We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious room, welcoming staff, good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious room, welcoming staff, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We picked this hotel for our honeymoon because it was rated #1 on Tripadvisor and we sure are glad we did.

The hotel was tastefully decorated with a touch of humour, like the poster depicting all members of staff as a character from the Simpsons and the Ice Age squirrel which pointed the way to the breakfast room.

Staff were very friendly and helpful - helping us book restaurants and tours when we needed.

Rooms were spacious (we had two balconies!), clean and with decorated with attention to detail. Minibar in room and wifi was free.

Although it was a 20 minute stroll to Ponte Vecchio, we enjoyed taking different routes / bridges everyday.

It's however, very close to Piazzale Michelangelo, which had beautiful views of sunset.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huai_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We like to be professional but with a touch of humor that helps to keep a smile on our faces and yours too!
I'm very happy you chose us for your special event and I am even happier you were not disappointed!
We will be here next time you decide to visit Florence again!
My best
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,658
    292
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
591
1,802
77
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Tucked on a side street, where you can blend in and dine with the locals is this hidden gem! Short walking distance to the Ponte Vecchio, Michelangelo park, museums etc. breakfast is fabulous, everyone is very kind and courteous throughout the hotel. The river Arno has a very nice walkway, so enjoy the walk! Enjoy exploring! I would recommend going the last Sunday of the month for "white night".

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I have to thank you for coming to stay with us, I'm very happy you liked our location I still consider being a little outside town an advantage for many reasons but you have to be ready to walk for 20 minutes to downtown forward and back or to use our public transportation (2 minutes to Ponte Vecchio).
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Hotel David was a 15 minute walk along the river from Ponte Vecchio and the centre of town. For those who are looking to visit Il Duomo, Musee Accademia (Statue of David), the famous Ponte Vecchio bridge, the palace and Piazzale Michelangelo, plus some great local restaurants, Hotel David is a great place to stay. We had a family room (double bed, 2 singles) that was unusually large with a big ensuite. Breakfasts were very good, with a combination of hot and cold selections. And the staff were fantastic - they couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for coming to stay with us here at the David, I'm so happy you had good time and I'm sure you will be back next time you decide to come to Firenze!
My best
Gabriele Cecioni
'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

For top customer service, excellent value and good feel factor, look no further. We stayed for three nights last week and loved it. Our room was simple but comfortable and clean. The aperitivos early pm and digestivos later on are free and fabulous. We would return without hesitation. The staff are outstanding.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm happy you had good time here at the David and now that the season has started the Amaretto Time will be random one time during the week.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very nice hotel, with a marvelous staff, very nice breakfast. Had a room on the top floor and a balcony with a view. As I came driving, got use of free parking and then explored the city walking and on bus. It was very hot and we were there on a Sunday, so there weren't many things open, but the hotel could make it for us even more special. On top of everything they have a late-afternoon pre-dinner which includes wine and appetizers, all of them included on your room rate that was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rodlamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm honored to be your top notch....and I thank you for your nice word of appreciation!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Do yourself a favor and book this hotel if you are coming to Florence. This is my second time to stay at the Hotel David. We booked several months in advance, and we asked for room 31 because it has a terrace with a view of the Duomo. The room is incredibly large, with a great shower, and a very comfortable bed. They serve a great breakfast with eggs, bacon, pastries, cereal, and the man that works the breakfast is very nice and makes a great cappuccino. We love how friendly and helpful everyone is that works there. It was nice to make a phone call home even if my daughter didn't answer. I really liked the after dinner drinks. I have never found that at any other hotel. It truly feels like your home away from home. Thanks to the Hotel David for making me love Florence more.

Room Tip: Rooms 30 and 31 are spacious and have views of the Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnh415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

You have to improve if you want to feel alive....and we try to do our best to deserve all the nice words of appreciation we read on the reviews!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Hotel David in February in room 22. The room had its own balcony and was well appointed, although I would not describe it as luxurious. Nice large fluffy towels in the bathroom with a selection of good quality toiletries.

The edge that this hotel has is in the ambience created by the staff and other guests. The distance from the main sights (although easily walkable and not a problem) is offset by the extras provided to enhance the Hotel David experience.

It was lovely to spend time with the other guests in the evening over a glass of wine, or Italian liqueur and share information on restaurants, places to visit, how to get around etc.

Breakfast, was perfectly adequate, although the cooked items (eggs and bacon) were lukewarm. The free minibar and crisps were much appreciated, as was the welcome cake – a nice touch.

The staff were extremely efficient and very personable, overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Wild_Edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm very happy you had good time and you are right we are well appointed but not luxurius!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing