We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best of Tuscany”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have been staying in Italy for a little while now and we only stopped in Florence for a night. Just one night at Hotel David was enough to make the experience incredible. We had the top floor which afforded an incredible view over Florence. We were also so happy with the staff, FREE parking, free Internet, and great location. It is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Room 30 is at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm happy you had good impression of the hotel even if you spent with us only a night it means that our welcomeing is good from the beguinning!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,697
    296
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
599
1,828
79
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morris Plains, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at Hotel David and this was by far an exceptional hotel. We were met with complete hospitality from the first moment we stepped in to last minute we left. I booked this hotel based on the reviews and felt only necessary to leave one myself because it was a great stay. The staff was wonderful, the rooms were spacious and extremely clean (we stayed in room 33 with 2 great balconies), the breakfast was delicious and had quite the spread, it was definitely a great stay. Thank you Hotel David for making our stay great!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TN16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I see that my new rooms are giving good feed backs and 33, the room without windows, too!
I'm happy you liked also our breakfast and I'm sure you will enjoy the padio as we get into the summer!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel was the best. We were at little skeptical at first because of the location and the distance to the main core area in florence, but after being there, we would definitely do it this way again. It is just a nice 20 min walk across the bridge to the main areas. The location was a plus, was a nice, quiet neighborhood. The rooms were ample in size, all different, so is a nice surprise, the couple that we were with had an entirely different room, both of which were wonderful. The main public area of the hotel was a great place to check your email and visit in the evenings, and of course the free drinks and snacks were a real treat during happy hour. The girl at the desk was super friendly and helpful with tours and tour companies and transportation information. There was a bus stop right outside and taxis easy to access. You could not go wrong with this hotel choice. Very personal and welcoming!!! oh and the breakfast room was so quaint and lovely and food very good also!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveller895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Nice to see that even if you wasn't sure our location then you realized it is a plus not to be downtown but close! Thank you for coming and for trusting us we are always at your disposal trying to do our best for making your holiday special!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on tripadvisor. The reviews did not let me down, this hotel is quite special and deservedly highly ranked by reviewers. This is a smaller hotel and you really do feel very welcome from the first minute of your arrival. I would fairly say the hotel enhanced my experience in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PipersByTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Staying at the Hotel David for 6 nights was one of the highlights of our recent trip to Florence, Venice and Rome! At breakfast our first morning, Maria told us how much she loves working at the hotel, and that if their customers want the moon, they'll try to get it. Our room on the top floor was lovely and spacious, with 2 balconies affording different views of Florence. Breakfasts were bountiful, fresh and well-prepared. It's an easy bus ride or walk into the city center. We found staying outside of the center to be ideal as we could leave the crowds behind, and enjoy quiet dinners at the trattorias and pizzerias in the neighborhood. Thank you, Gabriele, Michaele, Maria, Chiara and everyone else at the David for making our visit to Florence such a wonderful experience! We have never been treated so well! Carolyn and Stan

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caramaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I remember you asking me if the room has a bacony and I said no I'm sorry it has 2! We try to give you what we have and if we haven't we try to provide it but the moon......we are still working on that!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We have just returned from a week in Florence to celebrate our Silver Wedding. We stayed at Hotel David and the whole stay was a joy from beginning to end. Cleanliness and comfort are what we look for first and it is immaculate and the bedrooms so relaxing. Friendliness is next and all the staff were smiling and helpful, nothing was ever too much trouble and it was this kindness that helped us have such a wonderful break. This hotel was a joy to get back to after a strenuous sightseeing day in the city. Thank you Gabrielle, you have certainly got this right. We wish you great success. Thank you Chiara, Michelle, Vittoria and Maria and all the other staff.
We want to come back. Chris and Hazel

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the road may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest,

How can I forget you....thank you for your words and thank you for coming to stay with us for this special occasion and I'm sure you will come back in the future....
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

A delightful place to stay. A walm welcome which extends throughout the stay. We have been allocated Room No. 31 which is one of the recent additions, and overall it has been bellamisso!! Spacious, spotless - with a lovely bedroom (bed hanging from the ceiling), a modern bathroom and a lounge room. To top it up a magnificent balcony the size of a room with a view to the amazing Duoma. There is free Internet/wifi, free initial mini bar, ability to make overseas phone calls, and a happy hour and a half every night, ie wine and nibblies, not to mention breakfast - mainly comtinental, but eggs and bacon are available, as are expresso or cappucino on request. There are also laundry provisions Out of the old town but a 20 minute walk to the old city, or alternatively, the bus stop is just outside. A comfortable, friendly environment. We wouldn't consider anywhere else in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest,

That room is one of the 5 new flowers on the top floor there is no way to book it just be the fastest to book your next trip to Florence.....
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
818 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
3,417 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
480 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
287 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing