We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone is right, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Everyone is right, but...”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I felt very fortunate to be able to book a room on very short notice at Hotel David for my last two nights in Italy. I really procrastinated, and waited for the last minute to book each of my hotel rooms for this annual Italy trip I make. I wanted to end the trip with a couple of nights in Florence and as Hotel David is clearly the number one hotel in Florence on Trip Advisor, I jumped on the chance to stay there.

I'd be happy to echo what everyone else says. The hotel is beautiful, the furnishings tasteful and very attractive. The staff is wonderful and friendly. The facilities - particularly the bathrooms - modern, up-to-date and functioning well. Internet, and almost everything else works perfectly. This isn't a small thing.

Unfortunately, "almost" left out a particular thing for me - heat. I spent two cold nights in my room at the end of November and didn't get much sleep. The staff, dressed in a thick, warm sweater, tried to resolve the problem and improved the situation. However, the bed linen is really designed for a warm summer evening, and I was freezing at night. The staff pulled out two itchy wool blankets from my closet, but that really wasn't what I wanted.

In speaking with another guest, my room might have been a unique case as he felt his room was too warm. Apparently they don't turn on the heat until 7:30 at night. My room never really warmed up.

The other problem I had was the location. I don't mind that you have to walk a short distance to see the tourist spots, I wasn't really there for that anyway. My problem was that I arrived late on a Saturday night after a long working day, and I was tired and hungry. I couldn't find a place to eat nearby the hotel. There are plenty of small restaurants, but every single one of them was full and couldn't seat me. Eventually, I had to take a pizza back to my room. There's nothing much in the immediate vicinity.

I hate to write such a disappointing review for a hotel that has such a wonderful and caring staff. Maybe I let my expectations get too high because of all of the other reviews. I would imagine if your plan is to take in all the sites and not spend too much time in the hotel, this is a great place to start. But if all you want to do is unwind after a long week in and around Italy, there are probably better options out there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

An unhappy Guest is always sad....for everyone! Despite we have reception open 24h we know about the problem in the late evening of the last of the 2 nights here....and I believe it's too late! Despite we all have travelled abroad you cannot know all different habitudes we have so you could have come to the reception and tell us your situation...wasn't it looking strange to be the only one at the hotel to have cold in the room? We don't use air conditioning but central heating in winter and if the radiator is closed in the room it will remain cold! We would have preferred a bit more interaction with the reception so that we could have solved the problem much before and you would have had a worm room like all the others.
Same thing for the restaurants for dinner.....reception is there to assist you in making reservations to main activities and restaurants too and also gives you suggestion of where to go and when, always following your wishes but if you don't ask we are not able to read in your mind.
Same thing for the location....it's the first think you ask to yourself before booking an hotel: do you want to stay downtown or a bit outside? The answer will give you the exact location where to book!
My only regret is not for the bad rating but for the opportunity I have lost to make your stay very enjoyable like 98% of our Guests....
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,697
    296
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
599
1,828
79
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Are they nicer looking hotels? Of course
Are there hotels with nicer looking facilities? Of course
That's not the point here.
It's an older 3 star family run hotel.
The staff at this hotel are among the best hotel employees I have ever dealt with.
The breakfast is amazing, especially the orange cake :)
The coffee was delicious. The meats, were tasty. I have never had such wonderful tomatoes before either.
I don't quite understand the complaints made in some reviews. The hotel location is clearly located on the website. It is indeed a 15 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio bridge for easy access to Uffizzi museum. D bus directly to/from SMN train station, and 23 bus will take you to Piazza San Marco by Accademia. The minibar was pre-stocked with free beverages. The hotel sells bus tickets at the standard 1.20 Euro price (they are 2 Euro if you buy them on the bus)
Love the rain shower head. Bathroom also had a bidet. Love the orange cake... Oh yeah, did I mention the orange cake?
Breakfast and evening happy hour are included in the price, as well as the original stocking of the minibar. The minibar one bag of potato chips,2 small bottles of juice (peach, pear) , pepsi, water (gas/no gas), orange soda, lemon soda, and pepsi free, They did offer to exchange what we didn't want. There are 2 apple computers and a printer for guest use. They also have free WIFI... I will recommend this place to anyone I know who is planning a visit. If I go back to Florence, and cannot book their apartment by the PV Bridge, I will stay at Hotel David.

Room Tip: I doubt they have any bad ones :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtravel-gmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

A big thank you from all the Staff of the David that every day, every year gives its best to make you feel at home knowing that we can always make it better!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Of the 2 weeks we spent in Italy this hotel had the largest rooms by far. The staff was so friendly and helpful as well. The breakfast was great and in a very comfortable area. Happy hour drinks and food were served in the sitting area. We returned from dinner one evening to find a tray of after- dinner liquors so we could try any of them ( there were about 8-10 different things). We would highly recommend this hotel while staying in Florence. Y

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine_M12Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your review I'm very happy you had good time with us and I see you already discovered one of our new services we are testing for 2014!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed 4 nights in November. I had a smaller room on the first floor facing the back with a balcony. Lovely and quiet. Bathroom was immaculate. Great bed too. The reception staff were all lovely, and as another reviewer mentioned, when I wanted the bus, she walked outside to show me. While the walk into town is easy and pretty, the bus is pretty genius. The hotel sells tickets. You hop on one of two main routes steps from the front door and you're off. I especially appreciated the honor bar, it was lovely to come home from a day of walking to fix a cup of tea and some cake. The breakfast was also exceptional. Can't say enough. Will be back and will recommend!

Room Tip: Opt for the back for extra quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tags121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for trusting us....I'm very happy you found what you were looking for and I'm sure I will have the pleasure to welcome you this time as a repeater Guest!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My mom, aunt and I decided to take a trip to Rome, Siena, Florence and Barcelona ... This was by far the best hotel that we stayed at! The free accommodations are outstanding, from a free 10 min international phone call, to laundry, mini bar, a spacious room, continental breakfast and more! It's a short walk (20 min) from all the attractions and frankly it's nice getting away from all the hustle and bustle that you deal with throughout the day. The staff is GREAT! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wmoore568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us, I'm very happy you took advantage of all the services and if you are coming back next time you will find some new services like the Amaretto time in the evening....
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
255 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights at the David and was very impressed. I won't go over all the other good things other reviewers have posted but will add a small example of how this place has things just right.

We were leaving Florence by train the following day and my wife was a bit anxious about getting to the station on time. She had read that the bus ran past the hotel and directly to it but was still unsure we would do that right. We asked the receptionist who assured us it wouldn't be any problem and actually walked out of the hotel and crossed the road with us to show us exactly where we needed to be to catch the bus the next day. Of course, it all turned out fine.

I could go on with more good things to say but I would just end by recommending the David without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us here at the David and I'm so happy you had good time and you were impressed of our way to welcome you all! We will always do our best to go over your expectations and next time you will be coming we will be here for you...
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed for four nights in october.All the good reviews we had read prior to our visit were exactly true.The staff were welcoming and friendly - especially Christina who helped with restaurant bookings and other queries we had.The hotel was spotless. We had room no 1 which had a four poster bed and a bathroom with a double shower.There is a varied delicious breakfast and a charming young lady on hand to give any assistance.The hotel is in a good location - an easy fifteen minute walk by the side of the Arno to the Ponte Vecchio.Our holiday in beautiful Florence was made more special by staying at the Hotel David. Could recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel.The road is rather busy but we heard no noise at all because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm very happy you had good time with us and you enjoyed our hospitality and I'm sure you will be back one day!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
818 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
3,417 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
480 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
287 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing