the hotel's location - counting out that the street is a narrow and busy, I must say that the location alone is really an asset. See for yourself: you have 5-10 minutes from the train/bus station (i.e., transfer to airport) and then you have 5-10 minutes to Il Duomo and all other landmarks are easily accessed from this cathedral.

I should probably say more about two important features which usually raise many questions: the bathing room outside your living room and safety deposit.

Bathing room which is outside your living room is suited only for you - you can even close it with the key and no one can enter there. So no, it's not a common bathing room for various guests. It is also very neat and tidy, so I can assure that that's definitely isn't a problem if you happen to choose that kind of rooms. And it's rather big, there's literally as much space as in the living room.

Safety deposit can be used only by you - it's opened with two keys, one of which is master key for all safety boxes and the second is the single one which you can have with you all the time. It's not possible to open the box without two keys at a time, so you can be sure that all your posessions are really safe.

Speaking of the downsides, I can probably mention the rather slow lift but I don't think that it's really fatal. Especially if you consider all of the positive aspects of this hotel.

Speaking about the staff - I must note that they have been very polite and nice all the way.

Anyway, I can recommend this hotel to anyone going to Florence and looking for a nice, safe and friendly place to make a base in the city. Definitely will go here if I return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay_Petrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very good location, foot-distance from all attractions. Near train station (walking distance). Near the central market. Very good staff. Very nice and clean rooms. Good breakfast. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
795 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#57 of 412 in Florence
1,235 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#67 of 412 in Florence
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,721 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 412 in Florence
1,030 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#78 of 412 in Florence
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Property: Hotel City
Address: Via Sant'Antonino 18 | San Lorenzo District, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing