We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

My 3 year old daughter, brother, sister in-law, 2 teenagers and I stayed at this wonderful hotel in March. This was my 4th time to Florence and I definitely can say my favourite hotel. Not only do they provide exceptional customer service but they have some great little perks. Such as a great breakfast, snacks in your room with complimentary beverages, and an evening wine reception with assorted snacks. They even let each room call long distance daily on their phone free of charge. And they have a computer to use at no charge.... you can not beat the value or the nightly rate. When I come back, I will definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank happytravellercms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation I see that all of you were happy to be with us and you enjoyed our freebies and services! Next time you decide to come to Firenze your home abroad is here!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,664
    292
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
591
1,807
77
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

We spent four nights at Hotel David in early April. Our room was very large and nicely decorated with a mix of antique and new furniture. The bathroom was HUGE even by American standards. The bath fixtures were modern and recently updated.

We had note that the trip to Italy was celebrating our tenth wedding anniversary when we made our reservation. When we arrived at our room the hotel had left a bottle of Prosceco and glasses for us to enjoy.

The hotel is located a good fifteen minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio. This was not a problem for us since we enjoyed the walk and the weather was perfect. But it could be a problem for some travelers if they prefer not to be that far from most of the attractions. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel too if the walk is too much.

Overall we thought this hotel was a very good value for the price. We had a large comfortable room. The breakfast was nice. We took advantage of the evening "happy hour" in the garden. And we enjoyed the free first fill of the mini bar in our room. By the way, additional snacks and beverages to refill the mini bar a priced very reasonably.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nd_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 24 April 2011
Dear Guest,

I'm happy you enjoyed our hospitality and our small present to celelbrate your special occasion. I'm glad you liked the new room we have made and I hope to see you next time you have a special occasion to celebrate.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snoqualmie, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel David at the end of March. This hotel is amazing. The staff are friendly and helpful with great restaurant suggestions. American hotels could learn a few things from hotel David! We had two adjacent rooms for our family of 6. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. This hotel is like staying with family. The rooms keys are large and old. Staff takes them when you leave and places them on a hook at the desk. So no risk of losing the key. I have never stayed in a hotel where things are based on the honor system. If you need water, wine, snacks, soda, etc. You take them from the small kitchen type area near the front desk and write down what you took on a receipt along with your room number. The mini bar was great. Even when you run out of things it is inexpensive to replace. Definitely opposite of American hotel mini-bars. Happy hour each night was inviting. Breakfast was delicious and we liked that bacon and eggs were in the buffet. We used the bus, we walked. Both were easy. All 6 of us loved Hotel David and continue to talk about it - and miss it. Thank you for memories of a life time in Florence!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jd3mccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words that come from your heart! This hotel is based on honor system it's been always like that and now even more with the new self service open bar!
Next time you decide to come to visit Florence you can trust on Hotel David!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

We stayed here in March 2011. We were very happy from the moment we arrived, the reception staff were very helpful, we arrived early and were able to leave our car and go off exploring, with the main sightseeing just 20mins walk away. When we arrived back we were shown to our room which was excellent. very clean and elegant, with a newly installed high quality bathroom, with double shower which was just great! The happy hour each evening was a good way to meet your fellow travlers and share experiences. The breakfast was a really large selection for Italian standards, hot and cold breakfast items from eggs and bacon to ham and cheese, with home made cakes and fresh coffee. Internet in the rooms and one full free mini bar were thoughtful additions. All the staff we met at Hotel David were very friendly, from room cleaners, breakfast, and reception. We felt very welcome and will definitely stay again on our next visit!!

Room Tip: when book hotel ask them 2 book gallary in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m8kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Nice to hear from you! I'm so glad you liked our new romantic room, as you noticed we have equipped the bathroom with new trends like the a big relaxing rain shower........but you have to see it!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

A really nice, quiet hotel. It's a converted 1850s residence with all the charm and eccentricity of these types of places. Very comfortable, bathrooms well lit. VERY helpful staff. Perfect for two women by themselves - the staff knows you're there.

Slightly off the beaten path, but within easy walking distance of all the cultural sights of Florence. And free WIFI. Always a plus.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byrdwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Dear Guests,

Nice to see you carry good memories about your trip to Florence I'm glad you enjoyed our hospitality and services!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchorage
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Great Service, Very Comfortable rooms,; Evening Happy Hour was relaxing. Breakfast was very good. I thought our room was spacious and extremely comfortable. The staff was superb! An Excellent Hotel After being in the chaos of Rome, this was like an Oasis. Loved Florence too. There is a Rotessarie (sp?) just aroung the corner with super friendly people. We purchased some cheeses, meats, portion of roasted chicken and took back to hotel, ate on their nice picnic/lounge area outside. Easy access to bus routes to get to tourist area of Florence, You are probably 1 1/2 miles from tourist area, but that is part of the beauty of this place, there are not a gazillion tourist in your area.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fieldandtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your post it clarifies correctly our location and services if this is what you are looking for.......we are here for you!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a four night stay at the Hotel David, along with our fifteen year old son.
The glowing reviews were the basis of our booking and we were not disappointed. The staff could not have been more helpful, the room was wonderful and the food was outstanding.
Don't hesitate; The hotel David deserves to be fully booked and you would not want to miss out!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pthomas046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write this post I'm happy you had good time with us and you liked our atmosphere, we are doing our best to make your holiday special!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing