We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!What everyone says about this hotel is true.”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We are so impressed with this Hotel. Nice rooms , great staff . The extras at this Hotel are Great. A very good breakfast should satisfy every taste. A Happy hour with basically all you can eat and drink. A variety of beverages available . Wine and beer by the bottle at grocery store prices , in the lounge area.Unheard of at a hotel. Free minibars .10 minutes a day of free long distance phone use. Many extras that most hotels charge for.wonderful comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambientecorrales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for having chosen Hotel David for your sojourn in Florence! I'm very happy you had good time and I'm sure next time we will welcome you again here at the David!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,251 - 1,257 of 3,315 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Been here two nights so far out of the week we have booked, just superb, they have thought if everything to make you stay hassle free. Everything is included in your room tariff, even down to a 10 minute free call home every day, mini bar, happy hour with complementary, drinks and nibbles each day, car parking, great breakfast. It is a little way out of the centre along the river but bus ride is only 1.20 Euro each way, but in the morning a pleasant walk. The staff here are very attentive, knowledgable, and eager to help.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your review I'm happy you are having good time here and we will do our best to make your vacation over your expectation!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The most impressive hotel by his elegance , curtoasy,services.
You feel like in Paradise.
The owner and his colegues are very helpfull , make you feel in your family.
A lot of facilities as Happy Hour,free phone calls, free parking, free mini- bar make you feel very well served.
Thanks very much to all people from Hotel david - Firenze- Florence _ Italy

Room Tip: room number 30 with a big terrase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubuBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm very happy you had good time and I'm sure you will be back!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just returned from a 4-night stay at this wonderful hotel. We had a lovely spacious family room which was perfect for us. It didn't have a view as it was on the ground floor, but we didn't need one and the convenience of being on the ground floor with small kids (6 and 3) was more necessary. So, ideal for us, plus we didn't spend a lot of time in the room apart from sleeping/napping. We arrived in Florence on the Monday and we spent the afternoon checking out Florence taking it in turns to carry our 3-year-old when she was tired. After we returned to the hotel that evening all tired out the owner kindly brought out one of their own pushchairs for or use while we were there!! PERFECT! A GOD-SEND! We then could go for evening strolls along the river and really enjoy Florence.
As a family we really enjoyed the happy hour and chatting to all sorts of people on their holidays. Something special.
We would not stay anywhere else in Florence and would like to thank all the family (and other staff) for making it a fabulous holiday for us. Grazie!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthntimManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation I'm happy that your vacation turned out from a nightmare with our pushchair and I'm sure she will be able to walk long hours soon!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We visit florence regularly and hotel david is the best all round hotel we've stayed at to date and very good value. It thoroughly deserves it's no 1 ranking. Staff are extremely welcoming and friendly whilst rooms are very comfortable. Our room had 2 balconies with views where it was very pleasant to chill. In addition there are a number of nice touches which ensure the hotel is a cut above. Apart from free wifi and breakfast this includes a free minibar refill each day, a 10 minute free call to almost anywhere in the world, free parking and a free evening aperitif in the garden.

The location is also good being an approx 15/20 minute walk from the ponte vechio. However buses are easily available if required and bus tickets can be bought direct from reception.

Reception makes every effort to ensure a smooth and enjoyable stay. Hotel david is a real find and very highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stuffmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I really thank you for coming to stay with us but I really appreciate you understood our effort to make David a good place for travelers and I we always work hard so that you have a smooth sojourn here in Florence!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

we just had two visits to the hotel david in the past two weeks
one for 3 nights and another for a night before we went to rome by train
for the first thre nights we were lucky enough to have room 30 on the top floor
a great room with vaulted ceilings and a wonderful out side space overlooking the city
this maybe the best run hotel i have ever stayed in
from all the staff being able to help with any question to the beautiful gardens that are being designed out front to breakfast and a happy hr for two hrs at night
it made it easy to meet your fellow travelers and learn about the good and not so good of the city
you people run an outstanding place and if others in the industry want to learn how to make guests feel at home
go and stay there
thank you again
david and liz frisby

Room Tip: the 4 on the top floor are all great 30 and 31 have very nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fris1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for trusting us 2 times in so short time!
All Staff is saying hello to you and your wife!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The staff was incredible and were always willing to go out of their way to help out. We did however have trouble sleeping because of the super thin walls. A small price to pay for such excellent service, though. The location is perfect, a nice 15 minute walk to the center of town, but still lots of nice restaurants a few blocks from the hotel for when you don't feel like getting in the middle of everything. The breakfast was typical to the other places we stayed, but the happy hour in the evenings was excellent. Great snacks and wine to choose from...even the infused water was delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your review and I have to say that this is an old house and part of the charm is because of this but it's true there are some disadvantages like the thin walls because they used to built like this......but I'm happy you had good time despite that!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 409 in Florence
1,432 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 409 in Florence
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 409 in Florence
553 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#8 of 409 in Florence
1,074 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £110 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing