We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #2 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Simply the best hotel we've stayed in. We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. The staff were amazing and so helpful with their tips for utilising your time in Florence. The room was stunning and the view from our balcony was outstanding. There's a reason this is number 1 in Florence..... !!! We will be back !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Direttore generale at Hotel David, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for choosing Hotel David for a so special occasion and I'm even happier you carry with you good memories!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,855
    305
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
639
1,935
80
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I do not normally write reviews but really felt compelled to after staying at hotel david recently. I have stayed in many hotels and many of them luxury 5 star and the service at hotel David is up there with the best. The hotel itself is not located in the centre of town but I was glad to be away from the hustle and bustle and it was a lovely 15 min walk along the river to get the centre. The ambiance of the hotel is lovely. The free happy hour at 6pm is the perfect way to start your evening and the breakfast is wonderful too. Fast reliable wifi, free drinks in the room and really helpful staff that cannot do enough for you make this hotel one of the best. Don't change what you are doing hotel david because its awesome! I will be back with my family again soon. Karen Beck

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your words of appreciation we are not changing anything we will add some other free service and some additional tips we are planning for next year.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Everything that needs to be said about this hotel is in the thousands of reviews already on here so I won't repeat things too much. The staff can't do enough for you and that makes a big difference to your stay. Location, happy hour, the bar, bedrooms and breakfast are all perfect. Don't even think about booking anywhere else. Thank you for making our first ever trip to Italy a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S70REY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy you carry good memories about your trip to Florence we really do our best because nowadays it is so important not to waist time and we want you to be happy here!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

From the warm welcome to the mini bar, the cake brought to our room on the first night..this place is worth the walk! It is not located in the center of Florence, but it is about a 20-25 min walk (with two 7 year olds). The walk to and from is beautiful! Upon arrival the staff offered us 2 adjoining rooms (one for the adults and one for the kids) instead of the room with 4 beds. What a great surprise to have our own private space! We enjoyed the drinks in the minibar when we arrived back at the hotel at night and took the water with us on our excursions during the day. Great service, clean room and free mini bar!
cons..a little out of the way and could hear street noise in the a.m. when the garbage trucks came by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USexpatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us! I'm so happy you enjoyed even the small things like the welcome little cake in the room and all our services that make your stay more enjoyable.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place was beautiful. It was very modern, especially the shower, with its rainforest showerhead. We got 2 double rooms. Both were very nice, but one was especially nice, with its balconies and lemon trees. I loved the 1-free minibar. The breakfast room was fantastic. The assortment of food was excellent and the sun coming in was very welcome. The staff was really nice and helpful. There’s a very refreshing outside happy hour with snacks that even our kids liked. You’ll get some exercise walking to the main attractions, but it’s not that hard of walk. Even closer is the Plaza Michelangelo where you can get great views of the city. There’s a bus stop very close to the hotel, which we took advantage of. We’d definitely stay here again if we go back to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmc109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy you carry good memories of our hotel even after long time and now in 2014 the minibar is refill every day!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Relax away from the crowds, this hotel continues to deliver what it promises. Frequent buses (tickets can be bought at the hotel) will take you over the Arno to all the sites. Well planned rooms, excellent choice at breakfast, free mini bar and excellent happy hour. Friendly, helpful staff and good local restaurants. Free secure parking what else can one ask for?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twolancastrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us at the David I'm so glad you liked our location our from the crowd of downtown area and I'm sure I will have the honor to welcome you next time you decide to come to Florence.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Another exceptional review of the hotel David. This place, honestly, was the best place we stayed on our entire trip and we stayed at some pretty cool places. Everybody was so nice and helpful. Don't need to worry about the snob factor either; didn't exist. We aren't fancy, but they still made us feel welcome. Our only mistake was only staying here one night as we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannotbetamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us and I'm nice that you hate to leave means that you had good time here with us!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,498 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 412 in Florence
1,298 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 412 in Florence
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,774 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 412 in Florence
795 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 412 in Florence
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
#41 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing