We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as Wonderful on the Second Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
Ranked #185 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We staying in the Dante in Florence in 2012 and again in 2013. I would return again, and again. Hoteliers Elton and lovely wife Rosanna are wonderful hosts who truly care about their clients. We were enthusiastically welcomed back to Dante and again enjoy the same caring service. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is the best we had during our three weeks in Italy. Dante is close to the heart of Florence and some of the best restaurants are within a short walking distance from the Dante.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPL33401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Comfortable and extremely well located small hotel on the quiet side of the church of Santa Croce. Very nice management. I used to live in Florence and I know this area very well. Comfortable and clean and quiet. yet steps to everything. Wifi worked very well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tobytlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My parents, my sister and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights 4 days. We stayed in a cuadruple room which was very spacious and clean. It looked to me as if it used to be an apartment because it had a small kitchen between the two bedrooms and it had its own bathroom which was just a bit small, but it was indeed clean. Service was great, easy check in and easy check out. Very friendly staff. Breakfast consited of breads, eggs, fruits, juices, yogurts, hams and cheeses and their coffee was really good.
It was very close to Piazza Santa Croce (within walking distance).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janagdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our second visit to the Hotel Dante. Family owned, it is right next to the main square down a side street, and is accessible to absolutely everything.
Some of the rooms have been renovated and the one we stayed in was very modern, and the bathroom was quite large, and was also very modern.
Wi Fi worked well at this hotel, and the breakfast was very nice with lovely cafe latte's!
We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room #1 which was on the main floor. It was pretty quiet, and was a good sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathleenw920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Friendly hotel with a good breakfast choice. No tea or coffee facilities in room. No safe in room. The air conditioning was really unbelievably noisy and we had to turn it off at night as it was like Chinese torture. The hotel is very close to the square which is a meeting place for the world and is lively until about 2 am every night what with that and the air con our first couple of nights were long. The hotel is basic but clean and the best thing about it was the male receptionist. Florence has to be one of the most overpriced cities I have ever visited be prepared. I found the people mostly rude and I doubt very much if I will be returning.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs or a bottle of duty free if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Hotel review - hotel dante, florence, Italy, September 2013

Great location, in the Santa Croce area, owners are super sweet and helpful, wifi is quite ify, if you got it its weak, if you don't you don't.
Breakfast is pretty good, standard european breakfast, sweet breads, colds cuts, cheeses etc, plus cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit and hardboiled eggs.
Rooms are small and basic, but clean. We had an inside room, 3rd floor, with kitchenette. no real view to speak of but quiet. Don't expect to cook much in the kitchenette, but great for light fare, and fridge.
Really, super convenient to many things. I'd book here again.

Room Tip: Seems inside rooms are more quiet. Rooms are small so rooms with kitchenette offer a bit more elbow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Rooms were clean, good breakfast Btw take few snacks to go you will need them after hours walking around Florence. WIFI works my only but was the air conditioner which was temperamental: one day worked, other was freezing us and some other decided not to work and go back the cycle.

Nice people, very friendly run the place and they try their best for you to have a great stay.
Hotel is well located, half block from Sta Croce, few minutes from Palazzo Vecchio, il Duomo, etc, in other words you are closed of the main attractions, it was good for us as we could go back in the afternoon to rest a little and then go back.

Room Tip: Talk to the owner he will show you the "tricks" to have the AC Back running. They also giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaO29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#130 of 410 in Florence
636 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Bodoni
Hotel Bodoni
#186 of 410 in Florence
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mia Cara & Spa
Hotel Mia Cara & Spa
#115 of 410 in Florence
479 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#134 of 410 in Florence
671 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#90 of 410 in Florence
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Poeta Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Poeta Dante

Address: Via San Cristofano 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £46 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Poeta Dante 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Il Poeta Dante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dante Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing