We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best 3-star hotel ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best 3-star hotel ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel David for 5 nights in early December and this hotel is exactly what the reviews have made it to be and more! The staff from reception to breakfast service - Cristina, Vittoria, Maria, Michael, Joel were warm and had a great service attitude. I liked the homely feel of Hotel David. Rooms were big and clean and the bathroom looked recently refurbished with dual sinks and a great shower space with Grohe shower heads. Wifi was available in rooms and at a good speed. I will not repeat the rest of what other guests have mentioned. Prior to booking the hotel, I had called the hotel to ask a few questions and Mr Cecioni had highlighted that the hotel is not in the town centre itself but is a 15-20 walk and a 5 min bus journey away which is no hassle for me. This is a propert that is excellently managed and I congratulate Mr Cecioni for raising the bar for all fellow hoteliers to emulate!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your words of appreciation and be sure that we will raise the bar next year too to make this place even better for all of you coming in 2014!
I wish you all the best for the new year coming!
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,706
    297
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
603
1,832
79
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband, 2 daughters, ages 16 & 19 spent three nights at Hotel David from December 21-December 24 during our Christmas trip to Italy. We cancelled our original reservation after reading so many positive reviews about Hotel David and booked 2 rooms for our family---the best decision of our trip thus far! The rooms were pristine, the gathering areas were warm and inviting and the interaction between hotel guests during the nightly happy hour was unforgettable. The morning breakfast is not to be missed!! We are now in Rome until December 27th and our daughters keep saying, "We miss Hotel David!" Our expectations were high and this hotel did not disappoint!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy you spent with us your Xmas holidays and I'm so glad you where not disappointed ! I wish you all the best for the new year coming!
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel David for 3 nights for my husbands 50th birthday, it was just lovely. All the staff were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable, it was November but the hotel was lovely and warm. The first mini bar is free, At 6pm every evening the hotel puts on a lovely little buffet of canapes nice wine and fresh juice, you just help yourself. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this is definitely at the top of the list, excellent little hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliep409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your post there is always a bit of exitement when you book an hotel for a so important happening and expectation goes high and when things go right.....
I wish you a good ending and top beginning!
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I was wondering what was so special about this hotel as I was looking through the pictures. I just checked in and I can already tell you the room totally blew out expectations! And what was even more fantastic was that upon check in we were given a page to highlight what additional things we would be getting during our stay for FREE. I can see why this hotel got the number one spot in Florence on TripAdvisor. Well done.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kashyap U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

You make us very proud of our way of welcoming our Guests and I'm sure you understood the secret of our hotel which is the feeling of.....
My best wishes for happy ending and the best beginning of 2014!
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

After reading such wonderful reviews, we booked here. It was the second most expensive of our entire trip to Europe but it was worth it. We had a large suite right on the top floor of the hotel with a terrace that looked out towards the city skyline. We spent almost every evening sitting out on our terrace just enjoying the cool air and the view.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like old friends instead of guests and it made all the difference. We cant thank the staff enough for their friendliness and hospitality- it was a highlight of all our accommodation. The rooms were very clean and well furnished and did I mention the space - we had so much room! There was even a small alcove where we had our very own massage chair and it was definitely put to use after all the walking we did during the day.

The breakfasts were amazing, a great selection of delicious food and we ate there every day. The hotel is a little distance from the city on the other side of the river but we caught buses and it was never really an issue (other than trying to figure out which bus!).

The hotel is on a busy road so it was noisy with the door open but that didn't distract at all. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get the room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRocksKiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your kindness I'm so happy you felt like at home and I'm sure you will be back some day in the future and we will be here!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was a little sceptical about the rave reviews but the Hotel David lived up to them. Staff is wonderful, room was quiet, and the exercise to get to the historic area did us good. I've been telling everyone about the Hotel David.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor. We could see the Duomo from the balcony and it was quiet at night, import...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judynova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We all thank you for your post I'm happy to read that despite your doubts you had good time with us...see you next time then!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers grove, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

What a great setting for an anniversary trip to Italy!! Talk about getting you into the European feel. This boutique hotel is essentially a B&B. The rooms are adorable, there's wine and cheese in the afternoon, an honor bar for drinks, and it's walking distance to downtown Florence along the river. Doesn't get any better. The staff are very helpful too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very happy you were not disappointed as you came for a so special event! Already planning your next anniversary trip?
My best wishes for a happy new 2014!
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing