We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel in the heart of Florence”
Review of Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City
Ranked #55 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel in the heart of Florence”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near the railway station. The room was comfortable and clean, with shuttered windows opening on roads which were pedestrianized most of the time. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy. Superb fresh fruit and an excellent choice of breads, cheeses and yogurt.
The staff were so friendly and helpful, I would go back here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidEgryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    183
    23
    1
    3
See reviews for
82
268
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hotel City had one of the largest hotel rooms we experienced on our journey across Europe. The included breakfast was excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was well-equipped and large for European rooms in our price range. The street was busy but we heard nothing in the room. The location was near the train station and a number of value-priced ethnic restaurants. We also enjoyed the 'Everything 1 Euro' (literally 99 Cents) stores nearby. The open-air market is close but it wasn't much of a value. Be sure to keep the heavy curtains from blocking the vents for the air conditioner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City of Greater Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely room and very easy to find from the termini. The room was so "Italian" just beautiful with little shutter windows opening out onto the cobblestoned path ways. The room was very clean and a very new looking bathroom.The breakfast was lovely,lots of breads,meats,cheeses and cereals to pick from. Also a tip if you want a cappuccino or latte coffee, ask the waitress she will make you one(they aren't on display). The motel is 5 mins walk away from a fantastic market which is open every day and is in the heart of all the tourist areas. There are great restaurants and bars all within 10 mins walking distance. The owner was so friendly, he booked our train tickets for us as well as giving us a little present when we left. I loved this place and would stay here agin.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claireklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on my own for two nights. Location was great, easy walking distance to the train station. Room was comfortable and the bathroom and shower was amazing! The breakfast was adequate. Easy walking distance to the city center. I booked this place because of the reviews and cancelled another hotel I had booked that had not so good reviews, and was significantly higher in price. So this place was a great value! Would definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank EM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent location, close to the train station and the central market. Staff was friendly and the room was spacious. Ok, maybe some streetnoise but this is part of the vivid Florence nightlife. Breakfast was Ok but a bit to sweet for me :) Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomV9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Central location. Air conditioning drowned out the noisy street below & smell of constant cigarette smoke from outside. Very close to train station & touristy stuff . High ceilings, clean room, nice big bathroom, comfy bed, good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annlee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Ideal hotel located very close to the train station which was ideal not having to drag bags around the city or hunt for the hotel, and on the doorstep of markets ( end of the street) , dining , sites . Staff were REALLY friendly and helpful. Cute decor , beautifully decorated for a basic hotel. Breakfast was very nice. I would DEFINITELY stay here again. Particularly if solo as it's in a busy safe street and has a very friendly atmosphere in the hotel.

Room Tip: I booked late so my room had an external bathroom - which was HUGE , directly outside my room and ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARYChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
788 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#60 of 422 in Florence
1,203 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 422 in Florence
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#37 of 422 in Florence
2,673 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#41 of 422 in Florence
780 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Property: Hotel City
Address: Via Sant'Antonino 18 | San Lorenzo District, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing