We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, good choice for Florence” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, good choice for Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Location: The hotel is not far from the train station. If you take a taxi, it will cost between 10-12 euro. You can also take a bus and it's quite convenience. The hotel website has a detail description of transportation to hotel. It's not at the center of the attractions, it's always a 10-20 minutes commute before you get to any attractions. I didn't mind because it means a quieter neighborhood for sleeping, but I know some people might find that annoying.

The room: The room is very spacious. Only shower is available, no bath. Room condition is excellent. They put two full size bed together and make it a king size bed. I can feel the gap between the two beds. I don't know if this is the case for other rooms as well.

Food: I didn't like the breakfast selections. I like how they offer free happy hours. There are two happy hours: one before dinner time and one late happy hour. There's a mini bar in the room and drink/food is free. As water is charged everywhere in Italy, I find the free water very valuable.

Staff: friendly staff and very helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icewine1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm happy to read that you had good time with us and you appriciated our effort to do our best to provide a good mix of services and efficent reception.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,664
    292
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
591
1,807
77
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I was here a couple of years ago and enjoyed my stay so when I came back to Florence for the weekend, of course I came back to Hotel David! They've recently remodeled so they are accessible, which is kind of unusual in Italy. The rooms are large and have nice modern amenities - like a free mini bar and good wifi (free!). The staff is amazing. The free amenities are wonderful - free printing, free wifi, breakfast, happy hour, free after dinner cocktails, and I could go on and on. It's not downtown but it's walking distance to Ponte Vecchio and there is a bus stop literally in front of the hotel. Try to get one of the rooms on the third floor for a view of the Duomo - and tons of electrical outlets as they are recently redone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank jardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your nice words of appreciation I'm very happy that our standard rooms can match Us standard and I'm happy to be your N.1 in town!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I tried to book one of the larger rooms for my husband's first trip to Italy. It is my experience that a "small" room in Europe is teeny tiny to American standards. There was only a small room available so I booked it hoping to upgrade when we arrived. After arrival, I was told we had 2 "small" rooms to choose from. The first one was much larger than I expected and was fantastic. But, the second one was a floor higher and had a balcony! The room was ample. The bathroom was large with a nice walk-in shower. The balcony was lovely to sit out on in the evening. The bed was comfortable. Front desk and breakfast staff wonderful. We took advantage of the patio happy hour a couple evenings and met nice folks. I noticed that many of the guests were English speaking from Australia and Great Britain. It was nice being on the "other" side of the river and having that beautiful walk into downtown Florence. So far, this is the BEST lodging I have had in all Europe for the price. I hope to return to Florence and will definitely stay at Hotel David.

Room Tip: The small rooms aren't small at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrockett57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your post I'm so happy you had good time with us and we were able to go over your expectations!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very welcoming small hotel with some great features - free drinks and nibbles, great sitting area to chat with fellow guests over a glass of wine, and learn how to get the best from your trip. The walk into the centre is an attractive one along the river. There are plenty of family run restaurants within 10 minutes walk, or an up-market Italian just over the road. When you arrive just ask and information on getting into and out of Florence, and about its attractions is to hand. deserving of its No 1 spot!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your post and I'm so happy you had good time with us and you enjoyed our hospitality and I'm sure you will be back.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

....and that, in a city like Florence!
The trick is easy....take a good location (just outside city centre), excellent transport opportunities (bus D to ponte Vecchio, bus 23 to almost everywhere else), free parking (!!!), lovely rooms, fantastic shower, excellent breakfast (thank you Maria!!), free happy hour drinks and snacks and free night-cap amaretto, enthusiastic, smiling, helpful staff (special thanks to Cristina), free mini-bar refills, excellent wifi coverage (free of course...), macbooks and printer in the lounge - then ensure that it's all sparkling clean and super comfortable......see, it's easy!! Probably the best value for money we've had in a hotel in a long time. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor, very quiet even with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingFungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

You are right we are a 3 star hotel and we apologize for our Guests who wish we are a luxury hotel but we are not! All we can do is to do our best to provide the best compromise quality price with with a smiling efficient Staff!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

this hotel is one of the best i've ever stayed in, the people where happy and funny as well as helpful. it is only a 5 min walk along the river into florence, free mini bar and even free drinks later on in the evening i couldn't believe it was only a 3 star hotel i totaly loved the place. 10 out of 10 for everything. thanks hotel david me and my girlfriend love you!

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room if you are a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We love you Guests, you always support our effort to make this place special and we are so happy you had good time with us!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

2 star hotel-American standard; European-3star. lack of restaurants nearby. good deli across the street. long walk to ponti veccio. bus stops @8;00 pm requiring costly taxi back. charming surroundings. very helpful staff. appreciate freebees especially internet. breakfast not great .ridiculously small tv. helpful, enthusiastic staff. recommend hotel for avid walkers only. stayed for 4 nights . preferred Sorrento/amalfi coast to Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meboo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Every country has different standard and ones it's not a secret for anyone that we are 20 minutes from Ponte Vecchio I remind you that the only thing we cannot modify is our location but you can choose between many others downtown!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing